Segunda Caida

Phil Schneider, Eric Ritz, Matt D, Sebastian, and other friends write about pro wrestling. Follow us @segundacaida

Friday, September 12, 2025

Found Footage Friday: BUNKHOUSE STAMPEDE~! CENTRAL STATES SHENANIGANS~!

Bunkhouse Stampede JCP 12/14/86

MD: Omni next week as we're going to give Eric more time to recover from D3AN. This was another recent drop from JCP's debut at the Rosemont Horizon (so says Charles and we believe him when he says things). Very good cross section of the talent here though obviously no Flair, Tully, Dusty, and Nikita since that was the main event tag. It's hard to talk about any one specific thing in this but I definitely have a few thoughts. 

The first is that this, more so than almost any other battle royal I can think of felt purely chaotic. Workrate, spots, any of that is impossible here because there are just so many people and there are a few weapons (boot, flimsy trash can lid, Animal's wrist spikes, a strap, etc) flying around moving from participant to participant. The second that someone starts to do something interesting, someone else comes behind them and nails them. Sometimes it registers, sometimes it doesn't. Animal got someone with the spikes but they didn't realize it was happening and they didn't sell it right. The match was full of stuff like that but somehow it's additive because it just adds to the feel. 

None of the usual critical tools to talk about wrestling (structure, selling, workrate, execution) work in an environment like this. You wouldn't want it all the time but as a novelty, it's fascinating, because these are still incredible talents and characters all interacting with one another and having to operate on the fly. No plan survives more than a few seconds and everything becomes reaction. 

You can follow the flimsy trashcan lid around the ring as different people get it and since you're never going to keep track of the action (Ronnie Garvin's in this and I couldn't tell you one thing he did and he'd be a great person to watch generally), it's a good center point. It's best use, by the way, was when Rick Rude wrapped it around Animal's skull. It was that flimsy but it's a great visual. Rude and Manny drove a lot of this, with Manny scrapping with Wahoo (a precursor to their AWA feud a little while later I guess). Lots of heat for both, but at the end it was Eaton and Animal and that went about as well for Eaton as you'd expect in Chicagoland. This was a bit of a mess but despite what certain people will tell you sometimes a mess full of tons of talent is exactly what you need.

ER: This was so great, appropriately released in the middle of a battle royal compilation video, directly before the Great Berzerker Battle Royal. This battle royal is great because it throws 25 or so of the best dressed photo album dads in the world into one crowded ring and just hangs out with them. Almost everyone bleeds, but it would have been just as good (better?) if they had just been in there drinking beers like they had just finished a softball game. The cagematch listing is not accurate, because there is no Dick Murdoch, Road Warrior Hawk, Big Bubba, or Baron von Raschke, but that doesn't matter. Well, maybe Dick Murdoch would have mattered. Okay Dick Murdoch with a 50-50 poly cotton blend t-shirt stretched over his stomach would have made a huge difference. This is a blood and fashion battle royal. Everyone is in their finest yard weeding jeans - except for Jimmy Garvin, who is by far the easiest to find man in the ring at all times - and old t-shirts and tank tops. 

Every man is dressed entirely appropriate for a Bunkhouse. Jimmy Valiant looks tall and powerful and exactly like Toby Klein just looked at D3AN. Bobby Eaton gets pummeled in the corner all match and survives all the way to the end until Road Warrior Animal throws him violently to the floor, Eaton swinging a weight belt at his face a few times before he's gone. Arn Anderson is an incredible focal point all match, a target in his red slacks and white t-shirt. He punches, he gets punched, he bleeds, he is eventually eliminated without his shoes. You see, more than one person removes their boots or shoes to use as weapons, and Arn's stocking feet up in the air is a reminder of that. Ole is in camouflage pajamas like he's Udo Dirkschneider in the "Balls to the Wall" video. Wahoo and Manny put on a helluva performance before eliminating themselves, punching each other bloody and bashing each other into ringposts. Ronnie Garvin looks incredible in his black sleeveless shirt (that gets ripped away at some point) and brown leather weight belt. Barry Windham stands tall in dark blue jeans and a dark blue tank, Rick Rude stands tall in part because of his cowboy boots. Tim Horner is in a goldenrod shirt and takes the fight well to everyone larger than him, meaning everyone but Bill Dundee. Bill Dundee is in town because he had to leave Memphis in July, and he runs around hitting everyone and pulls these great I'm a Little Guy faces whenever someone tries to lift him up and over. Dutch Mantell is dressed like Bunkhouse Buck, who modeled his entire fashion on Dutch Mantell in a Bunkhouse Battle Royal.  

As far as drunken softball fights go, you've seen better. But I don't think wrestling fashion ever approached being this good again. Everyone knew exactly what kind of fight they were headed into. The red Ricky Morton and the purple Robert Gibson, the kneepads over the jeans, the Yard Work Outfit Supreme. Just throw on some old shoes that you don't mind getting dirty, some pants you don't mind kneeling in, find a bandana you can tie around your pants, or like the Bullet, around your neck. You know the drill. You've never seen 25 better dressed wrestlers in any one place at any one time and you never will again. This was the golden era, when men knew how to dress for a fight.  


Ken Timbs vs. Rufus R Jones (Boxing Match) Central States 3/28/85

MD: Next two are from one of our other great archivists, being Ben/ArmstrongAlley/KrisPLettuce, who has just organized some Central States. This was passed off to me as especially awful, and it's not quite as embarrassing as it could be. You think of the Piper vs T boxing match with the heavy gloves and T getting gassed as awful. The problems here were entirely of a different sort. 

If anything, there were two many punches. There was zero drama over the first few rounds. Jones just kept punching away again and again and Timbs kept his hands up until he couldn't and went down multiple times. There haven't been THAT many worked boxing matches in wrestling but the trick is to treat them like a wrestling match with boxing trappings and not a boxing match in a wrestling ring. That means that you do shine/heat/comeback as much as possible and in the shine, you should have the heel get some false advantages and then eat comeuppance. There was nothing of that here. Just Timbs walking into fists and selling as Jones chugged along. There wasn't a build to any highs at all. It was just a dull train moving slowly.

When he did take over in later rounds, it was because he was valiantly outpunching Jones in the corner. Only after he took over did he jab him in the eye with his thumb as Gary Royal distracted the ref. Totally backwards. Then later on Royal distracted the ref and Timbs got a knee in to take back over again. Only then he kept doing the knees when the ref was looking once more. One knee, followed by punches. That's the way to go. Maybe a second one that gets caught which could have led to the further distraction and Royal slipping the object in to Timbs' glove (because that was necessary) but don't just do it blatantly in front of the ref. 

Just no artistry, no build, no payoff. The place where that did happen was on the finish as there was a dramatic power around the object (which the fans noticed) and Jones had to duck it repeatedly before getting it himself and KOing Timbs with his own loaded glove. Maybe it was more powerful to put all of the actual "pro wrestling" part of this right at the end, but I don't think so. Just completely tossed the comparative advantage out the window and then didn't even make it believable for all the punches that Timbs was just eating.  

Gypsy Joe vs. Mr. Pogo (Chain Match in a Cage) Central States 3/28/85

MD: Well, this is definitely down our alley. Yes, there's a cage. It's about seven feet tall, I think. It doesn't come into play except for to set the mood and to show that they're enclosed and no one can get in and no one can get out, and in this case, I'm perfectly fine with that. There's enough going on with the chain after all. 

This was touch the corners, but they didn't try for a bit. Joe's advantage early on was fun, as he went after the foot first and then dodged a chain shot causing it to recoil and hit Pogo in the face. Pogo took over with it wrapped around his fist and didn't look back. One chain punch after the next, opening up Joe. The VQ is what it is, but you can tell he bled big. Eventually he went to touch the corners though and that let Joe come back. They did a good job of really building up anticipation for his first punch. He started going around and Pogo held him back until Joe finally charged in and took a shot that knocked him into the fourth corner.

Post match the cage did come into play. They had said that Sheik Abdullah the Great's New York Office had said he was on a fishing trip but he came in wearing a disguise with the heels to help beat on Joe and it took a while for the babyfaces to make the save. A good post down beating even if it was surrounded by the extra stuff. Otherwise, a nice minimalist bloody affair. 

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, July 18, 2025

Found Footage Friday: OMNI 8/14/83~! PIPER~! BUZZ~! ZBYSZKO~! GARVIN~! SHEIK~! TOMMY~! IRWIN~! ROAD WARRIORS~!


GCW Omni 8/14/83



Arn Anderson vs. Joe Lightfoot

MD: Interesting to place this one. This was Arn's second to last match in the territory. Borne had flaked out before this leaving Arn on his own and aimless. He drifted over to the babyface side and was mainly used for putting over the Road Warriors in various ways before heading to Alabama as Super Olympia. So this was more or less a babyface match. Arn was the aggressor maybe and ate a whole bunch of chops leading up to the finish but this was really just on the mat for the most part. Anyway, Lightfoot was a solid hand, a guy I know mostly for being Youngblood's little buddy to set up a program in Portland. This was five minutes in and out, and certainly didn't wear out its welcome before the double pin finish and Arn getting his shoulder up. Post match he shook Lightfoot's hand and past one Tony Zane match a couple of weeks later, that was it for Arn in Georgia.

ER: This got really entertaining when they transitioned out of the ground work and Arn was staggering into Lightfoot's chops, and that was the last 10 seconds of the match. Arn was 23!!


Fake Mr. Wrestling I (Jesse Barr) vs. Rick Rood

MD: Yes, this was Barr. I'm not sure if he was trying to work like Woods or not. I do know that he'd feud with Mr. Wrestling II after this and Wrestling II would take his mask in October. This went ten minutes as a draw which may have been surprising but Wrestling was supposed to be a bit of a fraud and he got his heat back after the match by attacking Rood. He had pretty solid armwork throughout with some big comebacks and revenge armwork by Rood. Rood had good fire and it was funny to see him do things like a headstand to get out of a headscissors which was very not Rood. Ten minute draws are far more palatable than 20 minute ones and this made me wonder what a babyface Rood might have looked like later in the decade.

ER: This was among the earliest Rick Rude matches I've seen, and it's very early. This is like 30 matches into a 1,500 match career early. It's impressive how far along he was this early while also wrestling like a completely different guy. This early on he still had elements of who he would be a thousand matches from now, in how he moved and how he sold while feeding. He already had an honest use of physics in his basics like dropdowns and shoulderblocks. He was already delivering his offense in a way where you could tell he knew what the goal of his match was. He also of course did a few funny things I have never associated with Rude, like a headstand escape out of Mr. Wrestling's great headscissors. I didn't actually know it was Jesse Barr until after I watched this. I was real confused when he beat Rude's ass after the loss after working an entire 10 minute draw without ever trying to beat Rude's ass. The crowd was really pissed off and I thought there was this great 50 year old Tim Woods heel run. 


Brett Sawyer vs. The Iron Sheik

MD: Brett was really good. Obviously there was a ceiling to him as a drawing card (Flair match from Portland and teaming with his brother vs. the Road Warriors aside) but he was just a great mid-card presence, very down home and folksy in a way that would never make it to TV today, not without being more stylized like a Mark Briscoe. But he just came off as a guy down the street with a lot of fire in his heart. 

