Segunda Caida

Phil Schneider, Eric Ritz, Matt D, Sebastian, and other friends write about pro wrestling. Follow us @segundacaida

Friday, November 09, 2018

New Footage Friday: Spoiler, Jose Lothario, El Halcon, Mark Lewin, Baba, Robley, Kawada, Misawa, Hase, Sasaki

Spoiler/Mark Lewin vs. El Halcon/Jose Lothario Houston Wrestling 6/1/79

ER: A decent minimalist punch and kick affair that is short, but takes awhile to get rolling, and ends with a bunch of great mayhem. The low point comes fairly early as Halcon does just about the world's slowest hot tag somersault I've ever seen to get to Lothario. It was a comically slow somersault. When Ricky Morton eventually hot tag somersaults into the grave, it will be faster than this one. I'm sure Phil has seen his kid do a faster somersault at baby gymnastics. I think he may have been doing it purposely slow because someone may have been out of position...but the effect was not great. The match never ramps up to high from there, but it chugs along nicely. Spoiler and Lewin both acted afraid of hot babyface Lothario, who bleeds and punches away to loud reaction. There's a great moment where Spoiler keeps running into fists from Lothario while Lothario is on the apron. Spoiler feels like one of the great stooges, which is amusing due to his size. But he and Lewin are a fun sneaky punch tag team, and the finish is a blast as Lewin starts twisting the turnbuckle loose on the top rope, freeing it to use as a weapon, leading to the top rope going limp as more bodies flood the ring.

PAS: I was excited to see Halcon, who is a lucha legend we don't have much footage on, but this wasn't much of a showcase for him. This was really Lothario doing his awesome Lothario thing, he comes in with a pressure bandage on his head which is alway exciting to see, and he takes a big time walloping from Lewin and Spoiler. I love Lewin's overhand chops to the head, he looks like he is breaking boards in a Tae Kwon Do class, and Spoiler has really cool forearms. We get to see Lothario, sell, bleed and fire back and he is great at all of it. Finish was a lot of fun with Lewin unscrewing the top rope and trying to use the buckle bolt, but Halcon getting it from him and swinging it like a club. This never hit the levels of the all time great Lothario matches, but it was a good showcase of what he does well.

MD: In 2018, every new Houston match is a treasure. Every new Lothario match is a treasure. Look, we have context with this. This was the night Gran Markus came in to be Gino's heater. We have these matches. We have the two of them breaking up. We have some of the Americas Tag Title matches before and after this. This isn't just some random throwaway minimalist match, it's one more piece of a puzzle where NWAonDemand had already given us parts of it.

The match itself was generally good. I thought Halcon was a step slow, which only matters because he was doing things that you can't be a step slow for. Spoiler is always amazing, twenty years before his time, the mix of size and just sheer oppression off the second ropes. Lewin serves his purpose (woundwork is down his alley) and Jose is that center of gravity, bleeding and building up glorious anticipation for when his fist will hit someone's skull. I agree that this doesn't hit the peaks of certain other matches, but watch the crowd at the end. They'd disagree with us, certainly.

So thanks to Roy Lucier for posting these best of Houston Wrestling episodes. RIGHT after this match is an amazing PSA by Boesch about what to do if someone is following you on the highway. It's so great. Roy, I have no way of contacting you otherwise, so hopefully someone tosses this your way. It's nice you're uploading the NWAonDemand stuff now, but most of that is already elsewhere on youtube between a couple of accounts. Out of the 8-9 Best of Houston Wrestling shows you posted we came out with 2-3 new matches that we didn't get on the service, some older clipped footage, some promos, some commercials, some great Paul Boesch moments. All of that is way more valuable to the community than reposting the NWAonDemand matches again. If you have more of these episodes, please go back to posting them instead. Even if we come out with just a few more Houston matches we didn't have before, that's a boon. Thanks.



Giant Baba vs. Buck Robley AJPW 3/19/82

ER: I LOVED THIS!! This is the most WCW Saturday Night match in the history of King's Road. Buck Robley showing up in Japan and facing Giant Baba on his first day in town is like Bull Pain showing up on a taping facing Lex Luger on a sunny afternoon in front of vacationing Florida families wearing No Fear shirts, Big Johnson shirts, fanny packs, elastic waist band shorts, and square frame glasses. It is an indisputably perfect 150 seconds of professional wrestling and there's literally no argument you can make against that fact. Nobody within shouting distance of Korakuen thought Buck Robley had a snowball's chance against Baba that night, but Robley comes out of this whole thing looking like a total badass who beat the shit out of Baba before losing. Baba gives up offense to Robley as if Robley were Hansen, and Robley hits I think every part of Baba's head and neck with a strike: downward strike elbow to the head, chop to the Adam's apple, elbow to the cheekbone, punch to the underside of the chin, Robley was just putting a strike clinic on Baba's long dome. Baba was the best here, I fucking love fired up Baba, love him putting some mustard on his Baba chops, raining down on Robley's head and chest, and I thought it was cool how we got a show of Baba strength with his Irish whips. Robley was good at properly bumping for Baba, not overdoing it on the chops but stooging around great for all of them. Baba's Russian leg sweep looked like an impossible tangle of limbs, and Baba executes it really fast, then really slugs Buck with that big Baba boot. I would always love when Flair would show up on Worldwide and have a competitive match with Joey Maggs, and this felt like the best version of that.

