Segunda Caida

Phil Schneider, Eric Ritz, Matt D, Sebastian, and other friends write about pro wrestling. Follow us @segundacaida

Sunday, February 15, 2026

Yoshiaki Fujiwara is a Servant of God An Avenger Who Carries God's Wrath Against On the Wrongdoer


Yoshiaki Fujiwara/Katsushi Takemura vs. Kazunari Murakami/Mistu Nagai Nihei Gumi 2/11/07 - EPIC

PAS: There is a real treasure trove of small room Japanese indies on Archive.org. I was in a Fujiwara mood, so I decided to scroll around and watch something I haven't seen before. Fujiwara and Murakami in the ring together has a pretty high floor, at a minimum you are going to get two of the great face makers in pro-wrestling history making faces at each other, at a maximum you are going to get whatever the fuck this was. The first part of the match chugs away as a fun BattlArts adjacent puro indy tag. The first Murakami and Fujiwara exchange is pretty great, they do some sneering at each other, Fujiwara gets dropped with a hard punch, gets his bearings and takes Murakami down to the mat. Their finishing run is what makes this so incredible. Fujiwara drops Nagai with a headbutt, Murakami tags in and it devolves into some of the most visceral and violent pro-wrestling of all time. They smash each other with headbutts until both are split open and soaked in blood, Fujiwara gets mounted and smashed with full force punches, he counters, not with a bit of defensive mat wizardry, but with a hard straight right to Murakami's dick, the match ends on a DQ with Fujiwara trying to jam both of his thumbs through Murakami's eye sockets. I didn't think wrestling still had the capacity to shock me, I was wrong. 

MD: This one takes a real, real turn at the end, and we'll talk about that shortly. To start, a fairly undeniable statement: past maybe Inoki and Baba, Yoshiaki Fujiwara was the most self-aware wrestler of his generation. We have footage from 1987 that shows it, and it becomes even more true as time goes on. 

Here, in 2007, he absolutely milks the first exchange between himself and Murakami. After Takemura and Nagai hit each other like trucks for a minute or two, Takemura reaches out for the tag. Time grinds to a halt. Fujiwara blinks, just blinks, and somehow the world gets even slower. He comes in, faces off with Murakami, and gets absolutely clocked with a punch. He goes down, rides out the count, comes up, and we enter a binary situation. We all know Murakami's going to throw another punch. Is Fujiawara going down again? Or has he had enough already? Fujiwara knows the power of his presence, his skill, his reputation, the expectations of the fans. He knows what he has with Murakami across from the ring from him. He sidesteps and drops him with the armbar, and then they both get out of the way so Takemura and Nagai can throw bombs at each other some more. And if that was the only interaction between the two, this match would still have value for it.

It's not. Takemura let himself get swept under, was double teamed, but finally came back enough to make a tag. That brought us back to Fujiwara and Murakami. We've seen Fujiwara come in after a hot tag before. He leads with his head, and again, he knows what he has with that head, what crowds have come to expect from it. Impenetrable, indominable, stronger than steel, a perfect tool for both viciousness and comedy. 

But Murakami doesn't waver. He doesn't back down. He leans in instead. He headbutts through it. In all of wrestling, there's maybe nothing more horrific, knowing what we do, than a headbutt war so gnarly and grisly that both competitors draw blood from it. We are a captive audience. This was 2007. There's nothing we can do but bear witness to horrors long gone by. You can shout at your screen but it will do no good. And in truth, were we there, were we shouting in the moment, it would not have halted Fujiwara and Murakami on this day.

We see the blood on Fujiwara's forehead first, an eggshell cracking, a rock split asunder. When we next see Murakami we realize the damage was mutual. As the blood turns from a trickle to a stream down Fujiwara's face, the battle becomes more intimate, slow, steady, hate-filled grappling. 

Fujiwara ends up on top of him, and brandishes his thumb for all to see. Again, even in the midst of this bestial state to which they've unleashed upon this world, Fujiwara knows who he is, what he is, the value of it all. He knows the importance of showing the crowd, the camera, Murakami, God himself, his thumb, to ensure everyone knows that what is about to happen will happen in the first degree and should be prosecuted as such. Intent established, he drives his thumb straight into Murakami's eye. Its brother falls in beside the first immediately thereafter. Murakami, as with the headbutts, drives his own fingers up to create an unholy unison with Fujiwara, a matrimony of mutual mutilation and destruction.

The referee tries to call off the match. In the background, music that sounds a bit like the Peter Gunn theme, a jazzy bebopping riff, plays, evoking an awards ceremony where they producers are increasingly desperate to play off-stage an out of control acceptance speech. Fujiwara and Murakami keep fighting off anyone in their way, violent desire verging on the farcical, like the end credits of a Benny Hill episode if the goal was blood and death instead of ribald comedy.

Once things took a turn, all of this had a gradual, almost glacial, sense of inevitability. It took its time, announced its intentions. There was no room for confusion or ambiguity. Its power was not just in the brutal impacts or bloody aftermath, but in how methodological it all was. What do you even do with something like this? All we can do is share it, document it, ensure that others carry the weight with us. In the end, what is it truly but yet another unforgettable page in the astonishing book of Yoshiaki Fujiwara?


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE YOSHIAKI FUJIWARA


Labels: , , ,


Read more!

Wednesday, April 28, 2021

GLEAT Experimental Match Series 1

Mitsuya Nagai vs. Soma Watanabe 12/3/20

ER: This is UWFI rules, and very one-sided, as the 52 (!) year old Nagai keeps forcing rope breaks to chip away at Watanabe's points. Nagai is aggressive and goes for takedowns that end in immediate submission attempts, forcing Watanabe to get to the ropes on a kneebar and again on a can opener, and other times just pressing his forearm into Watanabe's throat. Nagai lands a couple of hard right kicks that Watanabe takes on his ribs and arm, technically blocked but definitely absorbing them. When Watanabe is on his final point he goes for broke, throws open hand strikes and a solebutt that drops Nagai, then deadlifts Nagai with a nice back suplex. Nagai decided to not leave any more openings after that, getting up and literally dragging Watanabe to the mat with a guillotine. 


Yutaka Yoshie vs. Takanori Ito 12/10/20

ER: This is a series really made for Segunda Caida, where a Japanese fed brings back cool old guys who were the guys we liked back when we were still tape traders, and having them maul newer shootstyle guys. That's a great formula! I watched Japanese wrestling more than anything else from 2001-2006, and those days seem like an eternity ago. This was not UWFI rules like a lot of matches in this series, it's a pro style match, and it really showcases a 46 year old Yoshie as an incredibly tough guy with a crazy gas tank. He hasn't lost a step since I was last regularly watching him 15 years ago, it's amazing. His belly hangs lower, but the speed and agility are there, and I honestly don't know if there's a current wrestler whose offense lands harder. This match was 13 minutes, and I don't know if Ito was in control of more than 1 of those minutes. Yoshie starts attacking Ito's knee, locking in painful crabs and a legbar, landing full weight on a splash, kicking the leg in the ropes, and then he just moves into overall CRUSH mode. 

Ito occasionally gets a front kick to the face - a couple very nice ones - but Yoshi mostly brick walls them and lands some other devastating shots. Yoshie's elbowdrop has to be the best elbowdrop in wrestling right now, his Thesz press is great, his right hand is great, he's a more interesting elbow exchange striker than most modern Japanese wrestlers, and he DESTROYS Ito with the most organ crushing senton I've ever seen. Kaz Hayashi can't stop laughing on commentary after Yoshie lands the heaviest possible senton, just cry laughing at a flattened man. For the finish Yoshie absolutely flattens Ito further with a top rope splash that looked like someone pushed a recliner off a roof. Yutaka Yoshie is the asskicker pro wrestling needs. Too bad we never got Yoshie/Finlay. 


Kaz Hayashi/Daisuke Sekimoto vs. Takanori Ito/Soma Watanabe 12/17/20

ER: These veteran mauler matches are a great idea, but a much less interesting idea when the veteran is Daisuke Sekimoto. He can be a real boring control guy, and I thought his parts of this dragged on for too much of the match. Hayashi is still tremendous at 47, one of the most gifted juniors ever. He moves with really similar mechanics as Muta, only works at Burst of Energy Muta speed the whole time. The energy Muta puts into the corkscrew elbow, is the energy Kaz Hayashi puts into everything. Jamie Noble might be the closest American comparison, and that is the kind of style that will age well. Sekimoto has a couple of cool things, like a painful backbreaker, but a lot of this is him working more like Nikolai Volkoff than the brutalizing heavyweight offense that Yoshie filled way more time with the week before. 

The Wrestle-1 guys were much more interesting than Sekimoto in this. Hayashi had a couple cool fast juniors exchanges with Watanabe, with a great headscissors and some quick rope work. Kaz even breaks out some cool wrist control matwork on him, and his work with Ito is good too. Sekimoto and Ito aren't a great match, giving us some middling forearm exchanges, and Ito is 0-for-2 in this series when it comes to missing high on his KO high kick. His spinning heel kick lands with the best force of Minoru Tanaka's similar kick, but his KO kicks that are supposed to put the exclamation point on the end of a combo have been sequence killers. But there was definitely some gold here, like Hayashi running across the ring to elbow smash Ito far off the apron, Ito hitting an awesome fallaway slam on Sekimoto, and the pulverizing lariat that Sekimoto laid into Ito. Definitely not a miss of a match, but my least favorite of Series 1. 



Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, February 04, 2021

Fujiwara Family: RINGS Astral Step: Final 12/7/91

Grom Zaza vs. Koichiro Kimura 

PAS: The Russians are here! Zaza is completely relentless, constantly swarming all over Kimura, trying to grab and arm, leg or neck to twist. Kimura fends him off for a while with kicks and punches, but eventually just seems to try to survive scrambling to the ropes and turtling . Eventually Zaza grabs his neck in almost a shoot full nelson for the tap. I am excited to see more Zaza, but this got dull and was really long (and may have even been clipped if the time stamp was right).