The first third of this (after getting under Sheik's skin with the patriotic chants) was all headlocks and rope running and Sheik really was pretty lithe stooging his way into these and keeping up off the ropes. Brett eventually got caught and then Sheik jammed his face into his boot (with his boot on the top rope, which was a nice bit that he may not have been flexible enough to pull off in later years). That started the blood and with it came the woundwork and it was pretty glorious. A bloody Brett would wave his fists and try to power up and fight from underneath and the crowd ate it up. Sheik cut him off and did more damage right until the banana peel finish where Brett fell on Sheik on a suplex attempt and the place became unglued. Post match Ellering and Sheik pounded on Brett until Rich and Buzz (certainly not aligned) ran out for the save. Pretty electric stuff. This was third match on the card and it inspired so much emotion. Beautiful pro wrestling.

ER: There were at least five other matches on this show I was more excited to see. I don't know if I even registered this match when my eyes skipped past the bottom of the card to where the Valentine, Tommy Rich, Buzz Sawyer, and Road Warriors matches. I'm so glad I didn't just skip to those other matches as this match is a condensed gem. The fans really like Sawyer, hate the Sheik, and you get to see a vicious quick Sheik that would be a completely different wrestler in less than two years. Sheik is one of our great weird body wrestlers, and it's not a coincidence that so many of our great weird body guys were high level amateur wrestlers. Gary Albright's small arms and hunched shoulders and powerful belly, Tamon Honda's full long upper torso with his short sturdy legs glued to the canvas, and Iron Sheik's shredded distended belly with small arms and close shoulders, all weird amateur grappler bodies and all great. Sheik moved so weird and here he moves really well...while still moving the weird way Sheik moves. He has the same stiff old man posture as he did when he was ruining indy cards in the late 90s, but he has this cool unexpected quickness. When Sheik did a hindu squat splits dropdown into a leapfrog to set up a fast Sawyer sunset flip, I yelled aloud. 

Putting your boot up on the top turnbuckle and slamming someone's face into your boot is a real Lost Great Spot. Think of the last time you saw it. I saw Barry Horowitz do it 20 years ago and maybe it was something FTR pulled when they were The Revival. Tag partners should also yell at their partner on the apron to give them a boot more often. The boot eyelet raking made a comeback at some point, somebody needs to bring back the boot smash. Sawyer gets busted open from biting and Sheik pushes it well past biting when he throws a gorgeous belly to belly that started with him picking up a bearhug. His missed cannonball that gave Sawyer some fight was so unexpected. It's so weird watching Iron Sheik do a huge front flip. I love how it didn't lead to Sawyer's actual comeback, it just gave him a little time to fight to his knees and get the crowd believing. The finish coming right after as its own surprise was a great way to triple that reaction just as it was dimming. 

The post match was great with Buzz Sawyer and Tommy Rich coming out to save Buzz's bro from one of seven or eight Paul Ellering fueled beatings. Tommy looked so loyal, standing over Sawyer wanting to fight anyone who got near, but Buzz had this unreal aura. It's so unmistakably bad ass, a guy you don't want to cross who keeps this dangerous cool composure. "I know people don't like me but I'm not a total asshole" big brother energy. The way he carries himself with his hands in his sweatpants pockets, that torso in a tight 50/50 blend blue t-shirt, the fucking bandana essential to the look, sending calm threats to Ellering as he walked up to him. An unemployed adult older brother who stays at home all day coming out to the front yard to tell his teen brother's bully how he's going to cut him. 



Larry Zbyszko vs. Ron Garvin

MD: The TV title was on the line for the first ten minutes here. I'll be honest that there are single matches i want more or less out of the Omni footage, but if we're talking a run, then I want as much as Larry's run as possible. We have bits and pieces but it's right down my alley on paper. I think it ages better than a lot of heel Dibiase footage for instance.  

Anyway, this was the panacea to Larry's usual tactics as he only had ten minutes to try to take Garvin's title. Yes, he got punched out of the ring early, but he couldn't linger. He had to be more aggressive than usual. Tons of great punches in this one, especially in the corners. There was one comeback by Garvin where he knocked Larry down and then held on to the arm after he fell and the crowd realized it, realized that he was going to pull Larry back up to hit him again, and were elated about it. Larry was able to fire back out of the corner using the ref as a distraction and took about half the match pretty soundly. He had an advantage at the end as Garvin missed a knee drop and it seemed like he might have a chance of taking the title with a pile driver but Garvin turned it into a pin and got the win. This was a nice subversion of the Rood match which did go to a ten minute draw. It seemed like it would here too or that Garvin was going to lose and then he snuck out the win at the last moment. 

ER: I love this era of Zbyszko. Yeah Garvin looks like a jacked up super tough brat pack era Judd Nelson and hits with his trademark up close short range power, but Zbyszko man. Zbyszko sells the impact of Garvin's strikes better than maybe anyone. I love the tough guy sturdy gravity Valentine sells them with but Zbyszko is so moveable, a wiggly guy who bounces off ropes and uses body movement the same way Tully did, recoiling fast but being punched and physically reacting to those punches exactly the way 9,000 people wanted to see. He knows exactly how I want to see Larry Zbyszko reacting to being hit. He also punches exactly how I want to see a man punch. All the punches were great for the whole match, but Zbyszko's tight, straight reared back rights looked perfect. The finish of this was incredibly done and I didn't see it coming. We had our 10 minute draw already and every single piece of wrestling language made this look like a frustrated Zbyszko unable to win within 10 minutes. I actually but when Larry pulled off a sweet and smooth inside cradle to block a bodyslam in its infancy, but the actual finish was a great surprise. Zbyszko looking like he was going to cave in Garvin's teen idol 'do, with all the execution of Zbyszko lifting up the way you do just before you sit down, Garvin shifting his weight at the peak of lift off to tip the weight. Great finish, great match. 



Road Warriors vs. Mr. Wrestling/Mr. Wrestling II

MD: I really enjoy 83 Roadies. They were raw but they hadn't quite settled into what they'd become a year or two later. They wrestled much more vulnerably, more stooging, more backpedaling, while still being monsters both aesthetically and when they were doing damage. We've been hearing it for the last few matches but it's so great to have the crowd make that primal guttural noise whenever a babyface threw a shot. It was chaos to begin and chaos to end with Mr Wrestling having to fight from underneath in the middle. Wrestling II came in hot and it was rousing stuff but Zbyszko nailed him from the apron out of nowhere after a couple of kneelifts. All of this felt larger than life especially to this crowd.

ER: Man I LOVE the way the Road Warriors sell for two 50 year old man throwing big arm swinging punches. The Road Warriors sell so well for the Wrestlings that I want to see 1983 Roadies against 1989 Baba/Rusher. I couldn't get enough for Wrestling's big swinging punches that are thrown like nobody else threw punches and the way Hawk perfectly knew to throw his head back for them, just enough. We know the Road Warriors were not yet the monsters they would become just a year or so later, but it's still wild seeing Hawk taking multiple back body drops. This had another spectacular finish, with action so good I had to keep rewinding to watch what each individual was doing. Wrestling II was fending off Animal in the top corner, Hawk was roughing up Wrestling in the foreground. Wrestling gets thrown over the top down onto a table and almost into a front row before charging back into the ring by stepping up onto that table and getting back into the fight. Animal keeps charging into Wrestling II in the corner and keeps catching knees, until he charges in and catches two boots shoved squarely into his chest and gets bumped back hard. Zbyszko sneaks in and bashes II in the back of the head and staggers him into the greatest This is the End powerslam from Animal. This was not the structure I expected going in but now I want more Hawk and Animal selling for great old man strikes.  


Greg Valentine vs. Pez Whatley

MD: Pretty remarkable Pez performance here. He came in hot, even while Greg still had the title in hand and had Valentine rocking and falling over the place with headbutts early. Greg took over with a nasty kneeling piledriver and started on the arm. Pez came back with one arm with some great silly in his hope spots, using the head when he could, really solid stuff. They dropped the arm selling for the most part as it went on but you almost didn't mind because Pez was so good at working from underneath on a chinlock, just constant motion fighting up and engaging the crowd. Transition was another pile driver attempt which was a little like the Garvin/Zbyszko match but they had Valentine go into the corner again. Things got out of hand and it ended up as a DQ with him using the belt repeatedly, but Pez drove him off so the crowd got at least some satisfaction out of it. Very good match overall though, even if the arm selling went nowhere. 

ER: Every heel in this territory knew exactly how to sell the strikes of every top babyface and it's all so beautiful. Valentine makes Pez Whatley a god and Pez wiggles his way up to it, and once again, this rules. Valentine is on the Found Footage Friday Mt. Rushmore as we've now been uncovering unseen classics of his for nearly a decade, every one of them broadening his case as one of our greatest workers. Here's another for the pile. I'm so used to seeing Valentine take strikes from fellow tough guys and hitting them back. I've seen that Valentine more than I've seen the Valentine who sells for smaller ethnic babyface, and this one is great. With Valentine's selling, his head whips and stunned cobweb shaking, Whatley's headbutts looked peerless, the culmination of decades of black wrestler headbutts. His perseverance and big time style and charisma through his comebacks were getting reactions louder than any part of the Dog Collar main event, and it was such infectious babyface energy that played incredibly off the tough guy champ. Whatley's reversal out of the piledriver was such a cool spot, upending Valentine into and off the turnbuckles. It's one of those spots where, no matter how much wrestling I've watched, there's always something like that waiting to show me something new. 


Bullwhip on a Pole: Tommy Rich vs. Bill Irwin

MD: I've always been pretty high on Irwin. Great body language. Big lanky guy who was willing to throw himself into everything he did, and there was so much to throw himself into here. Every time either guy went for the pole, the other was on top of him instantly. Really gripping stuff. People don't understand today just how compelling these pole matches could be when the wrestlers put forth so much care towards whatever was on top of the pole. 

Here they had to really incapacitate the other. Irwin kept escalating things, hitting a gut wrench suplex, tossing Rich out of the ring, knocking the head against the post. Rich on the other hand got out of the way for Irwin's corner charge and he bumped huge over the top knee first, etc. Just more and more until finally Irwin started working the leg, a necessity since Rich wouldn't stay down. Even that didn't quite do it but it allowed for a hotshot and Irwin to finally get up the pole. One thing I wish we had were more pole matches from the 70s when there probably WASN'T an inversion of the finish. By the 80s, whoever first got the weapon tended not to be the one who got to use it and to see that once could be satisfying but to see it in every pole match gets a little frustrating. Sometimes you just want that nice clean feeling of something happening how it's supposed to. Still, Rich grabbing it mid swing and firing off on Irwin was a greater level of enjoyment for the crowd and this was really good stuff overall.



Dog Collar Match: Roddy Piper vs Buzz Sawyer 

MD: Pull this back up. Just watch a minute of it, any minute. Watch Roddy. Watch him move. Nothing specific that he does, though if you catch a bump or some selling or a punch, that's all the better. But just the in-between. Did you see it? Go look out a window or down the street. Find a neighbor, a spouse. Hell, look in the mirror. Watch yourself move. Whatever you see, it's not as alive and vibrant and vivid as this forty year old footage of Roddy Piper.