PAS: This was a hell of a sprint, Robley came out knowing he had four minutes and was going to make it count. He comes in with his awesome "Nobody Calls Me Yellow" shirt looking like a backwoods hillbilly trying to gut someone with a rusty can lid. He unloads on Baba with these big forearm smashes to the head and neck, Baba looks simultaneously powerful and fragile, Robley's shots look like they are going to smash his bones and every Baba shot propels Robley back. That big boot feels like a finish and the post match Brody run in was appropriately chaotic (Brody is at his best in chaotic run-ins, then you don't have to watch him wrestle.)

MD: Robley in the states is always sort of hit or miss for me. In Japan, there's something outlandish and out of place to him that really works. Baba doesn't get nearly enough credit for how much he gives. I don't think he gets enough credit in general. He's Andre-like in that his very touch can destroy an opponent but also incredible capable of garnering sympathy, almost from his appearance alone. He could easily swallow the entirety of the space in any match he was in like an Inoki or Verne often does, but instead he understands how to reach the hearts of his audience, even while submerged in an environment where there's a real risk/fear to selling.

He gave Robley space to shine and Robley used it to the fullest, coming at him like an ornery honey badger. I've been watching a ton of these 1982 matches, but the image of Baba hanging upside down between the ropes and Robley battering him is going to stay with me even among all the noise. I bet it stayed with that crowd for a long time too.


Genichiro Tenryu/Hiroshi Hase vs. Toshiaki Kawada/Kensuke Sasaki AJPW 1/28/01

PAS: This is from the 2001 AJPW Dome show, and was only recently available outside of clips. AJPW post Misawa and pre-Muto was basically WAR, and this was a WAR style slugfest. It was four big stars beating the bricks off of each other, Sasaki blistering chests with chops, Tenryu punching people square in the jaw and toe kicking folks in the eye, Kawada throwing thick thudding kicks to the chest and Hase hitting as hard as I have ever seen him hit. It feels a little like a super violent exhibition then a match with a ton of build and story. We never really had anyone take an extended beating or a super progression to the end, but man it is hard not to enjoy Kawada and Tenryu trying to cave each others face in, or Sasaki slapping his good buddy Hase hard directly in the ear.

MD: We all have the things we go for. While I can meet certain matches half way, this wasn't for me. There's a period in the middle where Kawada and Sasaki have an extended period of control on Hase. I'd call it a real peril or heat segment, though there wasn't really that sort of face/heel divide. Hase's comeback attempts mainly consist of attempting the same sort of strike exchanges that litter the match, but losing each one because he's increasingly hurt and beat down. I thought the way he portrayed that, with increasing desperation and pride, but also decreasing levels of success, was actually pretty excellent and easily the best part of this match. Otherwise, this was just guys beating on each other without rhyme or reason. I'm a lot happier watching that for ten minutes than twenty-five.


Labels: , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, November 08, 2018

Jose Lothario Wished He Weighed a Thousand Pounds, So He Could Crush All Those Bullies and Demons Down

Jose Lothario vs. Tonga John WCCW 11/19/83 - FUN

PAS: Tonga John is the future Barbarian and it is interesting to watch him this early. He is pretty much a punch and kick guy at this point, and you don't want to try to punch it out with Jose Lothario, even at this point. This was very much an opening match on a TV card with all that entails, but Jose threw some really great looking hooks and even went up top twice, once with an axhandle, once with the bombs away to win. Lothario still looked great at this point, and if Tonga John had a little of the seasoning he was going to get, I could see this theoretically being a banger but in actuality it was more of a curiosity.

Jose Lothario vs. Jim Cornette WWF Mind Games 9/22/96 - FUN

ER: This match is only 1 minute and basically worked like the Bossman/Heenan matches a few years prior, with Cornette's lumpy body elegantly squeezed into tights, talking trash before the match (loved him shoving Finkel as he grabbed the mic away) until Lothario comes out to shut him up. Cornette naturally gets no offense, it's all Lothario haymakers and that downward chop to Cornette's nose. Cornette is a really great stooge bumper, we've seen dozens of enhancement guys over the years who couldn't put over an opponent this well. I do wish Lothario would have laced into Cornette on his final two punches. They were worked well but thrown too open handed. But I liked Lothario decking him with a right and thinking about going for the pin, but then calling for one more and decking him with a left. It's so weird that this PPV had a Vader/Sid match as a dark match, but aired this. I'm glad they did, but it's gotta be a major sign of Michaels' pull with Vince. I mean who at home was buying this PPV for Lothario/Cornette when Vader/Sid could have been on the table?