Herman Renting vs. Nobuaki Kakuta 

PAS: I am not sure what or why this ways. Kakuta was a popular karate fighter who represented Japan in international compition, and really over with the crowd. This might have been a shoot, or a dull work. First three or so rounds they just circled each other and feinted. Everytime Kakuta threw anything the crowd would go bonkers, but I am not sure he landed a single solid shot. Renting, who looks like the evil neighbor kid in Toy Story, gets a knock down with an illegal closed fist, which suggested work to me, but this ended with an unsatisfying draw which kind of suggests shoot. Either way I suggest that you don't watch it. 

Chris Dolman vs. Tiger Levani

PAS: Levani is another Russian from the Zaza and Han family. He shoots for limbs, but gets stuffed by Dolman on almost all of his attempts. Dolman gets a neck crank for the tap. Hard to really get a sense of Levani, as Dolman ate him up. Pretty dull although at least it wasn't super long.

Dick Vrij vs. Willie Peeters

PAS: This has been a rough show so far, but this was awesome. These are my two favorite pre-Russian gaijin, and they go after it. Really aggressive match with both guys winging kicks to the head and wild punches. Vrij has heavy kicks and drops Peeters with both a head kick and scything body kick. Peeters is a spunky energetic babyface, and I loved him trying to break down the bigger Vrij with hard body shots and he even gets off a couple of throws. Peeters eventually gets dropped by a a awesome three kick combo, right to the body, left to the body, right to the head to crumple him. Every moment was exciting, loved this.

ER: I skipped past the other matches right to this one, Phil took the body shots on the first hour of the show. And this might have been the best 10 minutes we have in RINGS so far, especially in terms of big moments. This felt more like the final fight in a movie, where both guys keep knocking each other down after initially looking like the fight would be over a minute in. Peeters gets a big belly to belly but gets absolutely leveled by a Vrij high kick shortly after, and while Peeters got up at 5 he looked like a guy who shouldn't be getting up at 5. I thought Peeters was a sitting duck, he kept lasting, and started getting very vocal with Vrij. Peeters might keep getting knocked down, but he keeps springing back to his feet to shove it in the much larger Vrij's face. The whole match was nothing but finishers, the moments of Peeters actually making Vrij sweat were great, and each new explosive Vrij strike kept looking like it should leave Peeters motionless. BUT, Vrij kept breathing harder and harder, and the possibility of Peeters surviving and outlasting became more real. I got really into Peeters' babyface performance, probably my favorite in RINGS so far.  Vrij goes full bully when his breathing gets harder, shoving Peeters into the ropes and catching him with a knee on the recoil, and Vrij's final left-right-left kick combo was devastating. Two body shots and that left high kick, and the way Peeters fell the ref knew to immediately wave it. This whole match is a highlight video. 


Gerard Gordeau vs. Mitsuya Nagai

PAS: Gordeau is a kickboxer who got to the finals of the first UFC, and fought in Zero-One and New Japan. He might also be a Nazi, although he claims Jewish heritage and says his swastika tattoo is the Buddhist symbol (take that with the coke rock sized grain of salt in deserves). Gordeau is a guy who was known for taking liberties and he roughs up Nagai, bloodying his nose and finishing him with a sick guillotine. Pretty one sided. I would have liked to see later years crowbar Nagai against Gordeau.

ER: Gerard Gordeau is a real problematic wrestling legend. He's a scummy Dutch guy who had to work for a living as a child after he lost his dad, and used karate as a way out. He's Daniel Larusso, if Larusso were a Nazi in the early 70s. But Gordeau has been in some major historical portions of Mixed Martial Arts history. He broke his foot on future Hawaii 5-0 actor Teila Tuli's teeth in the first UFC fight ever. He's got less than 20 worked matches in history, yet he's faced Inoki, Hashimoto, Naoya Ogawa, Akebono, Maeda, literally the biggest legends of Japanese wrestling. He's a methlab Kazunari Murakami (who Gordeau also faced!), just with a more vacant serial killer face than an anime villain. 

He really overwhelms Nagai, and Nagai is a really tough guy. Nagai is a rookie in RINGS going up against a bunch of way bigger Dutch dudes, and now he's in his early 50s and still going at it. But Gordeau is all sharp knees and kicks thrown so hard he doesn't care if he falls over. Nagai is constantly on his heels with Gordeau lurching in. He catches Nagai with two different sick standing guillotines and then just drops him like a dead body. The second one finishes Nagai, but the fight went into the 4th round and it was so totally one sided that Nagai came out more impressive for surviving. Gordeau came off like a real killer, and it's too bad we didn't get to see him against any Russians. Maybe that's for the best though. 


Masaaki Satake vs. Hans Nyman

PAS: This also might have been a shoot. Satake is an original K1 guy who is probably best known for getting German suplexed nearly to death by Rampage Jackson in Pride. No finish in this match either, but it had a lot of activity especially by Satake who threw constantly kicks, hooks to the body and straight punches. Nyman fired back too, and while this never came close to a finish, but it was at least brisk. 


Volk Han vs. Akira Maeda

ER: I didn't realize Han debuted in the main event, against the biggest star, on the biggest RINGS show (up to that point of their history). They obviously saw something special in him, because of course how could you not? We get a good feeling out process, Han looking to get Maeda to throw first by throwing little slaps to Maeda's stomach and cheek, checking leg kicks. And once Han starts to do Volk Han things, it's like Maeda instantly gets dragged into playing Han's game when Han times a Maeda strike to hit a flying armbar. Han is the guy most likely to destroy someone's legs with a shoot figure 4 variation, and the way he makes knots out of Maeda's legs is pure art. It looks like he knows dozens of different pressure points in the legs, and it's amazing to watch him make even slight movements to apply different pressure. Maeda has to scramble for the ropes pretty quick a couple times, and that's when he decides to go for suplexes. There were some great suplexes in this fight, with Maeda's snap vertical looking picture perfect, and Han gets a huge deadlift belly to belly and back suplex, and even spikes Maeda with a kind of DDT. Maeda seems somewhat befuddled by Han, who keeps flinging himself at Maeda's legs and gets an absolutely disgusting kneebar that was hyperextending Maeda's long leg at such a gross angle that the biggest crowd in RINGS history had to think the ace was leaving limbless. 

Maeda gets a miracle rope break, and Han really starts looking like a monster. He steps out of the way of Maeda's big leaping heel kick and starts taunting him to do it again, then starts basically knocking Maeda to the mat. Han catches a high kick and just shoves Maeda over, then sweeps his leg like a real jerk after Maeda gets up. BUT, fighting over those suplexes and going full strength with submissions start to suddenly, visibly catch up to Han, as he appears to gas out down the stretch. At first it looks like Han is baiting Maeda into throwing some more, some obvious trick by resting his hands on his knees and leaning in with his face. It looks like a total trap, and Maeda treats it like a trap, until he realizes that Han is washed. NOW that leaping heel kick doesn't miss, and Han eating canvas felt like a triumphant moment. After barely beating the count from that kick, Han uses the rest of his strength to throw Maeda with a big uranage, but doesn't have quite the same energy to tap Maeda, legs getting all pretzeled together again, and Maeda taps him with a toehold as Han is bending at Maeda's knee (for the dozenth time). I spent so much of this match wondering how Han was able to keep up such a furious pace, and well, eventually he was not. This was such an excellent way to close out the first year of RINGS, Han the invading Russian who almost embarrassed the ace, no doubt setting up huge things for the next year. 

PAS: What a debut for Han, right up there with the greatest debut matches in wrestling history. We all know Han as a master of technique, smooth, violent, innovative, his execution is unparalleled, but man did he just get pro-wrestling as a storytelling medium so quickly. I loved the way this progressed, with Han showing such virtuosity early and Maeda seeming taken aback at the speed and force of his attacks. That first leaping cross armbreaker threw Maeda both literally and figuratively. Then Maeda seemed to adjust and find moments to shine, a kick which lands, a snap suplex, and Maeda doesn't die with some of those submissions, he just lives another day, and eventually that is enough. Han starts to wilt, his hair starts to get mussed (shout out to my brother from another Tomk for coming up with his theory about Han's hair selling), and Maeda hits his big spin kick, dropping Han like a stone. Han is able to get back, hit a throw and tie up Maeda again, but Akira pulls out a trick and is able to snatch an ankle before Han can snatch a knee. Man am I excited to revisit this match up again, what a pair of legends. 



Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Saturday, January 16, 2021

Fujiwara Family: RINGS Astral Step 3rd KAMUI 9/14/91

ER: Last RINGS show we got a cool pre-show video showing all of the combatants warming up in the arena, and this time we get a couple of Maeda trainees (there is a chance they are known guys, but I'm at the age where I am not going to be recognizing every Japanese young boy on sight) doing a demonstration for the crowd on what strikes are allowed under RINGS rules. It's presented like two flight attendants going through the machinations of how to apply your oxygen mask or use your seat as a floatation device, but instead showing how to legally use palm strikes, upward elbow strikes to the cheekbone, and soccer kicks to the haunches. 


Mitsuya Nagai vs. Herman Renting

PAS: This is a rematch from an earlier show, but was a way more killer version. I got the sense that this was both guys figuring some stuff out. It starts tentative, but gets nasty quick with Nagai trying to behead Renting with a soccer kick. Renting responds with a soccer kick of his own later, and some very cool takedowns. Nagai hits this somersault enzigiri which was the single coolest spot of RINGS so far, before Renting is able to take him down and choke him out. Cool energetic fight that got me more excited about future RINGS undercards. 