The anticipation early here, both of them six feet apart, the chain between them, a rabid game of chess to decide which would rush first to strike. At the start it was Buzz but when it was Piper's time, he became a man possessed, cutting the distance with wide eyes and a wild snarl. Buzz scored first blood but Piper's comebacks on the floor were things of myth and legend.

Matches like these, from this era, often end shortly after that first huge comeback, after the turn of the tide, after revenge is grasped. This one, however, went around one more time, as Buzz was able to sneak in a low blow. Things spilled back out to the floor but Piper fired back once more, moving the guardrail and basically punching Buzz back into the ring. Gripping, satisfying, refreshing stuff. In some ways a prototype for what would come later in both of their careers and something that almost impossibly lived up to the picture we had in our heads.


Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, March 28, 2025

Found Footage Friday: WCW in Manchester 1993~!


ER: We get a full 1993 WCW house show from a week long UK tour that had great sounding matches and really big crowds every night. This one is from Manchester and looks great. If there's a new Vader/Cactus match we get to talk about, it really wouldn't matter what the rest of the card looked like, but this is great. Aside from Vader/Cactus, we get something even more valuable, in a different way. We get fully into the handheld spirit of Dad Recording Events With a Camcorder by starting with some incredible man on the street interviews asking Impossibly British people about their favorite wrestlers. This is a professionally shot and assembled show and these interviews are supposedly professional, but it's crazy that they sold 8,000 tickets to a show and seemingly couldn't find more than a couple fans who had ever heard of WCW. This is essential. 

By the third interview they are talking to a shabby bearded man in a stocking cap who looks like Badly Drawn Boy if he had a bad childhood with a really strict loveless father. The man says his favorite wrestlers are Mick McManus and Jackie Pallo, because he saw them live a coupla times and saw them on TV. Mick McManus and Jackie Pallo have not wrestled in over 10 and 20 years, respectively. The man started acting like he was being asked too probing a question about his taste in wrestling. One Brilliant older lady says she loves Marcus Alexander Bagwell and then politely seemed embarrassed to say that she doesn't like Dustin Rhodes! She calls Barry Windham "Big Barry" and asks if he's married, then yells to her friend Barbara. She shows mild disgust at the mention of Big Van Vader. There are numerous kids with Arn Anderson signs. The most British kid in the fucking world wearing a bowtie and talking about how much he loves Sting. 


Johnny B Badd vs. Scotty Flamingo

MD: Good opener. It was obvious almost immediately that Scotty knew exactly what he had with this crowd. I'm not going back to looking at gates around this time but he was probably not in front of a crowd like this often. They were going to react to everything he did, every forced break in the corner, every complaint about a hairpull that didn't happen, ever stop in the action to interact with them, and he milked it to the fullest. Badd was used to these openers by now and stooged Scotty around for a bit before getting dragged down for most of the match. Scotty's stuff was varied and credible and they worked a few believable hope spots in before going to an energetic stretch of Badd coming back with a few inversions, be it Scotty reversing him off of multiple whips into the corner or just ducking the KO Punch. It wasn't until Johnny snuck in a late match headscissors takeover that he got Scotty off balance to hit it. This was exactly what it ought to have been and the crowd responded accordingly. 

ER: Sorry, Scotty Flamingo fucks. When the cameras cut to him in his fringe and his bulge, he looked like a sex god bringing color to a washed out colorless world. He looks like a Happy Mondays concert. Johnny B. Badd's sequined Naval blue and gold jacket, Captain's hat, and lampshade knee fringe is hotter and far gayer than any gear Cassandro ever wore to the ring and I am frankly stunned at how much bedazzled sex they brought to this town. Flamingo knew exactly what kind of heel to be, trying to sneak things in behind the ref's back, bumping comically when needed, while leaving the biggest bumps for babyface Badd. Johnny took a huge bump over the top to the floor and later a fast one through the ropes, and Scotty had this fun way of playing an innocent little guy. Flamingo used the Curt Hennig corner bump effectively, and the way he went down for Badd finally landing the left hand looked good. This crowd was clearly into all of this and I love a crowd who shows up ready to see some wrestling. 


Maxx Payne vs. Michael Hayes

MD: This peaked in the second minute. Not to say anything else they did was wrong, even if Hayes was 34 going on 60 in how he moved, but I liked the shtick the best. Probably not a surprise. It was good shtick too. Hayes came out decked to the nines and knew the crowd was going to be up for it all. Weird, you couldn't really hear the impacts in the ring (even of the nice punches that needed a louder stomp to go with them I guess?) but you could heard the crowd stomping and cavorting. Even just Payne pointing to each side of the ring to boos and Hayes doing it to cheers felt refreshing. Payne leaned on him like you'd expect and it was fine. Hayes came back and it was fine if a half step slow. And then the finish was nice as Payne shrugged off the DDT and dropped him right down with the... what was it? The Paynekiller? I need to look this up. Yep, the Payne Killer Fujiwara Arm Bar. Perfectly ok house show match but I wish they had done even more goofy stuff at the beginning. The crowd was eager to eat it up and Hayes could make it work.

ER: I liked this quite a bit, but mainly because it was worked around a lot of nice punches that hit and missed. Both guys have nice punches and the ways they would weave the misses in with the hits always felt different, like they kept telling the same punch story and ending it in different ways. I like "old man" Michael Hayes (as Matt said, somehow 34 years old here) and I like that nobody in England had ever seen a man move this way before. That moonwalk is something that would have made him a major star had British wrestling not collapsed already. Maxx Payne is a guy who lands with real heft. A super dense guy who isn't fat enough to be a big fat guy and clearly isn't a body guy, but is big and dense enough that the fat guy spots - like falling on Hayes after Hayes can't handle the lift - work well. I loved how he blocked Hayes' DDT attempt but just anchoring his feet to the mat and shoving off. 


Dustin Rhodes/Van Hammer vs. Barry Windham/Rick Rude

MD: This was a blatant lie as Barry took out Dustin with a chair right after he got to ringside (after a brief scuffle) and it turned into just Rude vs Hammer.


Van Hammer vs. Rick Rude

MD: In general, obviously it's a disappointment that we don't get Barry and Dustin in this tag but it did really let us see Rick Rude at the height of his power working a fairly complete match against Hammer. The early parts where he let Hammer show him up again and again with strength bits and comeuppance and bluster that made him look like a fool was all done extremely well, really getting the crowd moving in exactly the right ways at exactly the right times.

When things settled down, it was all a little weird. A lot of these wrestlers aged better than you'd think because the sheets were valuing so much of the wrong things back then but Hammer is an exception. Rude had to call the match against a broomstick; that's the impression I got at least, because he had him do heel spots and have them go wrong on him only for Rude to do the same spots and have Hammer overcome. For instance, the seated chinlock, which Rude liked to do and then miss on a jump onto the back. Hammer did it first and then when Rude tried to repeat, Hammer was able to lift him up. Likewise the leap onto an outstretched foot. Hammer did it first and you don't often see a babyface wipe out like that. Despite all that, it worked, because Rude made it work and the crowd wanted it to work and Hammer... I mean, he did what he did by this point, a few years into his WCW run. Rude hit almost a snap, swinging sort of Rude Awakening which I'm not sure I ever saw him do. So this had value, but not nearly the sort of value the tag would have had.

ER: Yeah that tag match we didn't get sure looked worlds better than a 15+ minute Van Hammer singles match, but you can't deny how over Hammer was. Before the show when Cappetta was running down the card, Hammer got louder cheers than anyone but Davey Boy, which is incredible. And Rick Rude is probably the best person on the roster at getting a good match out of Van Hammer. Rude knows how to sell effectively for guys like Van Hammer and he knows how to keep crowds interested to make up for the babyface skills Hammer lacks. Rude sells his back better than most wrestlers and takes higher backdrops than anyone, gets ragdolled incredibly on a bearhug, limbs swinging and flopping everywhere like he was giving something to the real Bez-heads in the crowd, blows snot rockets on a downed Hammer, and swings his head around so sweat flies off in waves when Hammer stands up out of a camel clutch. The finishing stretch of this is really good. Rude ducking and moving to avoid Hammer punches until Hammer fakes him out and catches him with one. Rude gives the crowd exactly what they want with his duck walk atomic drop sells and getting run over with clotheslines. I imagine the swinging Rude Awakening was to deal with Van Hammer's height, but it looked good for it. 


Davey Boy Smith vs. Vinnie Vegas

MD: What Worked:

- Vinnie Vegas' cutoffs, including a big boot that went over Davey's head and a great slam back into the corner.
- Vegas' lightning bolt tights that feel like they should have been worn by Sasaki.

What Didn't Work:

- Nash having no idea exactly how much to give at any one point (he gets it sometime in the next year; maybe he was just put off by the size of the crowd?)
- Nash's mannerisms in general. None of it seemed organic.It was all cartoony and over the top in a way where if he dialed it back fifteen percent the crowd would have eaten it up more.
- The crowd doing the same Bulldog chant for ten minutes straight. I shut my eyes and can still hear it.

ER: I got too excited for Matt talking about Vinnie Vegas's cutoffs before watching this and now I'm disappointed. I wanted to see leg. That said, I thought Vegas was a good Bulldog opponent here and I thought this all kinda rocked. Nash might have been more Skywalker Nitro here than what he would be in a couple years, but I thought they were great opponents and both looked good. All the early shoulderblocks and Vegas no sells were great. Bulldog threw a perfect dropkick to a large man and he ran very hard in to Vegas with shoulderblocks. They worked through some compelling slow exchanges that the crowd stayed incessantly attached to with a repeated Airhorn Bulldog chant. All the small stuff built to big Bulldog moments: The long test of strength blow job spot, the heavy sleeper that ended with Bulldog powering to his feet to run Vegas multiple times into the buckles, a sleeper that builds to Bulldog throwing clotheslines and slams. I thought it was all great. 

I thought Vegas looked great. He had a lot of good ideas and a good mix of offense. His two big boots had a nice visual look and were well timed, he threw Bulldog far with his bodyslam, and jumped into a good hard connection landing on his elbowdrop. Vegas did something that I loved as much as anything I've seen in a Kevin Nash match - and I'm a guy who loves a lot of Kevin Nash matches - when Vegas blocked a vertical suplex with a quick punch to Bulldog's kidney. It was so badass, caught perfectly on film. His running missed elbow into the turnbuckles to set up the running powerslam was a full speed miss meant to hit. I thought it was a performance that has aged really well. This felt more like a match he put together for Bulldog than a match Bulldog worked him through. 


Big Van Vader vs. Cactus Jack

MD: Race certainly earned his pay on this night between moving the guardrail out of the way when Cactus was having a superhuman run on the outside to being there for a lot of pivotal moments of Vader taking back over by eating Cactus' stuff while he recovered, including on the finish. The middle felt a little flat to me with Cactus kicking out of the two Vader Bombs a little too early in the sequence maybe, even though there was going to be an escalation to Vader coming off the turnbuckles with a splash. Maybe I just don't remember exactly where Vader's offense was here in 93.