ER: Yeah this match was a huge step up from their opening fight from the last show. The highlight of that match was Nagai missing a spinning heel kick that would have rearranged Renting's face, and here Nagai got to hit a version of that kick. Before that awesome kick (a rolling kappo kick that connected with a real hook), this really kicked up to a new level when Renting checked a hard Nagai kick with his bicep, and Renting goes full wartime beast mode and demanded Nagai kick him harder. From there this was intense as hell, with hard fought rope breaks and big swinging knockdown attempts. Renting really made me buy into his psycho kamikaze routine, and Nagai tried to stay measured while being more careful with his hard shots. The finishing stretch of knockdown to rope break to knockdown was really exciting. 


Willie Peeters vs. Bert Kops Jr.

PAS: Peeters continues to be super entertaining, both guys had some really impressive throws, full hips, big tourque high air. That was pretty much the extent of what Kops could do, but they looked cool. He also hit a body shot or two that looked good. Peeters also had some great looking shots, including a cool moment where he gets thrown by Kops but comes up with a slick little uppercut to catch him. Peeters also put him down in convincing and nasty fashion. This was pretty long for a RINGS match and at one point Kops tweaks his knee, I think with a minute or two shaved this is a hidden gem. Even at its length it was entertaining stuff. 

ER: I thought this was exciting as hell, I thought it really turned into a big time movie fight. This was long for the big swings and throws they were taking, and it sustained the craziness for a longer time than most are capable. We had a ton of cool moments, like a GIFable 3 seconds of them going Low Ki/Red when Peeters misses a convincing front spin kick and Kops dodges 2 inches away from a follow up right cross. Kops fights for and gets a bunch of really impressive lifts where he really sticks with them until he wears Peeters to the mat. Kops had some annoyingly persistent strikes, at one point it looked like he kept targeting Peeters' hip with kicks right to the bone. This kept evolving into such a slugfest, and the finish came off insanely violent. Peeters hit Kops with this quick 5 strike combo that looks kung fu deadly. It was like Peeters hit in his 5 pressure points ending with a knee right to the mouth. Peeters even has this great expression on his face afterward, this real "Why did you make me kick your ass like that?" tenderness. If Shawn Michaels was able to pull off Peeters' face, body slumped over the ropes after getting the match finally called in his favor, it would have been way better than I'm Sorry I Love You. 


Dick Vrij vs. Ton Van Maurik

PAS: This goes five three minute rounds, which you know, why? I like both of these guys and you could clip this to a fun 7 minute match. Van Maurik bullies Vrij into the ropes and strafes his body with knees and body shots. There is a fun spot where they fall awkwardly to the floor. Vrij nearly beheads van Maurik with a high kick, which really should have been the finish, but they go another round and a half and end things with a C- armbar. I have liked how RINGS kept it tight and fast on previous shows, this one has started to feel the bloat. 

ER: I really do not like rounds in my RINGS. I think the breaks in between are too long, and I would much rather see my fighters get out of a bad situation with cunning, rather than end things with a clock. I think RINGS matches can really benefit from some short length, and I think a long match like this needed more of a flow and no round breaks. This had a lot of these two doing things I liked, it all just felt too broken up and stretched out. All of the knockdowns looked good, and Vrij showed a kind of tantrum heel here in certain parts, like a frustrated teen athlete who gets frustrated at being shown up and shoves a ref. Phil is right, this could have really been a throw down if the time was cut in half, but this felt like a bad use of two cool personalities. 


Akira Maeda vs. Willy Wilhelm

PAS: This was pretty nifty with Maeda opening by catching a Wilhelm kick and spinning into a big snap german suplex. Wilhelm controls the middle of this, hitting some big judo throws and trying for submissions, including a deep single crab for a big near fall. I liked Wilhelm no-selling the Maeda body kicks by slapping his fat belly like Kamala. The finishing rush by Maeda was super impressive, he hits a cool low kick into a head kick, and a spinning kick which looked as nasty as the one which cut Fujinami, before ankle locking him for the tap. 

ER: I thought this was two really great characters telling a really great story, loved this as a showdown. I've been really getting into Wilhelm as a RINGS heel, he's like a Dutch take on Scott Norton. He's an Olympic judoka working a Crusher iron beer belly gimmick, and it rules. I loved last show when their intro video showed all the fighters warming up and sparring, it only showed Wilhelm sitting in the crowd with this arms crossed over his belly, talking about how he's going to beat everyone. He's cocky and kind of a wrecking ball, and Maeda is this cool stoic figure who had the right strategy and stuck to the plan. Viewing these '91 episodes of RINGS as a season, I really like the Maeda bad left knee as a returning theme. We've seen promos every show where he's getting his knee iced or rubbed down or taped up, and now I can't take my eyes of Maeda's left knee in matches. 

Wilhelm makes a big show of being too large to absorb Maeda's strikes, trying psych out Maeda by requesting Maeda target his stomach, and Maeda sticks to the plan and keeps hacking down that tree. Wilhelm was smothering early, walking through strikes to hit nice judo throws, working (the right) knee over with a great single crab. Is he targeting Maeda's better knee because Maeda is really hurt? Or was it just the leg he happened to grab? But it keeps getting harder to walk through the strikes, because Maeda was not psyched out. And soon Wilhelm isn't walking through strikes, he's absorbing strikes. I love how Wilhelm begins to realize what he's done, you can see these leg kicks really affecting him, and Maeda is able to land an insane German suplex that absolutely dumps Wilhelm. He starts landing harder kicks as Wilhelm is becoming a slower and open target, and nails him right in the thigh with a hard kick and sneaking in his surprise left high kick. The final submission was a terrific shot, Wilhelm trapped in Maeda's leg lock and stretching out as long as possible, still not near the ropes. This was some great RINGS storytelling in an awesome match. 


Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, December 31, 2020

Fujiwara Family: RINGS Astral Step 2nd Aqua Heat 8/1/91

ER: I really loved our opening 5 minute video, giving us a cool background glimpse of all our fighters warming up in Osaka Prefectural Gym the after noon of the show, see Maeda getting his knee looked at, Vrij grappling in the ring, guys running the stairs, Chris Dolman and Willy Wilhelm sitting in the stands with their arms crossed over their barrel stomachs. Seeing Vrij grappling made him look like one of those guys training in a warehouse in an 80s action movie. I love these kind of calm before the storm videos, seeing these guys joke around and put on their gear, then seeing 6,000 fans as they file into the gym. 


Mitsuya Nagai vs. Herman Renting

PAS: This might be Nagai's first worked match (he doesn't have anything earlier on Cagematch) and he showed some of the tentativeness one might expect from your first match. I am used to Nagai just hurling reckless heat (he damn near killed Iizuka) but here the kicks are just kind of normal. Renting spent most of the match timing Nagai and taking him down when he left a kick out there. Finish was cool with Nagai spinning into an armbar, although it kind of went against the story of the match. Interesting curiosity to see a guy with such a long career in his debut, but outside of that this wasn't much. 

ER: This was very base level RINGS, and that's fine. It is cool to see baby Nagai, and I thought that while the match proper wasn't a super interesting format, it at least played out to a logical conclusion. Nagai was throwing fast full extension kicks, which kept Renting from getting too close. Renting would check leg kicks and then back away from a big sweeping high kick, like he was getting the timing down on a boss battle. Nagai outpaced him on the mat and drew two rope breaks and it seemed clear that Renting's only chance was to bait Nagai into a big miss and hopefully land a knockdown. He does catch a Nagai kick and then duck an awesome spinning heel kick from Nagai (Renting would have been faceless had he not ducked), but his lone advantage is fairly easily turned into a Nagai armbar. Again, base level stuff, but some of shootstyle is being enamored by the things that could have finished but barely missed. 


Chris Dolman vs. Ton Van Maurik

PAS: This was tremendous stuff, just a pair of permed dudes trying to absolutely liquify each other's internal organs with body shots. This isn't your slick submission master Volk Han stuff, it is phone booth pummeling.  Maurik unloads with combos to the kidneys which drops Dolman, and Dolman rag dolls him with judo and starts throwing these huge headbutts right to the chest and solar plexus of van Maurik, it looked like he was trying to bob for apples in van Maurik's chest cavity. You give me two big dudes hitting each other hard in interesting ways, that is all I want from wrestling. 

ER: If you're Dutch, you don't need a perm (seriously I'm pretty sure the Dutch have the world market cornered on citizens with very curly hair, it's one of their things); but if you're Dutch, you don't necessarily have to try to cave in a dude's chest with your head. This was all about Dolman being a patient bulldozer and Van Maurik tries to out quick him with leg kicks, but Dolman is good at catching leg kicks. Van Maurik has a less confident look in his eyes every time he gets stood back up after a rope break, and it's hard not to be intimidated by Dolman when you see him basically shrug off knees to the body. The great unexpected moment of this was Dolman keeping his face covered and being fine with taking leg kicks, but getting rocked by two unexpected punches to the gut. I loved seeing Dolman suddenly on the deep defensive, on his heels back to the ropes and knocked down with some well placed knees. But after Van Maurik goes for the ropes again to break a tangle, you can see in his eyes that he knows where this is going. Those rained down headbutts are super nasty, that's the kind of thing you deal with during a bear attack, specifically a bear attack that's going to leave you on the losing end. Dolman literally dragging Van Maurik to the middle of the ring for the heel hook tap was some savage business, made Van Maurik look like someone without a....Ton...of experience. 


Willy Wilhelm vs.  Pieter Smit

PAS: There was one really awesome moment in this match where Smit judo throws Wilhelm ribs first into the ropes and follows up with a rib kick. Looked super violent and Wilhelm sold it like he got hit in the side with a truncheon. Most of the rest of the match was Wilhelm taking Smit down, not violently but convincingly and eventually putting on a cool choke for the finish. As a match it wasn't anything special but it did have a couple of memorable moments which is enough for me.

ER: I liked Wilhelm's alpha bully attitude, looked like a Dutch Stan Hansen who learned judo instead of lariats. I don't really get as involved in the shootstyle matches that are just "one larger judoka using his weight to slightly bully another judoka", and it felt too similar to stuff that happened in the match right before this one. But there is always going to be some gold to mine from any of these matches, and Phil is right, that moment here was Smit doing a judo throw that comes close to tossing Wilhelm right over the top rope, sends him off balance and lands kicks right to the ribs. I also really liked when Wilhelm tried to get mount and Smit threw up a knee from his back right to Wilhelm's teeth (you could tell it really annoyed him). Also big ups to Wilhelm for locking in essentially a shoot Million Dollar Dream. 


Dick Vrij vs. Akira Maeda

PAS: This felt like the RINGS version of the first Sting vs. Vader match or the second Cena vs. Lesnar, where a beloved hero just gets overwhelmed and destroyed. It is the Empire Strikes Back of the series, with Maeda getting the first win last show, but he ends up in carbonite at the end of this one. Vrij just overwhelms him with his size and aggression, damn near knocking him out the ring with a high kick, and constantly putting Maeda on his back foot. Akira gets one knockdown with a nasty body shot, but Vrij gets back up and keeps swarming him. I couldn't imagine Maeda was going to get beat this convincingly on only his second show and I kept waiting for the comeback that never came. Eventually Vrij sweeps the leg with a nasty kick and while Maeda gets up he is a wounded antelope about to get picked off by the lion. Great match especially in context and I can't wait to see Maeda get his revenge. 

ER: After seeing the pre-show video that showed everyone on the show warming up or sparring, and only showed Maeda getting his left knee looked, I was wondering if this was how his match was going to go. And I'm still kind of surprised that was the match they worked, with Maeda clearly favoring a leg and standing on it as long as he could before Vrij effectively targeted it. Vrij is so cool at throwing big crazy kicks as a decoy, as a way of getting Maeda off balance so he could land a wicked punch to the body. Maeda was down bad, unable to put much weight on that left knee, so that even when he hit one of his best kicks of the match it still required him to put weight on that leg, and he went down with Vrij. Maeda still manages to bounce Vrij off the top of his head on a takedown, always looks like he's going to be able to outlast Vrij. That's probably because we've been conditioned from years of watching Fujiwara wait for his opponent to gas, or Ishikawa wait to catch an opponent's kick all of these sons of Fujiwara have us conditioned to wait for them to pull out a buzzer beater. And Vrij does indeed look like he's gassing out (his post-fight backstage promo where he can only get out literally one word is a testament to how gassed he really was), so it was easy to mentally keep Maeda in this fight. Vrij is just relentless with strikes though, a guy who knew he was tiring but correctly calculated that his opponent would go down before he tired out. Can't wait to see the rubber match. 


Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Fujiwara Family: Ego's is Something the FUTEN Crush: FUTEN 1/30/11



Hajime Moriyama vs. Takeshi Ono

PAS: Moriyama is a U-Style and E-Style guy, and this was actually his last listed match on Cagematch. It was a hell of match to go out on, as Ono brutalized him with big knees, kicks and punches. He totally dots this kids face up, and by the end of the match he has two swollen cheekbones and cuts around his eyes. This wasn't a totally one sided beating though, Moriyama lands two beautiful suplexes, a backdrop and a dragon suplex both of which landed Ono right on the back of his head and neck, he is also able to attack Ono with submissions. Ono was full on though, everything you want from him, he slips out of dragon screw and toe kicks Moriyama in the forehead, hits this two punch spinning backfist and hook combo which was just gorgeous, and lands some punishing bodyshots too. What a magnificent bastard he was.

ER: A big thing I like about Futen is that nobody really gets chumped out here. Even the most punishing fighter is going to take SOME damage, it won't be a fully one sided beatdown. This fight was obviously dominated by Ono, and Moriyama was going to be taking a lot of damage along the way for sure, but Moriyama also got some cool moments of fighting back and two really nasty suplexes that could have been flash wins for him. He absorbs way too many Ono punches to the face, but when Ono misses a punch and takes a backdrop driver right on his neck and shoulders, it's one of those great Futen "is this going to get a TEN COUNT??" moments, and the same thing happens later when Moriyama catches him with a dragon suplex. Moriyama even tries to go wild early with a kneebar, holding it as long as possible and even trying to lock it on over the rope while standing on the floor. It's like he knew he was going to eat dozens of punches so he had to scrape out damage where he could. And, yes, Ono punches him a lot. And kicks him in the face, including one kick where Moriyama is on the mat and Ono slides in with one leg straight to the face. As many of these Futen matches go, the final few minutes is a battle to see how many 10 counts Moriyama would stand up for, and there's always some excitement when a guy keeps getting up (against all better judgment). But I loved the actual finish of Moriyama continuing to fight to his feet, going for slowed and weakened single legs and high kicks, and Ono easily dodging a high kick and letting Moriyama spin himself right into a brutal octopus.

Fujita Jr. Hayato vs. NARITA 

PAS: Hayato fit in FUTEN perfectly, he totally embrace the ethos of unprotected, uncalled for kicks, stomps and knees directly to the face and throat. He unloads a pretty disgusting beating on NARITA, and two matches into this show we have icepack central, with bruises, cuts and swelling on NARITA. Hayato feels like Takeshi Ono's spiritual successor in this match, a skinny prick who has no regard for his opponents well being. At one point he soccer kicks NARITA in the neck and jaw, NARITA slumps into the corner and Hayato follows with a eye obliterating running knee, just gross stuff. NARITA has some moments, he hits a German suplex and some submission attempts, but he ended up mostly being a breathing heavy bag.

Katsumi Usuda vs. Ryuichi Sekine 

PAS: Really interesting defensive performance by Usuda. He wrestled this match like he was Bernard Hopkins, dodging attacks by Sekine, and punishing mistakes with submissions and counter strikes. There was a great moment where he taunts Sekine into a headbutt exchange only to dodge the headbutt and sink in a Fujiwara armbar. At one point he just dodges and evades 10 straight punches and kicks. If Sekine was a more interesting offensive wrestler this could have been an all-timer of a match, instead it was a cool little experiment and a fascinating Usuda performance.

ER: If this is defensive Usuda I would hate to see offensive! Usuda takes Sekine apart and Sekine doesn't ever really appear to have a chance. Usuda is such a confident standing striker, love how he'll just kick out the inner ankle of Sekine and there's nothing at all that can be done to stop it. He wears Sekine down with kicks and his submission on the work really came off like he was going to advance no matter what attempts at stopping him popped up. Sekine had his one big moment where he caught an overhand strike and kicked Usuda into the ropes, then got to the apron and drove his knee into Usuda's head. It wasn't a moment that felt very Futen (felt more like something you'd see as a big moment in a Adam Cole/Tommaso Ciampa NXT main event), but it was cool seeing Sekine get a big knee. The finishing sub from Usuda was fantastic, as he locks in a rolling kneebar that looks like the finish, and Sekine starts wildly kicking at him with his free leg…except Usuda catches that kicking leg and twists it into an inverted figure 4. Usuda is a guy who always looks like he has a plan B to back up his plan A, and this was a beautiful visual of that. 

Manabu Suruga vs. Mitsuya Nagai 

PAS: I really enjoyed this too, Nagai has had a pretty hit and miss career, but usually delivers in FUTEN. His main attribute is his crowbarism, and this is Crowbar Central. There was lots of leglock fighting throughout the match, giving the whole thing an early Pancrase feel, with nifty grabbing and scissoring of limbs and some pretty class stand up exchanges (including some liver mulching body kicks by Nagai). No one wheel kicks someone in the ribs like Shinya Hashimoto but Nagai is the closest. All the submission attempts in this match were great too, Nagai twist Suruga into a twizzler with a stretch plum and Suruga rolls into some nifty arm bars and knee bars.

ER: This is one of those Futen matches that really makes me wonder if these guys just feel constant pain in their knee and elbow joints. Haven't we all had tennis elbow, where we have to hold our arm a certain way for a couple days because "hey doc it hurts when I do (this)"? These guys must be in 24/7 "hurts when I do this" territory, because you cannot get your limbs bent around this much without residual damage. Sometimes I tweak my knee a little while out running, and so I don't run for a few days, occasionally ice it, and am careful when walking down stairs. I assume these guys just look at stairs with spite at this point. The submissions all looked really painful, and my favorite was Nagai using a bit of old school ingenuity and jamming his foot into Suruga's armpit, then bending Suruga's arm back over his foot. It looks like the kind of sub that would have won UFC 3. 

Daisuke Ikeda/Yuki Ishikawa vs. Kengo Mashimo/Makoto Hashi

PAS: What an awesome lineup. We don't have a lot of Ishikawa and Ikeda teaming together, and they are fun parejas team with some bickering early, and even Ikeda clotheslining Ishikawa when he was putting on an Indian deathlock (to give the move extra oomph). We get some good grappling from all four guys before it predictably devolves into a orgy of brutality. Hashi and Ikeda were the fulcrum of one of my favorite matches of all time, and we get to see them match up again, smashing their heads into each other in sickening ways. There is also some great Mashimo vs. Ishikawa matchups including maybe the best ground and pound I can remember seeing in a pro wrestling match. Ishikawa just unloads with punches square to the eye and jaw. This has more of a frantic style then some of the other FUTEN tags, and instead of ending in a long face off we have more near falls and tags in and out, including Hashi nearly getting a submission by touching Ishikawa's knee to the back of his head in a crazy submission, and Ikeda hitting an all impact superplex, before ending with Ishikawa trapping Hashi in a crazy leg stretch choke combo. You don't usually see Negro Navarro submissions mixed in with face kicking and punching and it was awesome here.