On the other hand, watching Cactus taking Vader's punches is a pretty magic, horrific experience. Just gnarly shot after gnarly shot. Cactus' comebacks were all really good too, be it just getting his foot up at the exact right time or throwing a few DDTs or slamming him out on the floor. Vader was so big that Cactus could believably get a sleeper on him by jumping on his back. And when he took out Race once, he had a great heads up standing tall look to him, a hero you could get behind. So this was good overall, if maybe a bit too reliant on Race and a bit off in the middle. We're better off for having it certainly, if only to see those punches land one more time.


ER: I thought this was pretty fantastic; the match that obviously leapt off the page when the show dropped. A new match added to the legendary feud and it has moments just as violent as the best matches they had. The punches were there but sadly obscured; instead we got Vader taking a diving bump off the ring staging across and over a guardrail. It's one of the bigger Vader bumps in their feud and it's crazy to see on this show. It looked no different than a dangerous Cactus bump, but this match was about Vader and Harley Race being the ones taking bumps on concrete and ring edges, not Cactus. Vader was taking big DDT bumps with slick vertical pause, missed a big splash off the middle buckle. Honestly Cactus got out of this one easy. Jack was the one announced to the crowd multiple times as one of the main attractions but the reactions were not there. Nobody was talking about him in the pre-show interviews, nobody seemed to know how to react to him as a man. 

Vader knows how to get reaction and works impressively overtime. This is a match that raises Vader's stock. He was an incredibly hard working mammoth man. He worked 125 matches in 1993 and he's out there playing up to the large crowd, falling hard, swinging harder. In between his big bumps are the big hits. Beyond our obscured sequence of definitely shoot punches, there were straight kicks to the ribs and headbutts; a little kid smile before jumping ass to chest with a bombs away. I thought the Race involvement was hilarious and unnecessary but love that Race is a psycho taking suplexes at 50 and looking 65. Vader is good at being specially vicious taking over after his interference. He mule kicks Cactus so hard in the balls that it felt like a finish. But Vader is an artist. A fan's wrestler. While Jack is selling his balls Vader delivers his biggest hardest swing of the match into the side of his head. 

Cactus/Vader was an excellent feud to get another match from. They always had new ideas, and this one had a structure I hadn't seen from them. 


Sting vs. Paul Orndorff

MD: The good in this was really good. Orndorff looked amazing to start. There's an early sequence where he begins with an awesome grinding headlock and moves into faster rope running than you'd think into almost a snap press slam by Sting and the recoiling that followed and it was all great. I wish we had a little more stooging before he took over, but his offense for the transition was all credible, jabs and a perfectly timed knee cutoff.

The problem was that there was both a lack of motion and a lack of heeling once he did
take over. He mostly ground Sting down as they built to a few hope spots and I get why he might contain him and Sting sold well, but it maybe wasn't the match I would have wanted as a main event. I half get the impression that since the fans were just chanting for Sting over and over, Orndorff felt like he didn't need to do a whole lot to get more heat. They did have a good finish though with Orndorff taking a front bump into the corner and Sting splashing him to the back and then rolling up. I'm not sure I'd seen that in too many Sting matches. So good overall but maybe not rising to the moment.

ER: I thought Orndorff looked incredible here. Sting was a great babyface, I loved all his flying and his comeback punches might have been the best on the show. But I couldn't stop watching Orndorff and his weird arm but mostly his incredible skillset. He was fast, dynamic, bumped everything like he meant it and It mattered. He knew how to use that little arm to throw short sharp elbows to the jaw and pointed elbowdrops straight down to the throat that were exquisitely worked. He took a damn vertical suplex on the floor; his back suplex landed Sting firmly on his shoulders in a way that looked distinctly All Japan. I thought about Paul Orndorff in 90s All Japan as the crispest possible Johnny Ace and thinking about how differently things could have been. Sting/Orndorff is a match I don't think I've ever seen. I don't think of them as guys who feuded. This felt like a NEW new match to me, and they probably could have done more and built to something bigger than the Vader/Cactus match that preceded them. But for guys I don't think about as wrestling each other, Orndorff felt like one of the best to take Sting's offense. This man knew how to draw money wrestling wild eyed babyfaces like he was born to do it. 


Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, August 02, 2024

Found Footage Friday: RACE~! RUDE ~! SHOCKER~! SANTO~! TWICE THE STEAMBOAT~!


Ricky Steamboat vs. Harley Race WWF 10/26/86

MD: We've got a couple of matches from Richard Land's patreon. Go give him a look. This was extremely house show-y, and that's not necessarily a bad thing. Sometimes it can be a really great thing. I'd call it broader than usual though, which is saying something for these two in specific. They worked towards a curfew draw and there's some clipping but we get a solid 20 minutes so certainly the brunt of the match. That I can't quite make it narratively come together for me was less about the clipping and more about how back and forth it was and just the way they seemed to be working it.

There were definitely some themes throughout: groin shots, Race's head, Steamboat hitting multiple knee drops or elbow drops in quick succession, both men trying suplexes or slams but having the other land on them, Race having a lot of cheapshot cut offs or reversals. They went back to these repeatedly. I'm not sure I could necessarily pull a narrative together out of it. Race was beaten down in his WWF run, but I think I might prefer him this way. I noticed it in 90 Puerto Rico too, how much I appreciated his savvy and timing and framing of things and how so much of what frustrates me about 70s or early 80s Race (especially in Japan) is just less present. It doesn't mean he didn't bump: he took a face first bump off the apron to the floor, but there's maybe less of a drive to big action too often and too early and instead a focus elsewhere. As for Steamboat, when he hit those repeated knee drops, the fans went absolutely nuts even past the point the ref pulled him off. He had a sequence whhere he climb the actual ropes to hit a fist drop and then went up for a splash off the top and despite them continuing to mention the curfew time, they had me for a minute that his momentum was unstoppable and that was going to be the finish (Race got his knees up). So yeah, maybe it didn't come together and maybe, given what they were going for and the setting, and just how good these two were at this point of their career, maybe it didn't have to.

ER: Remember when we didn't have a single Harley Race match on our DVDVR 80s WWF set? We didn't have any Terry Funk or Moondogs or hardly any Andre matches either so it says more about the process than any Race exclusion. It was the first set and the match selection process got air tight by the Other Japan Men. But it is a microcosm of many things that point to how little Race's WWF run is typically discussed when discussing his career. What is the highest regarded Race WWF singles match? That never got discussed as much during any assessment of his work. It's no surprise to anyone reading this that I love the final years of great wrestlers. Harley Race is a guy who always seemed old and his WWF run started when he actually was getting old. An old used up sack of shit 43 year old. Harley Race is my peer. I feel spiritually connected now to 1986 Harley Race's incredible bumping, leveled on the spiritual plane. Equals. Sore joints, delicate back, waking up with a surprise sciatic jolt down your leg, fucking 43 years old. 

My body has seen less abuse than former NWA World Champion Harley Race's body. He's a man you couldn't fathom in modern wrestling. This kind of man doesn't exist in the world today, and certainly doesn't exist in current professional wrestling. I like the Butcher as much as anyone but that's a guy who goes in on a brewery with his boys; Harley Race is the guy who would Tasmanian devil his way through that brewery. None of us have ever been involved in violent road incidents as pastime. Harley Race is an anachronism. A man sitting shotgun in a Seville pulling his 5th Bud off the ring one night is the same 43 year old scary uncle who was taking pratfalls like a barroom Buster Keaton a couple hours earlier. I cannot honestly fucking imagine living life as Harley Race. I can imagine being Cody Rhodes or Jey Uso pretty easily. But I can't picture what being Harley Race in the 70s was like. 

I think Harley Race is a beautiful wrestler. Let me know if this makes sense, but I think I love the way Harley Race bumps so much because he bumps the way Andre would have bumped if he was half the size. Harley Race hides this athleticism in plain sight the same way Andre would, by moving stiffly and falling differently than anyone else's physics. Don't let anyone ever tell you that Harley Race was old and washed during his WWF run. This was a house show main event. A large house in Maple Leaf Gardens in a main event going to a draw. Maybe people subconsciously don't view Race's WWF run because they were viewing him as a relic from the midwest making towns era and not a guy who worked in the TV era. I don't know. Harley Race was a relic by the late 80s, but his appeal as a relic was his entire appeal. He was never not a throwback to people because he was too real to be fake. This is a house show main event that contains no less than eight violent or unique Race falls, putting on a show for people who will never have any way to visually revisit the ballet again. 

Now we revisit, and we get to see Race in 86 was as good as Race in 74. I couldn't believe the way he moved. He's a large man making Ricky Steamboat's offense and pull look authentic, falling hard and getting up quick, falling onto his ass, being flipped onto his ass, beating up those knees in ways that make me now squint in pain at my spiritual peer. I don't know how much money I would have to be paid to face plant off the apron to the floor the way Race dementedly does here, but it's probably more than what Race made that night. What the hell were you doing man? Race could have very easily not done that and still sent fans home knowing they had seen Harley Race put on a show. Can you imagine seeing your dad fall this way? God. The energy this 43 year old peer has is something I don't think he was ever given proper credit for. Race as a go go go forebear of Kurt Angle is overblown. He looks like a guy who shouldn't be able to do the things he does, and that's a cool trait. If you somehow saw a man in your day to day business that looked like Harley Race, you'd know he was a tough son of a bitch. But you'd never in a million years think he'd be able to work for 25 complicatedly athletic minutes and build a rousing full match reaction for a draw. I was blown away at how he got up for everything and how hard he landed for even simple bumps. This is a man who only knew how to fucking go out there and perform in main events. Harley Race couldn't exist today. 



Ricky Steamboat vs. Rick Rude WCW 6/25/92

MD: This was far more conventional than the Race match despite being billed as no disqualification (mainly to cover Madusa shenanigans in the finish). It was almost comfortably so. Steamboat took over early with a perfectly timed and place punch to Rude's gut (well, abs) as he left it open. Theatrically perfect. He lost the offense by going for the climb up headlock takeover one too many times and ending up in a belly to back. Rude then worked over his back with various holds, Steamboat fought out, sold the back just enough to allow Rude to take back over with a cheapshot and then they repeated it.

It's formulaic but the formula balances when you have wrestlers who can make it work. It's time-tested and proven true and it worked great with this crowd. Steamboat's selling (not just in the moment but as he fought just to move despite the pain he was in) put it over the top. Rude finally went for a sleeper instead of something afflicting the back and Steamboat was able to come back more thoroughly. He nailed a teeter totter-ed tombstone but Madusa distracted the ref. He had her up for a press slam but Rude hit him with a chop block. Rude tried to hit the Rude Awakening but Steamboat reversed it and hit one of his own only for Madusa to put Rude's foot on the rope. When Rude finally got to hit it, Madusa pushed Steamboat's foot OFF the rope in a nice parallel moment for the finish. Again, none of this probably came as a surprise to anyone reading, but it all a great bit of business. Straight down the middle, smart, engaging, and well executed but not post-modern in the least. The Race/Steamboat match felt like abstract art compared to this.