ER: Ishikawa and Ikeda teaming is a rare treat, something that's happened less than 10 times over the 25+ years these two have been running together. The most recent actually happened in the current cursed year of 2020, with them pairing off opposite Daniel Makabe & Chris Ridgeway (which is a great match that we reviewed and added to our 2020 MOTY List). This was the last time they tagged before that, and I like that they also treat it like a rare event. They act like a bickering Oscar and Felix, arguing over who is going to start the match, both putting one leg through the ropes to the apron while waving their hand at the other to get in there, culminating with Ikeda agreeing to start, shaking Ishikawa's hand, but then Irish whipping Ishikawa into the match only to see Ishikawa reverse his whip and send Ikeda into a Mashimo boot. It's a funny gag that you don't go into a Futen show expecting to see. This match also gives us (I believe) our only Ishikawa/Hashi pairing, and it's fitting that the match comes down to the two of them. A lot of this didn't feel super Futen to me, but not really in a bad way.

We didn't get the insane level of violence we get from many Futen main event tags, and some strikes felt a little more held back than normal. Mashimo's kicks were more often grazing over the top of Ikeda's head, and Hashi's headbutts don't have the same hollow coconut thump that really lets me know that brains are getting scrambled. But I don't need all that to have a good time, and I thought we got a really fantastic Ishikawa performance. I loved his work with Mashimo and Hashi, and the mounted punches traded by he and Mashimo were my absolute favorite part of the match. Ishikawa works some cool deathlock variations on Mashimo to wear him down, and then throws the gnarliest mounted punches right to Mashimo's neck. These looked like they could have been immaculately worked punches, but it also wouldn't much surprise me if he was just punching Mashimo in the neck. Either way, Mashimo manages to turn it and immediately throws some receipts right to Ishikawa's jaw and temple. We get some real tight saves, and the final showdown with Ishikawa and Hashi is fun, and I thought for certain Hashi was getting the tap when he broke out a leg dislocating stump puller. Ishikawa's final sub looked like a finishing sub, locking his arm around Hashi's neck while trying to make Hashi's leg boot touch the back of his head, Ikeda desperately holding back Mashimo from making the save. Afterward the Ikeda/Ishikawa alliance melts pretty quickly, but ice sculptures aren't made to last, they're made to be enjoyed while they exist.


FUJIWARA FAMILY LIST

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, September 17, 2020

I'm on the Trigger Plus I Got the FUTEN Sword: FUTEN 7/18/11


I am cataloging all of the BattlArts and FUTEN shows we have reviewed, and realized this was out there but somehow unreviewed.

Katsumi Usuda vs. Kotaru Nasu

PAS: Nasu was a Style-E guy and a perfectly solid unspectacular opponent for Usuda. Usuda provides most of the highlights here, unsurprisingly, popping Nasu right in the temple with a high kick, doing a great looking Fujiwara double leg twist counter into a kneebar and an incredible leg trip into a Fujiwara for the tap. Nasu did have a couple of nice near falls on knockdowns and a cross arm breaker, but this was a fun Usuda show. He is really a guy who can deliver against almost anyone.

ER: I thought Nasu was the perfect kind of opponent for Usuda, the kind of lower ranked guy that Usuda is great at almost losing to. For his end, Nasu kicked the hell out of Usuda and looked like he came real close to tapping him, and if a guy throws hard kicks and can lock in a sub that looks like it can get a tap, Usuda can take that guy to his career zenith. Usuda comes into the match with his expected bored expression, totally underestimating Nasu, and after a couple of minutes he appears correct in his underestimation. Usuda is really special, and I love how his selling in this match was based entirely on facials and not, you know, selling a limb. His face starts off in his classic resting sleepy expression, and within 7 minutes it's total panic. Nasu kept doing more damage with each set of kicks, and looks like he was a few newtons away from stinging Usuda on a kick to the spine. His subs keep coming closer and closer to tapping Usuda, and Usuda's grasps for the ropes start looking more and more desperate, and we get a great shot of his eyes darting to every single rope in the ring. When he makes an escape he didn't think he'd made, he realizes that the time for fucking around is over. He wastes Nasu with a kick as Nasu charged into the corner, and I love in fights when a guy *almost* getting a tap causes him to throw strategy out the window. He came so close to that win that he's now too focused on finishing and the blinders leave him wide open. The finish was so sick, Usuda sweeping Nasu's left leg from his back to trip him to the mat, expertly swinging his leg over to shift his weight and grab the arm, then wrenching that arm into the ugliest Fujiwara. It's one of those submission finishes where the guy who gets tapped knows he's in the quicksand the second he steps into it, knows his only option is lose quick or lose slightly less quick. Usuda!


Ryuji Hijikata vs. Bison TAGAI

PAS: This was Tagai representing BattlArts taking on Hijikata who was repping FUTEN, and he repped the hell out of FUTEN, landing a nasty cheap shot headbutt, and some sick punches to the ear. Tagai would fight back with some takedowns and grappling, but he was in over his head. Hijikata hit a couple of great looking sole butt kicks to the stomach, including turning his back after it landed like Steph Curry, before he made Tagai's knee touch his ear for the tap.

ER: Hijikata is a beast. He was taking harsh beatings in BattlArts when Bison was a teen. This guy was toughened up a decade before Bison got started, and even if I don't remember Hijikata winning matches in the late 90s Batt I loved, being a regular there in that area is a lasting badge of toughness. Early in this match there is a moment that would go on an all time best Futen video. Both men are reaching for a knucklelock and TAGAI punches Hijikata straight in the face. Hijikata is rattled and backed up, but quickly comes to and decides TAGAI needed to be taught a rest of match lesson. He backs TAGAI up, headbutts him right in the eye, then throws a right hook to his ear that sends TAGAI to the mat. From there it's just Hijikata stalking and beating TAGAI while TAGAI backs into him and has an I Fucked Up look on his face for much of the rest of the match. He fires back with some slaps but Hijikata is letting him do it, and he's walking through those strikes like all the old 90s BattlArts guys walk through strikes. Those mule kicks hit like two mules, and the finishing submission was disgusting. Hijikata hyperextend's TAGAI's knee up past his head and rides it like one of those guys on Furiosa's metronomes in Fury Road.


Kengo Mashimo vs. SEIKEN

PAS: These are a pair of big boys and stuff was landing hard. SEIKEN rushes Mashimo early and sends him to the floor. Oba is on the sideline and he gives him a talking to, and Mashimo comes in and bulldozes him with hard kicks and punches. Once Oba hyped him up he was a wrecking ball and took SEIKEN out.


ER: Akitoshi Saito feels like a guy who should have made at least a couple Futen appearances and never did. But Mashimo wrestles exactly the way a Futen Saito would wrestle, and it's great. SEIKEN is new to me and he rushes Mashimo to start, blowing him up with quick knees, kicks, and open hands. Once Mashimo gets his pep talk, it's a slow drowning for SEIKEN. Mashimo shows him how actually ineffective his kicks are, and awesomely blocks a spinning heel kick right out of the air with his forearms. Mashimo absorbs strikes, takes slaps as if his face was merely hit merely by a cool breeze, takes kicks to the chest like he's getting a massage, and we get a great moment where SEIKEN nails a spinning heel kick right to Mashimo's chin that sends Mashimo staggering around the ring. From there, Mashimo shows SEIKEN what a leg kick is supposed to look like, absolutely chopping down that tree, dumps him with some very hard back suplexes and Germans, and from there it's a race to see what head kick is going to be the one that makes SEIKEN stay down instead of stand up at 9. 


Mitsuya Nagai vs. Takeshi Ono

PAS: This is a cool scrap which was worked like a speed versus power boxing match. Every shot Nagai threw and every submission he put on had a ton of force. He cut Ono in half with kicks and nearly tore off his limbs. Ono would respond with activity, none of his shots thudded like the much bigger Nagai, but he peppered him with quick punches and kicks, and spun into fast submissions. He even ends up blooding Nagai's ear with fast right hands before falling to a nasty submission which saw Nagai twisting him into taffy. Really cool fight, Ono is an all-time great and any chance to see him is a treasure.


Daisuke Ikeda/Manabu Suruga vs. Yuki Ishikawa/Munenori Sawa

PAS: FUTEN tags are on a short list of the greatest things ever produced by wrestling. This wasn't a top tier FUTEN tag, but even mid-tier FUTEN tags are top tier in a list of all other things. The structure of a FUTEN tag is lots of back and forth violence with all four guys leading to a one on one battle between two wrestlers until one wrestler is demolished. The one on one battle at the end of this match was Sawa versus Suruga which is the least of the possible face offs, both those guys are fine, and the end run was cool, but you really don't want Ishikawa and Ikeda to be on the bench in the fourth quarter. The Ikeda versus Ishikawa stuff here was more of a teaser, but damn it was appropriate, Ishikawa threw a punch to Ikeda's head which sounded like a two by four hitting a pumpkin. Ikeda kicked him right between the top of the jaw and the end of the ear, it was as great and as lamentable as it always is. I always enjoy Sawa's handspeed and I liked how he tried to use that speed against the heavier hitting of Suruga and Ikeda. I wanted a nastier KO then I got, but I still just enjoyed the hell out of watching every second of this.


Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Wednesday, March 06, 2019

Quick Fast We Reflect Like the Sky Be Blue True, FUTEN Saga Continues

Futen 12/19/10

PAS: This is a FUTEN show which sort of slipped through the cracks when I was reviewing all of it back in the day. It isn't new exactly, but it is new to Segunda Caida.

Taro Nohashi vs. NARITA

PAS: Man if you don't watch FUTEN for a while, it can be pretty jarring to get back into this world. Nohashi is a MPRO guy who worked as a mini-Shinzaki, but that isn't what he is doing here, here he is taking his head and smashing it violently into another persons head. NARITA works like a kickboxer, throwing punches and kicks and they look pretty great, more fast then really powerful. They are however powerful enough to bust up Nohashi mouth so it looks like he is brushing his teeth with ketchup. There are some real moments of brutal greatness, including Nohashi thrusting the back of his head into NARITA's face to break a german suplex attempt, and a cool punches vs. headbutts finish run, with Nohashi's head being the victor.