ER: This was fantastic. I know WCW shows drew like shit in this era but fuck man the people watching the picture perfect way Rick Rude moved around Ricky Steamboat's pose holding karate timing. This was super athletic and hard worked, paced out great, and didn't waste a single action. There's so much waste in modern wrestling. You can tell when guys don't care about a kick to the stomach or gloss over a set up to get to the big conclusion. It's obvious, but you get mired in it when most guys do it. It's the style of the times. But seeing the boys do it, seeing Rude at the peak of his Pro Wrestling Being, and treating each Steamboat chop and punch in a way that moves his body theatrically yet appropriately. Every headlock and cravat and abdominal stretch and boxed ears and shoulderblock was treated like an important detail, and it's that reverence for every detail that made these Missouri Meatheads stay loud the entire time. I love how Rude's body gets shoved sideways by Steamboat's chops, how he lurches in place taking his punches. Nobody moves like Rude even though some have badly tried. Do you know how much godawful Dolph Ziggler/Kofi Kingston matches I watched that were all the worst versions of Rude/Steamboat? It doesn't matter how much they ape the match, it was weightless. Weightless, and nothing uniquely goofy like Rude flopping his arm while getting his head bounced off the top buckle, a man wrestling a big match for a small but intensely invested crowd. And the HEAT Madusa got and how ANGRY they sounded when her distraction meant Rude kicking out of the excellently battled over tombstone? Her hair looked perfect and her Barbie Party Dazzle dress couldn't have looked better. When she shoves Steamboat's foot off the bottom rope without the ref noticing? Bobby Heenan couldn't have done it better. 



El Hijo del Santo vs. Shocker Monterrey 10/21/01

MD: Turn of the 00s Shocker is a guy who I get but that I don't necessarily get the praise at the time for. He won a DVDVR 500 in 2002. Good punches. Lots of swagger. He's good, but that good? Everyone gets into lucha at different times. I push up against the conventional wisdom of the 90s and early 00s a lot because I got into it around 2012. That absolutely frames the way I look at Casas and it probably does Shocker as well. I first saw him during the RUSH feud and I might like that gnarled bastard more than this guy to a degree. It also means I jump at chances to see new matches from this period though. And this one gave me a lot to look at.

And you're not going to much better than a 30 minute Monterrey find against Santo. This was actually a kind of weird visual experience because there was confetti in the ring. Usually not an issue, but combined with the VQ, every far shot ended up looking overly pixelated because of it. Not a huge deal overall. This had time to breathe which meant they treated it almost like a title match, spending most of the primera on the mat. This was not smooth entries and exits and reversals though. It was gritty and uncooperative, snatching at limbs and rolling around. Even the stuff that should have been slick, like both men, legs locked, moving into a headstand to trade blows, didn't quite work. Not working was fine though because it just meant Santo landed on top of him and punched away.

After eating a big back body drop to the floor, a tope, and then Santo's finishing run off the top and with the clutch, Shocker took over in the segunda. He hit all the marks with gusto like you'd expect, a low blow, lifting Santo up at a two count, tossing him into the stands, doing a handspring into a pose. Santo was always trying to fight back, like the hero he was, but Shocker kept on top of him accordingly.

Everything came together in the tercera just how you'd want. Shocker tossed Santo back into the crowd, but he turned a whip into the post around, opening Shocker up. From there, he zoned in on the face (something the commentary said the women had previously begged Santo not to do). Shocker cut him off and they went back and forth til the end. That included a great battle over another Caballo Santo's corner tope, before we got an imaginative ref bump while Santo was in the tree of woe with Shocker misaiming the dropkick, another foul while the ref was down, a face-saving pin for Shocker and ultimately the DQ win for Santo. Everything was working exactly as it should have down the stretch with what came before it providing all of it gravitas. This actually helped bridge some of the gap with Shocker for me. Yes, he was in there against Santo but he did everything right, had lots of imagination, and covered it all with that patina of swagger and style. I'm not sure that makes him the best in the world, but I can see how certain people with certain preferences might have thought that around that time.

Labels: , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, September 23, 2022

Found Footage Friday: WWF IN MLG~! HULK~! HAKU~! HENNIG~! RUDE~! BRUNZELL~! BOSS MAN~! SHARPE~!

MD: This last week there were a bunch of new MLG House Shows that showed up on Peacock, with never released matches on them. We plan on going through them now and again over the next several weeks/months.

ER: Would it have been too much to ask for Ted Dibiase/Koko B. Ware? Don't get me wrong, I couldn't be happier that we got Iron Mike Sharpe/Tommy Angel, but that one match is very conspicuous by its absence. 


WWF House Show Maple Leaf Gardens 9/18/88


Mr. Perfect vs. Jim Brunzell

MD: Hennig still had some remnants of Cool Curt here. No real holds. No real offense outside of punching, kicking, stomping, clotheslines, but there was a nice methodological way he went about things and he was definitely working the crowd. He also played king of the mountain a bit which is the most AWA thing ever. Brunzell is always competent but even Gorilla was ragging on him for not getting fiery enough soon enough. Hennig survived the dropkick by ending up in the ropes. Solid opener though Hennig wasn't quite established yet and no one bought Brunzell as a singles.

ER: Maybe I'm easy, but I thought this kicked ass. I love Cool Curt, and I thought this was a...well, Perfect...blend of late AWA Cool Curt and big bumping heel Mr. Perfect. It had a nice methodical build where Curt would just walk slowly, cockily around the ring, like someone with a back injury who couldn't bend down, or like someone holding something up their butt. This was barely 20 matches into Curt's Mr. Perfect run, and I love seeing early versions of famous characters, seeing what they were working on and what direction they were testing out, see what offense they were using that you know they wouldn't be using a couple years later. The build on this was strong, starting slow (slow enough to actually get a few Boring chants, in 1988 Toronto!) and leading to a great section of Hennig keeping Brunzell on the floor while he corncobbed around the ring, kicking Jim off the apron, punching him in the jaw, a long build with a great payoff of Brunzell fighting his way back into the ring and tossing Hennig to the floor (one of only "Hennig" bumps of the match). By the end of the match both guys were throwing legit potato shots to the face. I mean both guys were flat out slugging each other down the home stretch, and the Maple Leaf Gardens cameras give it this awesome "in the ring" feel where you could really see how hard these punches were landing. I don't think of Brunzell as a guy who punches people in the face, but he and Hennig had loaded fists that were cracking jaws in ways I wasn't expecting. Just look at how hard Brunzell was hitting Hennig with mounted punches, and how Hennig paid him back. No way you would expect that. 


Iron Mike Sharpe vs. Tommy Angel

ER: Canada's Greatest Athlete gets to pose and flex for his adoring countrymen, and I like this Sharpe/Angel pairing because it's a cool look at a mainstay WWF undercarder vs. someone who I think of as a perennial WCW job guy. Tommy Angel looks like the Cars' touring keyboard player and it takes Sharpe at least 3 or 4 minutes to finally lock up with him, and the more Sharpe goes for rope breaks and teases knuckle locks while WHOA WHOA WHOAing, the louder the fans get. It's house show beauty. This is all of the Sharpe greatest hits, and they all work. Everyone knows he's going to cheat when he backs up and begs off into a corner, the way he sells strikes verbally while mostly ignoring them physically, and they react when he runs headlong into arm drags. Sharpe is a big guy and a heavy bumper, and it's impressive that while he stalls a ton he can also be good at taking a big heavy bump and feeding quickly into another one. I think my very favorite piece of commitment from Sharpe is when he gets tied up in the top and middle rope like Andre, and after he manages to fend off Angel with a boot to the stomach he still demands the ref help get him untied. 

The commitment to do a silly spot like get tied up in the ropes and wailed on only works if it looks like you cannot actually get yourself untied from the ropes, and Sharpe understands that the bit doesn't really work if you just walk away after kicking your opponent off. No, this goofball who can't take a step without making noise understands that he is STUCK in those ropes, and him kicking Angel away only gives the referee time to help him finally do his job. Commitment to the bit is 90% of Sharpe's gag, so I always love seeing moments where he could have skipped a step but didn't. He's good at making Angel's nearfalls look like actual nearfalls, too: when Angel got a late match sunset flip there was a 50-50 shot that was going to be enough to walk away with a win, and Sharpe reacted like he knew those odds. For a guy who was mostly bullshit, Sharpe clearly understand what made that bullshit work, and how to pay that bullshit off. 


Brutus Beefcake vs. Ron Bass

MD: It's a new match and I thought maybe, just maybe, there might be some heat to it since it was after the X'ed out angle. Plus, Bass is more than solid all the way from 77 to 85 in at least a few territories. My professional review of this is that Beefcake maybe had one minute worth of viable stuff and then I literally fell asleep while watching it. We tend to find value in most wrestlers somewhere or another and Beefcake was over as a viable star with a connection to the crowd, but this was bad, at least the parts I can remember.

ER: Beefcake did look mostly bad on offense, and I'm pretty sure every single punch he threw landed somewhere past Bass's head. Whatever match there was, was made by Bass occasionally cutting Brutus off. Bass had a nice big kneelift and I liked how he popped Brutus in the eye with the handle of ol Betsy. Gorilla was already setting up the lawn trimmers vs. spurs hair vs. hair match that was still 4 months away, so that was kind of cool. It feels like we should have had more interesting Ron Bass matches from his WWF run.  


Powers of Pain vs. Bolsheviks

MD: It's always weirdly fascinating to see the Powers of Pain as a babyface act. The best part of it is always Barbarian doing sort of a primal scream with his arms out as part of a comeback or demolishing guys. They tried to make a real match out of this, which was a mistake. Barbarian let Warlord work most of it, not tagging even when you'd expect him to. Bolsheviks' only credible offense was shots off the second rope from behind as the ref was distraction. Part of me thinks that Barbarian could have had a singles babyface run but this wasn't quite meshing and it makes sense they do the double turn so soon after.

ER: Haters piled onto Gorilla Monsoon's commentary, but I think Monsoon spending 5+ minutes talking about the haircut choices of all the wrestlers in this match was perhaps the only thing that made this worth watching. It all started with Monsoon considering adopting Warlord's haircut as his own, since he "doesn't have much on top to work with any longer" and humoring Mooney's requests to also get a tattoo. "And Nikolai over there can't seem to decide whether he wants hair or wants to be completely bald," just really going through the benefits of a pronounced horseshoe vs. keeping two days of growth up there. It's bizarre to work this match in such a bland "these teams are equal" style, and more bizarre to have Warlord in there for the bulk of the match. The fans only really came alive during PoP's entrance and the match finishing Warlord powerslam/Barbarian diving headbutt (and Barbarian really flew 2/3 of the way across the ring on that headbutt), but the best parts of this were probably Zhukov's excellently timed axe handle into Volkoff's head, and Volkoff's fun bump over the top onto the ring announcer's table at the finish. Beyond that, enjoy marveling at how bad Warlord's kicks and stomps look. 


Jake Roberts vs. Rick Rude

MD: Sometimes it comes down to what they're trying to accomplish. Here, they wanted their cake and to eat it too and it wasn't nearly as good as if they just stuck to the path of least resistance. Rude was excellent here, every reaction just great. More than solid at leaning on Jake. He ducked the short arm clothesline early and took over for most of the match. The underlying story was that he'd pull down his normal tights for the Cheryl Roberts ones when Jake wasn't able to see, so you figure they're building to Jake finally seeing and then going nuts for a comeback right? Well that doesn't happen. They work it towards a more conventional comeback, then a ridiculous ref bump (he somehow got squashed *under* the DDT). A Rude Awakening got Rude a phantom pin while the ref was out, and then a quick roll up Roberts finish. It's only after the match when Rude doesn't care anymore that Jake sees the tights and rushes back in with Damien (the ref gets the snake in the chaos instead). By that point, Jake had already won, so while it's great for Rude to get menaced by the snake and all for the insult, everything would have been so much tighter and more visceral if they kept it within the confines of the match. Hell, have Jake lose it from seeing the tights, come back, get DQed for not letting up on Rude, and THEN bring the snake out to get over on both Rude and the ref. While the match was going on, there was a real sense of anticipation and build over a guy's tights of all things, so it's too bad that it didn't come to fruition. 

ER: Matt is spot on about this match and the one thing I want to add is more emphasis on just HOW stupid that DDT ref bump was. The referee just DOVE underneath the DDT before Jake executed it, and there is just zero reason for any person to do what the referee did in that scenario. I have never seen this done, and after seeing it here there's good reason for that. Jake grabs for the DDT, referee literally dives onto his stomach in between Rude and Roberts, Rude takes the DDT onto the ref. The physics of it don't even begin to make sense, the referee's motivation doesn't make sense, it just looked like a man who was actively trying to get another man to land on him. This referee was clearly a pervert who would see a woman readying herself to sit down on a chair, and then slip underneath real quick just so she would briefly sit on his lap. Derelict behavior. 



Big Bossman vs. Jim Powers

MD: This was for International Challenge so we might have had it before but it's found, if not new. It was very good too, with Bossman really asserting himself, and Powers trying to get shots in but getting cut off. Bossman had a ton of presence, jawing with his opponent and the crowd, shrugging off Powers' stuff, giving him just enough to keep up hope. Finally, Powers was able to knock Bossman back, stagger him, finally dropkick him into the ropes. When he went to finally knock him down, Bossman caught him in the slam and dropped him. This was balanced just right for what it was trying to do. Another point: yes, Monsoon spent a lot of the match giving Powers grief for trying too much power stuff against a massive opponent, but what he accomplished by doing so was making Bossman look big and forboding and unstoppable or at least very difficult to stop. He didn't make Powers look great, but Powers wasn't supposed to look great; Bossman was. He tore apart Powers' strategy but not the reality of what we were watching. It was because of that reality that he was tearing it apart. Just something to think about as we deal with grumpy announcers who manage to bury just about everything but themselves these days. Monsoon, believe it or not, was better than that here.

ER: Boss Man was so good. He really didn't have to give Powers a single thing here, and while he didn't give him anything big, he still treated literally every strike as something that he actually felt, something that at minimum moved him. Boss Man is so much larger than Powers, but I love how much offense he set up by being the one in motion. Powers wasn't sticking and moving so much as just moving, avoiding various Boss Man advances and sneaking in a punch. Boss Man would charge in and get punched in the face, and was so good at selling that a Jim Powers punch to the face would hurt even a gigantic man. Boss Man's timing and speed were so impressive, that when you combine that with high end physical selling it really makes a super worker. Not many were better at just putting the palm of his hand against their teeth and showing pain. Powers never had a chance in this match, but Boss Man made him look like someone who could at least leave a mark, and he did it while also making the middle rope nearly touch the apron when he threw all his weight over it and Powers. That finish run Boss Man Slam timing is the stuff of legend. 



Hulk Hogan vs. Haku

MD: Hogan was between his series of matches with Dibiase and with Bossman here. Haku had recently enough been made King. This was "War Bonnet" Hogan and Heenan was at ringside. It was a one off but it's a fairly unique house show match up. It's been a while since I saw the 88 Hogan act. It has a lot going for it: the reverberation at the start of Real American to get the crowd buzzing, the ridiculousness of the helmet but it also working as a prop to keep things different, and maybe some overall freedom since Hogan didn't need to be in title matches.

Hogan gave Haku a ton here. He wiped out both Heenan and Haku with the helmet pre-match (with a great Heenan bump and him being disheveled for the next fifteen minutes), but then got swept under by a bunch of Haku shots. Having not seen 88 Hogan for a bit, he was excellent working from underneath early, constantly crawling and scrambling back as he recoiled from the shots, retreating so as to try to create some space. Then, when he came back later, it was with a lot of hair pulls and cheapshots. It's all what you'd expect someone like Buddy Rose to do in that situation, but Hogan was a face. For all the talk of whether he was a bully or not, his physical actions here were very "heel coded" but they were also incredibly over with the crowd. He had three or four little hulk ups/comebacks in this but was cut off due to either Haku getting a shot in or Heenan interfering. They went into deep chinlock/sleeper land but they worked in and out of it at least a little bit. The finish, which had Hogan getting the helmet from Heenan and hitting the legdrop with it on his head felt pretty iconic for the time. I'd say overall this felt relatively fresh due to the unique opponent and showed at least a little reinvention for Hogan.

ER: Hogan vs. Haku from the SNME a month after this match was actually the first Hulk Hogan match I ever saw, and also the first episode of SNME I ever saw. I have basically no original memories of that match, but it's cool seeing an earlier, much better version of that match here. Hogan working from underneath is a much more interesting Hogan. Heenan is great at spacing out the distractions to keep Haku's control rolling, from his opening side flip bump after getting nailed by the helmet, to getting knocked off the apron with a punch, to coming in right at the finish and getting punched into the ring trying to get the helmet to Haku. Heenan may have been the best ever at using the ropes to facilitate his bumping. Haku's strikes looked a lot better than Hogan's, and I loved all of his trust kicks and big swinging arm attacks. Hogan had some nice stuff too, and I really missed his elbowdrop when he mostly dropped that from his offense by '89. Dropping two nice elbows and starting a third, only to wave it off and just scrape his boot across Haku's bridge is a great spot (whether it's heel-coded or not). His running elbows and clotheslines look light as hell but Haku gave them a lot of heft with his bumps. I think the best part of Hogan working underneath was it forced him to use speed, and it was cool seeing him move around real quickly here. His little blocks and reversals were really good, like early on when he blocked a 1-2 combo and threw punches of his own, or when he went with a Mongolian chop (!) after blocking a Haku strike later. This is a fully fleshed out, much better version of their SNME match the next month, and it's kind of amazing how different that Hogan was from this Hogan. 


Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Sunday, October 03, 2021

WWF 305 Live: 1987 Survivor Series Main Event


Andre the Giant/One Man Gang/King Kong Bundy/Butch Reed/Rick Rude vs. Bam Bam Bigelow/Hulk Hogan/Don Muraco/Ken Patera/Paul Orndorff WWF Survivor Series 11/26/87 - EPIC

ER: Great main event to the inaugural Survivor Series, a match that really felt like a big show main event for 25 minutes. Also, they were smart enough to have the final five survivors be the five largest men in the match. They knew exactly what they were selling. This was filled with superstars, down to the least important man. Ken Patera looks like a real force here, maybe the strongest he looked in WWF post-jail. He was like a great dancing babyface, hitting a three kick combo with a finishing punch, quick takedowns, still getting big reactions. Don Muraco looked massive and brought huge energy, standing out like an Incredible Hulk in the ring with some hulking dudes. Orndorff got the biggest non-Hogan reaction of the match, a real testament to how huge his star was in 86/87. He and Rude had some memorable stuff during their early match stretches, with Rude being the real workhorse stooging heel for a solid 10 minutes. Rude got spun around by punches from every single member of Hogan's team, gets run over with lariats, obviously gets backdropped and atomic dropped, but also gets a sly school boy on Orndorff for a surprise momentum swing. 

The final 10 minutes were total big man bliss, a final five that stacks up with the highest average weight per participant in company history. All the big men had great moments, but I was most impressed by Bundy. He was great at running distraction to get Hogan counted out and out of the way, and kept dropping these cool kneedrops and crushing elbowdrops, and missing them even harder! But it was really special how they built to Bam Bam Bigelow alone in the ring against three monsters. You could argue that it was the the biggest moment of his career and he felt like an all timer in the moment. The fans responded to him huge as he was dispatching Bundy and Gang in tough battles (including a great slingshot splash to eliminate Gang), and Bam Bam is really good at selling big man offense (like heavy kneelifts) as a big man should sell them (while also doing a full flip off a big Gang lariat). 

Gang takes a couple of big spills (including a wild fall off the apron) and the Bigelow/Andre final showdown is awesome. Bigelow has a bunch of cool somersaults to try to outpace Andre, and I like how Andre put him down decisively with a butterfly suplex after Bigelow had gone through two men who were already improbably larger than he was. Andre was mostly presence in this match, but it was incredible presence. He loomed on the apron the entire match, stood large in the center of the ring to confront Hogan, and had an awesome standing exchange of punches and chops in a tough Hogan lock-up as the centerpiece of the match. This was an exciting long main event that felt like a huge deal, the main event of a very good show with nothing but long matches. This main event really cemented this match as a super successful concept in the right hands. 



COMPLETE AND ACCURATE ANDRE


Labels: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Saturday, November 28, 2020

The Joy of WWF Saturday Night's Main Event 7/28/90

During this era, there was no program I looked forward to more than Saturday Night's Main Event. My dad would tape it for me and I'd watch the tapes over and over, and this episode was one of my favorites. It's a loaded episode with all the belts on the line, and several memorable performances. Let's see how much I like it 30 years later. 


Rick Rude vs. Ultimate Warrior

ER: A smokin' great Rude performance in front of an unhinged crowd that loved every single thing Warrior did. Warrior's entrance reactions were at their peak here (and it's kind of amazing how loud this crowd stayed for this show considering they had already sat through THREE long Superstars tapings) and Rude was almost certainly Warrior's best ever opponent. This isn't one of their greatest matches, and Rude doesn't get much offense, but Rude stooged his way through this and built to him almost winning the belt. Rude took big bumps on Irish whips into turnbuckles, got tossed by a press slam, ate axe handles like they were dangerous projectiles, and gave us two immaculate atomic drop sells. I can't imagine having more fun as a professional wrestler than getting atomic dropped in front of 8,000 loud fans, then sticking your tailbone out and duck walking across the ring on your tiptoes before getting laid out with a clothesline. Rude's atomic drop selling is probably the greatest stooge sell of all time, and it's amazing how uniquely he treated the bump and always found new gags to add in. I love the heel aspect of Rude coming back by wasting Warrior with a belt shot, nailing him with a convincing nearfall Rude Awakening, leaping onto his back to really sink in a sleeper (Warrior hilariously getting his leg lifted by the ref like he's doing Jan Fonda glute exercises), and of course all the distraction and interference Heenan ran from ringside. I loved Heenan stopping the count and then walking all the way down the entrance way like he was just minding his own business, not interfering in a pro wrestling match. The finish is a big mess with Warrior taking it all out on Heenan (Heenan gets his face bounced off all the turnbuckles and takes a wild bump to the floor after getting tossed) and the match gets called a DQ. But what a tremendous Rude performance, the kind that keeps moving him up my list of favorite wrestlers ever. 