ER: Killer opener, just give these Futen lunatics 6 minutes to open a card and they got nuts. I'd never seen NARITA before, but early on he's throwing evil hammer fist blows to the top and back of Nohashi's head, and essentially he had me at hello. NARITA was punching the way I hoped Suruga would have punched later in the card, really teeing off on Nohashi's face. Loved all the stuff Phil mentioned with Nohashi using his head - literally - to even things out, thought NARITA threw some really great low angle rolling German suplexes, and the matching ending half crab that Nohashi locked on was disgusting (I kept clenched jaw waiting for one of NARITA's bones to snap out of his ever bending leg). Setting the tone for a Futen card can't be easy on the body, but these two did it.

Mitsuya Nagai vs. Kazuki Okubo

PAS: This was basically two guys exchanging thick kicks and working leg locks. Nagai is a crowbar from way back but it is really hard to stand out throwing hard kicks in FUTEN.  Okuba was fun in U-Style, but never that dynamic. These were hard, but we got Ikeda on deck. Solid stuff, but nothing which passes the high bar FUTEN sets.

Kengo Mashimo vs. Rui Hiugaji

ER: I thought this was pretty great until we hit a sort of amusing rough patch down the finishing stretch, but even that was redeemed by how both men handled it. Mashimo is a total legend in Futen and throws some deadly kicks and knees, really feels like this is headed towards being a Futen squash. Then Hiugaji catches a leg and drops into a kneebar, and suddenly we have an opening. Mashimo does a real nice job of selling his leg, and we get a couple cool moments where he's in the middle of a kick flurry only to have his knee buckle under him, allowing Hiugaji to pounce again. Both guys really try to take a couple years off the other with nasty brainbusters, Mashimo hits a killer Saito suplex, and Hiugaji pays him back later by absolutely launching Mashimo with a German suplex that flips him over and lands him right on his forehead!! My god!!! The awkwardness comes with Hiugaji takes an eternity to lock in a figure 4 (after seemingly getting confused by how to lock one in), and ends up locking in one of the weakest submissions ever seen in Futen. Mashimo redeems it by repeatedly pointing out his lousy application and laughing about how terrible Hiugaji's figure 4 is. The criticism was certainly warranted, and Mashimo took a potentially ugly situation and made it work. I liked Hiugaji's fighting spirit during the finish run, as Mashimo kept putting him down with high kicks and then standing by as Hiugaji fought slowly back to his feet. I wish Mashimo would have really put some extra mustard on the final couple kicks, but I liked the finish overall and dug what they did with the layout.

PAS: Mashimo was really great at throwing those thudding Hashimoto baseball bat wheel kicks to the stomach, and he hit a couple of nasty ones to the temple. I also dug his hooks to the ribs, I imagine Hiugaji had some really troubling urinations for the next week after this match. Hiugaji seemed a bit out of his element, I liked the german suplex, but that figure four was pretty embarrassing and he never delivered the heat he needed to, you got to hit a guy back if he is strafing you like that. It picked up at the ending, and got pretty fun, I agree with Eric if you are going to do a KO finish in FUTEN, you had really better come close to actually knocking your opponent unconscious, it's like doing a blood stoppage in lucha, that guy better need a transplant after the match.

Manabu Suruga vs. Makoto Hashi

ER: This was kind of a Futen version of a modern indy moves match, with more strikes trading than moves trading (but still some moves trading). Makoto Hashi is one of the weirder guys to come up through the AJPW system. He's a big lumpy boy with his waterbed body and hot dog lips and 1 minute haircut and hatred of foreheads, and he was always somehow the 4th man on the totem pole who also happened to headbutt people. Futen really gave him the chance to open up and unleash violence, and he really comes off like a total sadist. Here's a match where he busts his own head open by swinging it as hard as he can at Suruga's forehead, repeatedly. They abandon the matwork fairly early in the match, and things take an entirely different turn when Hashi dumps Suruga brutally with a Ki Krusher type driver. The long home stretch is these two smacking each other, and Suruga really throws some of the sharpest and fastest kicks, blasting Hashi in the chest and legs, really swinging. He also weirdly overworked his punches, like he was some Lance Storm type who was going to verbally take pride in throwing punches that don't crack an egg, and it's weird because he's doing it to a man who broke open his own head smashing it against things. Fucking PUNCH that dude in the face!! I liked a lot of the strike breakdown here, and loved Hashi's backfists, these hard awful fists pounding right into Suruga's neck. This all felt like a more interesting version of the current New Japan bomb fests.

PAS: Hashi in FUTEN was such a shooting star, he had 16 matches there, and we only have seen five (and there are some killer stuff we haven't seen, Hashi vs. Ikeda, vs. Mashimo teamed with Mashimo vs. Ikeda/Ishikawa, looking at FUTEN results is a form of masochism). He arrived in FUTEN after years of NOAH undercard stuff where he was only sporadically featured, and made himself right at home, driving his lumpen head violently into the faces of fellow wrestlers. Hashi headbutts are more violent looking then the headbutts that put Shibata into a coma, it is really hard to watch in the best way. Suruga is very competent and is a great B-Side for a Hashi geek show. He really whips kicks into the knee and it does a great job of slowing the match down and injecting some real danger into the match. Great stuff, the kind of thing FUTEN did regularly but would dominate 2019 MOTY posts if it happened today.

Daisuke Ikeda/Katsumi Usuda vs. Yuki Ishikawa/Takeshi Ono

ER: It's crazy that this tag (and this show) has been just sitting out there not being reviewed on this site. This is another classic battle of violence, divided into 3 Acts: Ikeda and Ishikawa torturing each other, Ono and Usuda torturing each other, and the super amusing Act 3 that is just Ikeda and Ishikawa breaking up nasty submissions. Ikeda and Ishikawa have the weirdest friendship in wrestling. I mean, I assume they are friends. Is it more weird if we find out they hate each other, or if they're best friends for life? I love their dynamic (strong opinion there), love how Ikeda looks absolutely unbeatable for long stretches, and how Ishikawa is the ultimate punching bag who can turn things on an instant. Ikeda and Ishikawa is never not a fun mess, and I love our later period match-ups between them; both have this beleaguered, tired intensity, doing the dance again, Ishikawa eating leg kicks and doing his insane strategy of eating two kicks to the chest only to catch the third, Ikeda getting his joints bent horribly by kneebars. But I was really excited for the Ono/Usuda portions of this, loved the cold Terminator precision from Ono. Ono locks on submissions quicker than maybe any man in wrestling history. The way he quickly sweeps Usuda's legs and a split second later had both of Usuda's arms wrapped tightly behind his back was a thing of beauty, and I don't think I've ever witnessed a faster or more efficient octopus hold applied by anybody. Usuda lingers for a second and suddenly Ono just has every single limb tied up and being stretched in a different direction. Both guys keep getting locked into nasty holds, Usuda tying up a few awesome figure 4 leglocks, the most shootstyle figure 4s you've seen, and our home stretch is an absolute blast of comedy and violence. Ono and Usuda are locked in eternal kneebar struggle, and Ishikawa keeps trying to knock Usuda loose while Ikeda is knocking Ono loose. Neither man wants to break, but the older guys force them to, except for the times that these savages just keep holding on and refusing to break. Ishikawa is dropping knees on Usuda's head, Ikeda is headbutting Ono, neither one wants to break, and it's great. We get moments of Ishikawa and Ikeda looking at each other while their wards are giving each other knee injuries for life, like "what more can we do here? We raised monsters!" It was the kind of tilt we don't usually get in these wars, and I thought it worked great.

PAS: This felt like a parejas match with normal partners Ikeda and Ono and Ishikawa and Usuda which was an interesting twist on this matchup. The main dance partners were still Ikeda vs. Ishikawa and Usuda vs. Ono and they were all some great dances. FUTEN tag matches usually build to these long one on one battles of attrition, surprisingly Ikeda vs. Ishikawa was used at the set up battle to the final stretch of Ono vs. Usuda. The Ikeda vs. Ishikawa sections were unsurprisingly stellar, with both guys hurling horrid abuse at the other. The final Usuda vs. Ono waltz was great too, a great mix of slick submissions and big KO shots. I loved their first exchange with Usuda trying for the Fujiwara Boston crab counter, and Ono just stomping him right in the head. Usuda was able to find openings to slip in and crank submissions, while Ono would throw them on with blistering speed. Ikeda and Ishikawa would just wander in and break submissions in the nastiest way possible, at one point Ikeda headbutts Ono right in the back of his head to break up a submission, Ishikawa is dropping shin bone to the nose kneedrops. It has to totally suck to lock on a submission in a FUTEN tag. Every one of these matches is a treasure.


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE DAISUKE IKEDA

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Monday, November 13, 2017

Do Your Best To Present Yourself to Yoshiaki Fujiwara as a Work With No Need to Be Ashamed Rightly Handling the Word of Truth

Yoshiaki Fujiwara vs. Satoru Sayama Rikidozan Memorial 3/11/00 - GREAT

PAS: This is worked more like a Fujiwara v. Karate guy mixed match, which is always a fun match up. Sayama was basically all tubby spin kicks. Fujiwara was awesome in aggressively taking Sayama down, basically Sayama would throw big kicks and Fujiwara would absorb or dodge the kicks until he could grab a single or double leg and drag Sayama down into a submission. Sayama would drag himself to the ropes and get stood up and we would restart. The match came down to whether Fujiwara could tap him before Sayama knocked him out. The finish was a super brutal ankle pick which felt like a finish. Sayama was a little tubby and rusty, and the match needed a more dramatic ending to put it up there with their classics against each other, but it was a fine addition to the canon.

Yoshiaki Fujiwara/Dan Kroffat vs. Mitsuya Nagai/Masahito Kakihara AJPW 12/6/00 - GREAT

PAS: This is a JIP match from the All Japan tag league, we get about 7 minutes of a 12 minute match. Really fun Fujiwara performance as one might expect. Early part of the match Fujiwara works almost like a heel manager, cheap shotting Nagai and Kakihara from the outside, including doing a figure four on the ringpost while Kroffat distracted the ref. Finish run was pretty great as both Nagai and Kakihara try to KO Fujiwara with kicks, and no one is better at selling and countering big then Fujiwara. Finish was a Fujiwara classic as he caught a Nagai kick and turned it into a leg catch armbar for the tap.

COMPLETE AND ACCURATE FUJIWARA

Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!

Sunday, February 05, 2017

Accept Ikeda as He's Not and That's a Shitfit

Daisuke Ikeda v. Mitsuya Nagai BattlArts 1/30/00- FUN

Nagai is a an ex-RINGS guy and isn't great, but had his moments over the years as a crowbar. I am going to want to rewatch his Volk Han matches, to see if he can be carried to a great match, because this wasn't it. Nagai had some big thumping kicks which were the highlight here, but his legwork was pretty pedestrian, and instead of two big kickers throwing shots, both guys start climbing to the top for some reason. Silly to have a shootstyle match determined by who can hit their top rope move. I hadn't seem Ikeda use his flipping dropkick before, and it was fine that he kept that a one time move. There were some moments of violence, like you would expect from any Ikeda BattlArts match, but overall this was pretty disappointing.

COMPLETE AND ACCURATE IKEDA

Labels: , ,


Read more!

Sunday, August 07, 2016

Within Segunda Caida's Wheelhouse: FMW vs. UWF vs. Barbed Wire

Yoshihiro Takayama/Masakatsu Funaki/Takuma Sano/Mitsuya Nagai vs. Atsushi Onita/Ricky Fuji/NOSAWA Rongai/Raijin Yaguchi (No Rope Barbed Wire, FMW 6/21/16)


ER: I have no idea what this was, or who it was designed to appeal to, or...well I guess I just don't understand Japan. The cat is outta the bag. What would be the American equivalent to this? Maybe an old timers softball game, except when Ozzie Smith picks up a ball then Dave Winfield is allowed to punch him in the dick? This match feels one step removed from WWE including a clause in their Legends' Contract stating "We reserve the right to one day film a WWE Network reality show where you may be hunted for sport". Several of these guys had very respectable, high end careers. Funaki is a pioneer, Takayama had one of the great puro runs of my lifetime, Sano has had great matches spanning decades, just seems a weird and sad and weird match to even be taking place. Nagai is the lone UWF guy with the sense to show up in jean shorts and a t-shirt. Takayama, Funaki and Sano are all in their trunks and kickpads, looking older and confused, as if they were tricked into being there. I refuse to believe that Takayama still regularly wrestles for actual real promotions. He wrestles the way people think they remember brain damaged Terry Gordy wrestling. I don't think he was able to throw one kick without immediately losing his balance and stumbling backwards. Sano now weirdly resembles Bob Backlund in the face, and I would be greatly interested in seeing a 2016 Backlund/Sano match. I guarantee you by the end of the year I'll have watched good matches featuring older luchadors. NOSAWA looks the same as he always does, Ricky Fuji looks like old weird Gregg Allman, Yaguchi looks like glam Kabuki, and Onita still *looks* like a fucking rock star. Dude could be playing bass in Guitar Wolf for all I know. I do hope he plays bass better than he approximates pro wrestling though. This was about 10 minutes of guys trying not to touch barbed wire, caring mostly about seeing where the barbed wire was in relation to their person, instead of caring about throwing decent strikes. We got SOME decent strikes. Onita took a kick to the eye. Onita also took a couple whips into the wire. I actually thought Funaki was going to be crazy enough to go into the wire, but he reversed Onita into it. Takayama got slammed through a barbed wire board, Sano got hit with a chair and fully looked like he did not want to be there. Some brawling on the floor made up in spirit what it lacked in quality. Onita won with some sort of chickenwing choke on Sano that was so loosely applied that I did not realize he had a chickenwing choke on Sano. I thought he was holding him or something, so that another old FMW guy could inflict actual damage on him. This was a match with old FMW guys and old UWF guys and barbed wire for ropes. I am going to go ahead and assume that all puro is currently just like this.

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, March 06, 2014

Weep Not Behold the Lion of Judah Yoshiaki Fujiwara

Yoshiaki Fujiwara v. Steve Williams NJPW 10/27/88 - FUN

Really wished this was better, Fujiwara runs down to the ring and it looks like it is on, but it only kicks into gear in the last couple of minutes. Fujiwara has had some great matches with very limited amateur wrestlers, and Williams is far from limited, so there was really no reason for this to be this listless. I did like Dr. Death selling Fujiwara's hard head and the crazy cross body over the railing by Fujiwara was unexpected, but this wasn't the hidden gem it looks like on paper.

Yoshiaki Fujiwara/Yuki Ishikawa v. Mitsuya Nagai/Tatsumi Fujinami LEGEND 1/8/12 - GREAT

Lots of really nifty match ups in this match. Fujinami and Fujiwara always match up well and they have some really nice early match grappling. It really kicks however when Nagai tags in, he is a guy who can be unwatchable, but put him in with guys who throw heat, he can throw back. He and Ishikawa have a little Battlarts potato fest, and then Fujiwara does some awesome countering of his aggressive attacks, including Fujiwara's twisting monkey flip counter and his leg catch armbar which are two of my favorite spots of his. Finish was slightly flat as Ishikawa went down a bit easy, that is a guy who can eat some horrific shots, so I wasn't buying a running knee, plenty to love here though.


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE FUJIWARA


Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, September 30, 2011

FUTEN is For The Children, We Teach The Children. Puffy is good but FUTEN is the Best-Futen 11/24/10


Ryuji Hijikata v. Kazuki Okubo

These are two of more pedestrian FUTEN guys, and we got a solid if unmemorable undercard FUTEN match. We got some nice looking grappling, some stiff, but not FUTEN stiff kicks. Hijikata is a guy I remember enjoying in BattlArts, but he was kind of juniory with some kind of goofy no selling. They slapped each other for a while and Hijikata hit a suplex and a choke.

Mitsuya Nagai v. Madoka

Madoka is a Beiber haired hairless junior who has irritated me in previous FUTEN shows, Nagai is an ex-RINGS crowbar who almost killed Iziuka a decade ago. This was Nagai cracking the fuck out of Madoka which is exactly how it should be. Madoka didn't bug me that much here, and I actively liked how he sold Nagai's kicks. Finish felt a little flat as it felt they were building to something bigger.

Daisuke Ikeda v. Manabu Suruga

Just a brutal mauling, Ikeda is a threshing machine in this match, by the end of it Suruga's face looked like domestic abuse victim. Surgura was great in this, he was completely overwhelmed and brutalized, but he wanted to go out on his sword. He was winging bombs but in a really desperate frantic way. He hits about a third of them, although he lands some thudders including a couple of square hooks right to Ikeda's jaw, and a Reggie Roby punt which has Ikeda checking his jaw. Still it just temporarily slowed down Ikeda who was Vorheesian, the final beating was uncomfortable to watch. Ikeda is on top of Manabu landing square right hands right to his forehead and nose. At one point Suruga is lying on the mat clawing at Ikeda's leg like Connie Corleone when Carlo got mad. I am not sure if it is an EPIC match, but it is an EPIC spectacle.

Takeshi Ono v. Katsumi Usuda

Ono's amazing 2010 just keeps on rolling. This is our first taste of BattlArts guys returning to FUTEN, it has been a while, but this certainly not the first time Usuda and Ono have tangled and it is great to watch them do a dance. Really awesome workrate match, which had the intensity and pace of a Bantamweight MMA fight. Both guys knew the counters to each guys counter, and they were scrambling for holds and winging shots. It is hard to pull off this kind of back and forth shootstyle without it seeming like some bullshit NOAH juniors match, but these guys did it. The matwork was awesome, feeling like Benzedrine Fujiwara. Usuda was pulling out some sick counters, including a crazy reverse figure four, and Ono wasn't as slick, but in more of a frenzy. Finish was awesome with Ono missing a kick, Usuda grabbing a wastelock, and Ono just spinning around into an Octopus which he took to the ground and pulled Usuda apart like a crab leg. Total blast, everything you would want from this match, maybe the FUTEN singles of the year.

Kengo Mashimo v. Makoto Hashi

A solid back and forth main event between two good wrestlers, but doesn't having the sickening violence or breathtaking technique of previous two matches. Mashimo focuses on landing kicks, and lands some nice ones, while Hashi works headbutts and backfists. There are some crackers, but nothing at the level of Nowitski specials Hashi has thrown in other FUTEN matches. Pretty much houseshow FUTEN, I enjoyed it fine, but even after watching it a couple of times it didn't do anything to stand out.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, January 28, 2011

ON GUARD I'LL LET YOU TRY MY FUTEN STYLE - Futen 7/25/10

You can pick this up from

damian1488@hotmail.com

This is the best overall of the three shows, even with missing Ikeda

Manabu Suruga vs Kazuki Okubo

Fun match with Okubo in his traditional role of fired up youngster. Suruga was great in the veteran role, he dominates early establishing his role, and when Okubo does get a run of offense, he sells his ass off and you really buy into the possibility of a big upset. The cross armbreaker he wins with really feels like a desperation hold, like Suruga thought to himself "fuck I am in real trouble I had better take this kid out."

Taro Nohashi vs Peace Man

Peace man is one of those weird Japanese comedy gimmicks which I am not culturally able to understand. Match itself had some nice moments, there is a baseline with Futen matches. The work is usually going to be stiff enough and make enough sense, that it won't fall below a certain point.