They play *that* Hulk Hogan tribute video, and watching it again with adult eyes I kind of forgive myself for thinking that Hulk Hogan had actually died because of Earthquake. If you showed this to someone who was unfamiliar with the angle, I can only assume that they would think Hulk Hogan died, or at minimum was seriously injured. The entire video really plays like Hogan got crushed to death by Earthquake. I liked the in ring Hogan promo and the intensity of Earthquake/Dino Bravo surrounding the ring, with a big tumbling save from Tugboat. I'm really surprised they didn't run the Hogan/Tugboat vs. Earthquake/Bravo tag match sooner (they ran it a few times on house shows, but not for several months after this aired, and this tag didn't air on TV until 6 months later), but this angle played out really well on TV. 


The Rockers vs. Demolition (Smash/Crush)

ER: Crush is kinda clumsy and doesn't have great timing, and this probably would have been better with Ax and Smash. But Ax gives a strong ringside performance and Smash puts in a great performance. Barry Darsow was a real goofball but was good at creating openings for the small Rockers and good at directing tags with Crush. Rockers looked good, had a couple nice headscissors and dropkicked both Smash and Crush to the floor. Eadie hits a great lariat on the floor to allow Demolition to take control, and the simple control segment is good. Crush hits big backbreakers on Marty Jannetty and even hits a cool press slam to throw him from the floor over the top rope. Michaels and Crush probably mix up less than anyone in the match, but Crush was fun as a big lug taking cruiser offense. The finish run is really fun with the Rockers hitting a great tandem superkick on Smash, then hitting the spot of the match with a gorgeous tandem fistdrop. Michaels hits an O'Connor roll on Smash but Ax comes in and nukes him with a clothesline, fun use of the masked heel finish. 


Mr. Perfect vs. Tito Santana

ER: This was great, a rematch of the finals of the IC Title tourney (after Warrior vacated the title), and even better than that match. Tito gets such a wonderful, loud babyface reaction throughout the match, with especially loud cheers coming from women. The cheers were higher pitch and loud, and Perfect bumped all over the ring and floor in a way that really made it look like Tito had a chance. Sure, it's not surprising to hear that Perfect bumped his way through a match, but these bumps came off like Tito was a serious threat, almost all of them felt like an actual extension of the move he was taking and not like athletic showing off. He flew to the floor two different times, really flying out past the top rope no his way to the floor; he took a couple of his signature flip bumps that land him on his head, getting his leg swept on the floor and in the ring. The in ring leg sweep bump is Perfect's signature, but I don't remember seeing him use it on the floor like this, not often. 

We get a long stretch of Earl Hebner selling a leg injury, and it takes a lot for Tito and Perfect to not let him overshadow everything. Hebner got run up on and he drags himself all around the edges of the ring as if he took sniper fire from the rafters. He's a wounded soldier in there and hilariously, Perfect has to overact just to try to combat Hebner's extreme overacting. So Hennig is selling Tito's figure 4 as if acid were being slowly poured up his legs, and we build to a nice dramatic moment where Tito hits the flying forearm and Hebner laboriously crawls over, bleeding out, leg likely already lost, and only makes a 2 count. Fans really want Tito to take this, and it's a great moment when Tito finally gets his new referee, running triumphantly down to the ring to gently nudge Hebner out to the floor. Once we get the new ref, the home stretch is brilliant. Perfect takes TWO atomic drops, meaning this show had TWO Minnesotans (the biological best bumpers on the planet) each taking TWO atomic drops and creating FOUR unique atomic drop bumps in the process (Perfect's silliest involved him getting bounced face first into the turnbuckle). The finish itself is so well executed and felt like one of those cool Arn finishes: Tito ducks down for a backdrop that Perfect scouts, Perfect stops short and grabs him for a Perfect Plex, Tito expects that and blocks it with a small package, and Perfect reversed the small package and narrowly escapes with a 3. I could easily see someone lifting this finish today, except Perfect and Tito made it look like actual logical reversals and not two dance partners over anticipating movements that haven't yet come. This is one of the more fondly remembered matches in SNME history, and it earns that acclaim. 


Buddy Rose vs. Kerry von Erich

ER: This is von Erich's TV debut, and really there aren't many cooler things in wrestling history than Kerry von Erich's long shag underneath a headband. Buddy Rose is a really fun but opponent for a debuting von Erich. Rose is gigantic and has two of the more memorable bumps on a show that had Rick Rude, Shawn Michaels, and Mr. Perfect in full title matches. He slaps Kerry to start and spends the rest of the match getting his ass kicked in and out of the ring. It's great. Kerry slams him, Buddy stumbles around and gets caught in the ropes, does that crazy huge fat guy Harley Race bump where he hangs off the bottom rope by his feet and falls on his head, and he leans right into a spins into the mat after taking the discus punch. This match and a two minute Superstars match are the only two times these absolute wrestling legends crossed paths, two stars from different worlds orbiting each other for merely 5 total minutes. 


Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, March 06, 2020

New Footage Friday: SANTO! CASAS! ANDRE! SPOILER! RUDE! HASE! LIGER! B. BRIAN BLAIR?

Andre The Giant vs. The Spoiler Houston Wrestling 6/29/79

MD: This is one that was NOT on the NWA Houston channel. I had pushed Sharpe to find it but he never did. Thankfully, it's been out there anyway, just rare. Pretty fascinating match to watch because of the size differentials. Spoiler is a guy that would use his size and the ring as a weapon and just crush smaller guys and most guys were smaller. Here, it was his chisel to pick at the giant and I thought those moments were very effective. He was a big man but one that could and really would move around for Andre, so maybe the usual disdain Andre had for other giants didn't shine through. You really can't do a match between these two (or Mulligan and Andre, for instance, where it worked better) where the claw doesn't come into play as the great equalizer, and as much as that stuff seems larger than life, the bearhug bit here went on a bit long. This was especially true in a match where Spoiler was divebombing him all over the place, and because the finish was going to be Andre catching him hesitant on one of those attempts and tossing him off the top. Still, this was novel, a great look at both Andre working from underneath and the Spoiler having to chop down a bigger foe.

ER: Loved this. Minimalist, sure, but Andre is a guy who knows how important every little movement can be and he's someone I can't help but engage with. This is Spoiler's claw vs. Andre's bearhug, and we get a couple of great moments before we dive into that part of the match (with my favorite being Andre's armdrag takeover, holy cow!), but I dug how Spoiler decided early that the Claw was his only chance and he was going to play that record until the needle skipped. Spoiler grinds in the claw and the first time we see an Andre bearhug it's actually out of desperation. The Andre desperation bearhug is a fun treat, it's a giant wounded boar from the forest trying to use his strength, and it makes Spoiler come off like a legend that he had Andre desperate. Andre fights to his feet, Spoiler bets on the claw, and the eventual visual of Andre's buckling and going down, Spoiler essentially riding him down to the mat, Claw besting Bearhug, were wrestling movements I've not seen before. The visuals in any Andre match always seem to defy reality, in the ways he's able to appear both larger and smaller than he actually was, in the way he recoils into the ropes or moves in a way that nobody else has ever moved. I'm watching him here, driven down to one knee by Spoiler's claw, and Andre appears to be as large on one knee as Spoiler is standing over him. I know it's not true, but in feels that way, and in every Andre match you glimpse at least one visual angle that just seems impossible. I like the way the strategy and the attempts play out, like when Andre knew a claw attempt was coming so ducked under the arm to perfectly settle into a bodyslam; or Andre looking to pop Spoiler's head off his neck with a great headscissors to reverse out of another claw. We even get Andre "flattening the head" of Spoiler with a seated piledriver as Spoiler tried to get out of that headscissors. The finish is a great play on the match story, as Spoiler went right back to the claw, climbing the ropes to gain more leverage on the hold (a frequent Spoiler trick), but he gets too high chasing that Claw victory, and Andre simply slams him off the top. The simplicity of the match played to the strengths of both men, and I was hooked the whole way through. 

PAS: Really nifty match, I loved the dying animal aspect of Andre falling slowly to the claw, one of the cooler wrestling sells I can remember seeing. Andre was amazing at portraying invulnerability and vulnerability in the same match. Spoiler is one of the guys I want to see more of, he has been in some real classics, and has this unique style. He is one of the densest high flyers ever, all of his attacks land with so much thump and thud, Andre is a great landing platform too.



MD: As a sharp wrestling analyst, I'd like to point out that this match is all about Rude being pretty racist in his pre-match promo, about Liger, Hase, and then, at the end, Liger AND Hase together, doing Rude's pose back at him, and then Hase mocking him on the mic post match. I guess there's also B. Brian Blair doing all the bee mannerisms in 1994. That's commitment.

I mean the wrestling was good too, but let's keep things in perspective. So, as long as he didn't try to overachieve, which didn't happen often, Blair looked sharp and crisp in most things he did. He could have still had a useful run somewhere at this point (like SMW, maybe?). You got the sense that Hase loved how riled Rude got the crowd because he ate it up, both in tossing people around, but also just in standing on the top rope and basking in it, or launching a 20+ rotation giant swing before stumbling about and doing Rude's pose. Rude was just completely iconic. I think my favorite moment in this might have been him hitting a top rope axe handle and then getting caught on the second one. You knew it was coming. Everyone knew it was coming. But Rude's timing and presence were just perfect. There's probably no one in wrestling history that was better at getting "caught" in that manner than Rude.

Really, the only thing that would have made this one more enjoyably over the top was if Liger had a mustache too.

ER: Rude bookends our match with some casual as hell racism, which undoubtedly leads to a hot crowd and some playful personality that we don't always get to see from Hase. Liger doesn't always need much coaxing to be playful so it was a treat to see Hase really rub in all of his comebacks, and Hase/Liger each doing a few variations on Rude's hip swivel is the kind of taunt that kept getting the crowd louder. I really liked the Rude/Blair team, and came away missing the kind of in-ring professionalism both of them brought Blair had the awesome bald spot ponytail, buzzed his wings like a bee during rope runs, hit a fantastic standing lariat, works fast juniors spots with Liger (with a real fast bump to the floor to cap it off), and was great on the apron. Watch Blair's reactions during Hase's long giant swing as he is unable to get in there to save Rude. Rude was heel perfection, and my favorite thing from him might have come early, as he locks in an insanely tight looking headlock on Liger, then gives him two punches to the kidneys as he's tagging in Blair. Sure, his overall meathead antics are what gave everything heat, and that spectacular top rope knee is the best, and I guess what I'm trying to say is that Rick Rude was too real to be real, a guy whose stock rises nearly every time I see him. Seeing the kind of work that he was putting out on house shows really cements him.


El Hijo Del Santo vs. Negro Casas CMLL Japan 2/6/97

MD: This has been out there but clipped on a commercial tape, apparently. Here we have it in full. We're into Santo's rudo phase, but not too deep into it, in front of an audience that only seemed half aware. This isn't a huge crowd. They're quiet for the most part. Midway through, Casas works to engage them and they sort of split the chants. This sort of felt like an abbreviated title match, or maybe one on fast-forward. Memorable was some really good matwork to start which led to the escalation into rope running and a crazy flipping senton through the ropes by Santo. Santo wasn't over the top with his rudo-ness. He oversold heavily a Scorpion Deathlock attempt (not even the hold) by Casas but that was to lure him in. He also threw a really nasty chairshot towards the finish, but ultimately missed a top rope splash and lost to the Casita. It was a good digest, with the right sort of intensity at times, and these two can do no wrong, ever, but would have been better in a different environment.