Koichiro Kimura vs Makoto Hashi

Another good Hashi match, as he seems to beat Kimura into giving a shit. Hashi plays underdog here as well as he played overdog in his Hiugaji match. Kimura is really violent here, laying in some vicious stomps in the corner and unleashing a zit poppingly tight neck crank. Short match but intense and fun.

Takahiro Oba/Brahman Shu/Brahman Kei vs Tamon Honda/Kengo Mashimo/Ryuichi Sekine

My favorite of the Brahman matches and they are starting to grow on me. It is pretty cool how Oba's shtick works just as well as dickish heel stuff as it works as babyface spots. He and Mashimo work a lot of the same spots they worked in their singles matches, with the face/heel switched and it still was good shit. Sekine takes the beating again and the heels are great at kicking his ass, and he gets his ass kicked. Honda is great when he is in, but isn't in enough, I did love the duel German suplexes with Mashimo. Fun finish run and this is a match I could see non-shoot fans digging a bunch too.

Takeshi Ono vs Mitsuya Nagai

Great singles match, and another amazing performance by Ono, who really cemented himself in my eyes as one of the best wrestlers in the world. Nagai is a flawed wrestler, but he is a great crowbar and he is brutal here, just beating the hell out of the smaller guy. Ono has brought a knife to a gunfight and just great taking a beating and selling absolute desperation. He starts out trying to go toe to toe with Nagai but gets overwhelmed, and by the end all he is left with is desperately diving for submissions, only to see Nagai shrug them off and lay in a bigger beating. Some of the elbows from the top Nagai was landing looked as violent as Wanderlei Silva elbows, nothing is pulled in Futen. Ono somehow grabbing the octopus felt like watching a real amazing sports comeback. I think this is a little behind the May tag, but is another killer Futen drop. Man someone has to get their back catalogue, I need to see ever match they have ever run.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Saturday, January 22, 2011

FUTEN KILLER BEES, WE ON A SWARM - Futen 5/30/10

Max Lanicault got in 3 COUNT THEM 3 Futen shows and I got them all, bizarrely we only get one Ikeda match in the batch, but there is plenty other good looking stuff. Max is cheap so email him at

damian1488@hotmail.com

if you want it, and you want it.

Shoichi Uchida vs Kazuki Okubo

Pretty basic undercard singles match except with the stiffness dialed up to 11 Futen style. So slaps and kicks, with all the slaps and kicks landing with bad intentions. These shows are filmed in almost a Black Terry Jr. super close up handheld style which really accentuates the violence. Finish was really great with Uchida hitting almost an Oklahoma Stampede Northern Lights bomb, top rope dropkick to the next and then a crossface choke. Okubo fights to the ropes almost gets the break, before Uchida torques back on the neck for the tap. I really liked the way they teased a near fall, but ended up just ending the match.

Makoto Hashi vs. Rui Hiugaji

I have never seen Hiugaji before (and he doesn't show up again) but he is a guy who knows he is in Futen. Just a disgusting violent match, they have some breathtakingly stiff and fast exchanges in this match. At one point Hiugaji rears back and lands an overhand right full force into Hashi's throat, another time Hashi hits a spinning back fist to the back of Hiugaji's head. Hashi was doing a lot of countering and absorbing, as Hiugaji would go on these flurries and Hashi would kick back in the pocket, block, dodge and counter. It was a really great Fujiwaraish/Bernard Hopkinish performance by Hashi. Hiugaji is so aggressive he ends up punching himself out and Hashi ends up sinking in the choke. Great match

Brahman Shu/Brahman Kei vs. Tamon Honda/Hajime Moriyama

The Brahmans are ex-Toryuman and don't really feel like they belong in this fed, working a kind of generic juniors tag style. There was some nice scrambling between a Brahman and Moriyama early, but that was the only thing either Brahman did which impressed me. Honda is always great although there really wasn't enough of him. He works like kind of a monster as he dominates the action when we get to see him. The Brahman's win with a KO kick on Moriyama which was preposterously weak compared to most of the kicks in this fed. This is Futen son, if you are going to win with a kick, you had better win with a kick.

Mitsuya Nagai vs. Taro Nohashi

A squash with Nagai working as Big John Studd. Nohashi tries to bodyslam him and fails, ect. Nothing to see here.

Takahiro Oba/Takeshi Ono vs. Kengo Mashimo/Manabu Suruga

Tremendous match which may even be better then the great 2009 Futen tag. Right up there with PARK v. Mesias and the best IWRG matches from 2010. Mashimo and Surgura are bad asses in this laying in big time beatings on Oba and Ono who are both great at selling nasty shots, and are super charismatic fighting back. Ono is really well known for being a smirking douchebag, and it is shocking how great he is as a guy on an apron ralling his partner, or a guy taking a big beting. I really enjoyed Mashimo in this as he would exchange and then get sick of it, and just grab his opponent and hurl them to the side, he also laid in with some really thudding kicks. Some of the coolest selling of the year from Ono and Oba there are multiple moments of facial selling which I actually verbally marked out for. There is a great moment where Ono takes a German suplex into the turnbuckle and his eyes rolls up in his head and he slightly shakes, while trying to punch his legs to get feeling in them. Finish run is just Ono and Suruga in your traditional Ikeda v. Ishikawa role, where their partners clear out and they just go after each other, 15th round in Manila style. Ono lands some of the best uppercuts I have ever seen in wrestling, and the finish is a fucking finish.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, October 15, 2009

FUTEN- 4/9/09

PAS: MOTHERFUCKING FUTEN

TAKA Michinoku vs Shoichi Uchida

TKG: Hey it’s a TAKA match with no superkicks. This is our first taste of Futen. Stylisitically it is worked as a basic undercard indy juniors match with no rope running and a bit more matwork. While there was no rope running, there still was lots of running offense. I don’t think I’ve seen Uchida before, and TAKA does a yeoman’s job of selling for his power offense and lots of really loose crossfaces. I can’t imagine wanting to watch Uchida v a guy who can’t sell as well as TAKA.

PAS: Yeah I didn’t get much of a sense of Uchida, but he didn’t do a ton for me. Most of the match was worked around Uchida’s crossface and TAKA’s facelock. I guess you don’t need a really tight crossface to buy it as a finish in 2009, but it had the look of a Helmsely crossface.

Kengo Mashimo vs Shinjitsu Nohashi

TKG: I was kind of expecting more Mashimo stiffness. Surprisingly, Nohashi was the guy who brought more stiffness to the table for the body of the match. Nohashi had some nasty face stomps and running headbutts. Got the sense that these guys have a touring match worked out and instead of doing something different here, just tried to force it in.

PAS: You don’t expect the midget Shinzaki to be the guy laying it in, but his stomps were by far the highlight of the match. I do prefer these kind of modified Indy juniors matches to whatever Keita Yano is supposed to be doing in BattlArts undercards, but it isn’t anything special.

Mitsuya Nagai & White Moriyama vs Shu Sato & Kei Sato

TKG: Nagai hasn’t had a good match in ages and he looked like complete crap running in for his hot tag fired up offense. Thankfully he wasn’t in this match much. I kind of liked White Moriyama here as his offense was good looking and he was good at working the face in peril role. The Satos are odd in that their stuff can either look super super gentle or absolutely nasty with no middle ground.

PAS: Moriyama comes in with a bandage on his face, and by the first couple of minutes it gets kicked off, and you see a nasty gash on his cheek. It nicely adds to the violence of the Sato’s kicks. I really liked the early Moriyama mat work, he had really fast amateur rides. The Sato’s were pretty good at bringing their indy shtick and working it in this environment, they landed a really stiff top rope dropkick for example.


Koichiro Kimura vs Hayato Jr Fujita

TKG: This was mostly Fujita bringing it to Kimura with Kimura occasionally catching and twisting the fuck out of Fujita. I don’t remember Kimura working like this before. He sold Fujita’s stuff well and when he put him in a sub they were some of the most twisting dislocating subs you’ll see in pro wrestling. I especially liked the half crab he put n for a near fall in the middle of match.

PAS: Fujita is a guy who I have really enjoyed in the past, but he seemed to be pulling his kicks a bit. Kind of weird thing to be doing in Futen of all places. The violence of Kimura’s submission made up for the lack of violence in the strikes though.


Daisuke Ikeda & Takeshi Ono vs Manabu Suruga & Takahiro Oba

TKG: So the thing with Hara is he’s always been a guy who doesn’t sell on the level of the top level BattlArts guys. But here he is really spectacular in role of underdog babyface. I mean this is the best I can ever remember Hara looking. I don’t know what really to make of Oba. He’s really charismatic and has lots of awkward ogreish offense. Not sure if he’s over in a legit Rufus R Jones way or in a more ironic Hack Myers way. But his stuff amused me. But for lots of this it didn’t feel like it mattered who the faces were. As this was just a spectacular Ikeda/Ono as MX performance where they whipped out all their shit allowing both faces to work long in peril section. Ono for a guy who I haven’t seen in forever was as nasty and disdainful as I remember him.

PAS: Just a totally spectacular match. Ono and Ikeda are an amazing heel tag team, like a super violent Anderson brothers as they spend much of the match isolating each guy and murdering them. Ikeda is so great at stopping people from making saves, when Ono is torturing Oba, Ikeda and Suruga(Hara) have this mini Greco pummeling brawl while Hara tries desperately for a save. The finish run with Ikeda and Suruga is as great as any Ikeda v. Ishikawa struggle. They have this spectacular finishing punch section, which combines a violent BattlArts punch exchange with a almost Lawler v. Mantel fatigue war. I don’t remember seeing Oba before, and he had some super goofy shit, but in some way it worked well. He kind of kept throwing himself at the heels in weird way, including smashing Ikeda in the face with his taint. And don’t forget about fuckin Ono who was as huge a cunt as he was ten years ago. He may have been the best guy in the match, stomping, kicking and twisting guys in pretzels. I am going to want to watch it again, but it feels on first watch like the 2009 MOTY.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!