PAS: Really cool to watch these guys a 10 minute version of their match. It was a 97 Santo versus Casas match too, not just an exhibition of cool spots (although there was some very cool spots) but a nice capsulation of the brutality that these guys could and did bring on a regular basis. We get pretty spinning headscissors and dives to the floor, but some really cool struggling mat work and Santo kicking Casas directly to the back of his head.  I loved the early counter work out of the headscissors and I loved Santo smashing Casas with a chair, we really get everything we love about this feud boiled down to it's marrow.  Great, great stuff.

ER: No big deal, just the two GOATs working a hot Nitro lucha sprint lightning match in front of a largely apathetic Japanese crowd. CMLL Japan crowds tend to be small from what I've seen, but they are usually hot and appreciative. This match oddly came with the atmosphere of people sitting through a lucha show to get a free 2 week timeshare rental. But it's a perfect 10 minute synopsis on what was going on with these two in 1997. It was a highlights match (as much as any match with these two, as obviously they are highlight reel machines) with something to say, a match where the biggest spots shone just as brightly as their transitions. The big spills play well, like Santo surprising Casas with his gorgeous rolling tope senton too the floor. I've grown so used to Santo hitting that rolling senton in ring as a lead up to his tope past the turnbuckle, that seeing him take the opportunity to hit it to the floor - in a way that didn't seem like part of the plan or even something that had been fully thought through - made the moment even bigger. But the small moments played as big for me, like the way Santo held on to a waistlock as Casas tried to violently shake him, or the way Santo lost the camel clutch but gave up one of Negro's arms to yank his head back by the hair as a way to salvage things.

All of the scrambling was real snug, and honest. If they didn't fully have the other, nobody was pretending they were stuck. They rolled with the exchanges and reevaluated where the other was during the brief periods of pause, and I got the sense that they could have woven their way through similar sequences and ended up somewhere different entirely (and no doubt, they have done exactly this during their careers). Santo has the best stomps in wrestling history, just give me a match where Santo only stomps at Negro's body and cerebellum. Show me someone in wrestling who has a better boot to the back of the head/neck, and I'll show you someone who wrecked brain cells. Santo's stomps feel perfectly worked, for maximum visual. The knee work was all cool, Santo kicking at Negro's thigh and Negro going down hard for a fast dropkick to his patella. Everything felt like it happened because of something else they had done earlier. Were Santo's shots to Negro's knee meaner because earlier Santo had gone for a knucklelock and Casas just opted to lurch in and punch Santo in the face? It felt like that to me.  I loved the mean ways they kept the distant crowd guesses, like when Casas gets booed for ripping at Santo's mask, then eats an insane fast head over heels bump to the floor off a Santo dropkick. After getting the loudest heat of the match with that mask rip, Santo follows him to the floor and pastes him with a chairshot, not caring that they had booed Casas for something less severe, more concerned with wrecking Casas. These two give me life force whenever I watch them, and this was no different.


Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, November 01, 2019

New Footage Friday: Finlay, Steve Wright, Piper, Rude, Savage, Duggan

Roddy Piper vs. Rick Rude WWF 11/1/89

ER: This is the kind of house show bullshit that would leave me driving home from a wrestling show in ecstasy. It has a long Rude headlock in the middle that maybe could have been shorter, but it built to such a hot comeback and finishing run that it felt appropriate. This had it all: Classic bullshit, perfect house show schtick, a couple unique moments I don't remember seeing before, exciting babyface sequences, big heel stooging, big heel bump, just a total checklist of "satisfying damn match". We get the kind of Rude sells we want, going to the atomic drop early, Piper following behind Rude mocking his butt out tippy toes perfect sell, looking like Bald Bull when you catch him during his Bull Charge. Rude goes down with quick bumps off lariats and punches, sells his balls after a gnarly inverted atomic drop, and works some awesome timing sequences with Piper. Piper is fiery as hell, attacking Rude at the bell with a kilted matador routine, throwing clothing in Rude's face and punching him through it. They worked this sequence that I don't ever recall seeing Piper do, where he practically works a karate sequence with Rude, Rude blocking a series of punches and slapping down Piper's arms almost Three Stooges style, with Piper spinning around and hitting Rude with a freaking spinning backfist to the neck! Holy cow. Rude has some great worked right hands, and they also do some actual clever ref involvement where Piper is dragging Rude while Rude clutches Hebner's leg for dear life and they're both dragged around. Very impressive seamless ref bump timing when Hebner gets backed into a corner and squished as well. The finish was a dumb confusing house show finish but we got a big Rude bump to the floor out of it, and the kind of match that I would love to see live in any year of my wrestling fandom.

MD: These two had been going at it for two months around the loop and you could absolutely tell. I absolutely loved how outlandish this was. It felt like Piper spent half the match just following Rude around as he walked funny mocking the swivel. These two against other opponents always brought a sense of heightened reality, but against one another, everything was blurry and askew as each seemed to try to top the other. Ultimately, Rude was a great stooge, but Piper was a human firework and you couldn't look away as he abused physics and violence to keep the world entertained.

PAS: I saw a live cage match between these two around this time, which was my all time favorite live match right up until seeing one of the early Flair vs. Hogan matches a couple of years later. This had such satisfying layers of BS in it. Rude taking an atomic drop is one of the great signature sells in wrestling history and that gets a couple of fun variations. Piper is great on offense too, his babyface fired up routine had him unloading like a 25 punch combination and even a backfist. Finish was some grade A house show BS which I appreciated. Piper grabbing the concussed ref's hand to count out Rude was a blast even with the overturning of the decision.


Randy Savage vs. Jim Duggan WWF 11/1/89

ER: This was a fine Coliseum Video level match, one that probably could have accomplished what it did in a shorter match, but you cannot argue with that fan reaction through the very end of this. Sherri put in overtime making those fans cheer Duggan, and damn did they. Savage wasn't over the top with bumps, taken less snap bumps to the mat, but peaking with a bump I've never seen him do before where he bounced off the middle rope when Duggan moved, hitting the back of his head on the fall. It was like an 80s heel stooge version of the Psicosis bump. During the match Savage is more tricking the easily distracted Duggan to fall for another axe handle to the back of the head, and it keeps working. Sherri comes up with a half dozen different attacks from the floor, picking her shots but picking them frequently. Dressed the entire time as Magica de Spell, she yanks Duggan's leg, claws his back, nails him with her purse, even runs him into the damn ringpost! By the time Duggan is finally chasing after Sherri and Sherri goes scrambling into the ring and crawls across it, the fans are absolutely losing their minds as she gets her comeuppance. Duggan takes his fun oafish bumps (especially like how he takes Savage's top rope neck snap), Savage saves his biggest bump for Duggan's post match rampage, and the crowd reaction for a Duggan nearfall kickout is all you need to hear to know people were invested in this one. The shot of a bunch of people standing up and yelling at pointing at Sherri when Duggan kicks out is a great pro wrestling moment.

MD: In some ways, this is a perfect match. Look, in some ways, it's obviously not. Half of Duggan's clotheslines are ridiculously bad. This is exacerbated by him getting multiple phantom pins off of them. His offense is so limited that he has to hit the huge atomic drop twice to different effects at different moments? There's nothing special about his selling? The ref is way too blind when it comes to Sherri, especially on the finish? They have the exact same ref bump that the Rude vs Piper match had on the same show and that was a DQ? I'm sort of straining here.

This is pretty much the ultimate 1989 WWF style dark match. It has Duggan hot to start, foiling Savage being underhanded but wild. Eventually, Sherri is used to perfection first to turn the tide and then to lay on the heat. It's never on her either since it's always Savage directing traffic. When the comeback comes, Sherri is front and center and it feels like a backfire, even though it's not really. Duggan still earns the comeback with a couple more twist. That leads to the ref bump, the phantom pins, and the last twist on the crowd with the handbag. This is a sort of match that can't exist in 2019. It's simple and straightforward and entirely committed. Yes, there were execution issues, but the broad strokes were so primal and the characters so larger than life that it's hard to care all that much. This is a thing that wrestling can be and those kids in the first rows on the near side of the camera that kept raising their thumb up and going hooooo definitely didn't want it to be anything else.


Fit Finlay vs. Steve Wright 1991

ER: I can’t actually fathom a world where I wouldn’t be seriously into 12 minutes of these two doing their thing. Both of these guys are excellent minimalist wrestlers, guys who could work a great match around a very specific set of parameters. There needed to be a kind of Dogme 95 among accomplished European wrestlers where they gave themselves different challenges, different ways to specifically shape a wrestling match. It felt like we were going that way with mid 2000s Indy wrestling but they eventually just decided to make the shittiest 90s All Japan style ever. But I was there live for the Bryan Danielson/Claudio headlock match, and I remember thinking live that we were about to enter a bad fucking ass period of guys working matches around super specific injuries and weird shit like 93 minute matches that I’ll never watch. I even remember there was a 60 minute draw Masa Chono match during that early 2000s period where I was devouring as much VHS Japanese wrestling as I can squeeze into a day. Wrestling was weird as fuck and everybody was discovering World of Sport and people were trying out stupid shit in a modern setting. Finlay and Wright were good enough to pay too close attention to details, and it made them so eminently watchable. This is two experts running into each other, stomping hands, throwing clubbing shots to the back of the neck, and making each individual moment mean something. Both took a big bump to the floor (Finlay flies into a ringpost so fast, one of the more violent looking missed charges I can think of), and there is a moment on the apron where Wright is throwing elbow shots at Finlay, and not only were these great looking elbows but Finlay sells the shots as well as it is humanly possible to sell an elbow. The way Finlay goes down, increasingly harder, for these elbows...honestly they didn't need to do anything else and the match would still be something I love.

MD: This one's a bit of a cheat. It's been out there, but this channel is amazing and this is an easy in. Early 90s Finlay is a treat because he's a middle ground between the valet-wielding, heatseeking, stooging and stalling WOS foil and the bruiser, brawler monster we'd eventually get. You get a bit of each world and it makes for a great package. He'd hit amazing knees or uppercuts or just bruise his opponent in a corner, but would also get on one knee to beg off a ref. It also meant that he could sell big for Wright the whole match, which meant his successful possum play late in the match completely believable. Wright was a twenty year vet at this point and maybe shouldn't have been trying missile dropkicks, though he gets points for the effort. What he's best at here is portraying a real babyface fury, getting carded multiple times but staying wholly sympathetic and having the crowd playing along. I have to admit I was a step behind on some of the rules with all the cards and some of the stoppages, but it did se up a very cool finish that felt a little like a sudden death overtime. That doesn't feel like an easy thing to emulate in wrestling; I haven't seen it often, so it was cool to see here.

PAS: German Finlay is really close to peak Finlay, and this feels like an awesome WCW discovery. Wright is a bit past his prime, but knows how to fire up a crowd and make the most of the athletic abilities he still had. Finlay is a great frustrated wrestler, he really sells aggravation great, and you know he is going to take out that aggravation on his opponent. He is just so great at the little things and I am glad we added another brushstroke on his career.


Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!