PAS: Obviously not a ton to write about a 90 second match, but Cornette is a really athletic bumper for a guy who looks like he doesn't have an ounce of athleticism, and Lothario still threw a mean punch into his 60s.. We got to see all the variations, the right, the left and the uppercut and Cornette took them all like a champ.


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE JOSE LOTHARIO

Labels: , ,


Read more!

Wednesday, November 07, 2018

Jose Lothario Has Scrapes to Prove, Proves it Was He Who Fell

Jose Lothario/Shawn Michaels vs. Jim Cornette/Vader WWE Raw 9/23/96 - GREAT

ER: You knew this was going to mostly be a Vader/Michaels match, but it's a pretty fascinating anomaly that they would even put Lothario in the ring. This was before they were frequently using AARP members in the main events of shows, so seeing an old guy main eventing Raw was more odd in 1996. The show isn't even in San Antonio, it's in Pennsylvania, so it's odd they'd choose this show to have Lothario in a match at all, but the crowd is hot throughout. Cornette knows what he's doing and comes out in a Vader red lycra top and is great on the apron throughout, while Vader is mugging Michaels. Vader was great in this, squishing Michaels with avalanches and throwing big headbutts, even does a couple of fun almost lucha teases: setting up Michaels for the Vader Bomb and teasing crowd reaction by acting as if he's thinking about going to the top rope and then waving them off. Michaels' offense still looks below Vader, but it's alarming how much better it actually looks than the Michaels offense we grew accustomed to a decade later. It helps that '96 Michaels moved fast, so at minimum was running into Vader with some speed and force, and we got a big moment where he went for a fast crossbody with Vader ducking out of the way, sending Michaels into a big bump over the top to the floor. We also got a great moment where Vader ducked the superkick and just leveled him with an awesome left arm clothesline for a convincing nearfall. 


The Lothario hot tag was short but sweet, with Cornette tagging in first with the advantage, but squandering that advantage by shadowboxing with Vader. Michaels gets to Lothario and the crowd reacts big, and Cornette reacts big. Lothario drops Cornette with a couple punches, then Lothario smacks him downward over his nose and Cornette takes a big comical back bump. I was going to type how it was great seeing an old non-wrestler like Cornette bumping big for Lothario, but then I realized that Cornette in this match was younger than I am now, and it just made me melancholy. Also, annoyingly, Lothario just completely disappears after his hot tag. Not just that he isn't in the match again, but I don't think the camera even showed him again. Vader got the win and then Sid ran in, and by this point Lothario may as well have been backstage. But this whole thing was good. And kind of weird. It was good and kind of weird that they did this.

PAS: I would have liked to see more of the Cornette vs. Lothario stuff, even though this had a bunch of big Vader vs. Michaels main event exchanges, I enjoyed the sideshow stuff the most. Cornette coming in and working the mitts with Vader was a great bit of heel horseshit (although Vader could have moved the mitts a bit, let Jimmy work on his combos), as was Cornette swinging for Michaels' legs with the racket, only for Shawn to jump over it like Super Mario. The brief Lothario in ring stuff was fun, he still had a great punch and Cornette bumped like Jim Cornette, I will have to check out their singles match for sure. Vader looked like Vader in this, wailing on Shawn in the corner, beheading him with a clothesline and smashing him and pinning him clean. Michaels takes some bumps and flies around the ring well, but I have a hard time buying him denting Vader at all. Still this was exciting television wrestling.


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE JOSE LOTHARIO

Labels: , , ,


Read more!

Tuesday, November 06, 2018

Jose Lothario Fades Like Vapors You Actual Traitors

Jose Lothario vs. Gino Hernandez Houston Wrestling 1/9/79 - EPIC

PAS: Lothario who passed away earlier today was probably best known as the trainer of Shawn Michaels, but he was an absolutely tremendous professional wrestler, one of the great 80s babyface brawlers we have footage of. This match was one of his masterpieces, a gritty bloody brawl with both guy bumping huge, spraying blood, flying into the cage and throwing big hard powerful blows. Lothario was a great puncher, with each shot being dramatic and landing with a thud, he also threw a bunch of different versions, jabs, over hand rights and lefts, and nice side hooks. Every fall ending was violent, including Lothario nearly ripping Hernandez's arm off. I loved the final fall, with Gino hurling Lothario tailbone first into the turbuckle post violently, and coming off like such a badass surviving this kind of war. Great stuff and it is a minor tragedy that so much of this stuff is being held hostage by dollar store Layne Staley.


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE JOSE LOTHARIO

Labels: ,


Read more!

Thursday, February 02, 2017

Jose Lothario Never Thought He'd Plot a Course for Failure This Long

Jose Lothario/Alberto Madril v. Dick Murdoch/Killer Brooks Houston 3/31/78 - GREAT

PAS: This is a 2/3 falls match for the Texas tag titles and is 3/4ths awesome. Lothario v. Murdoch isn't a huge part of this match, but is predictably spectacular every time it happens, and Madril is great as both face in peril and hot tag during different points of the match. Madril isn't a guy I have seen a ton of, but here his awesome punches stand out in a match that also has Dick Murdoch and Jose Lothario in it. We had a great build and an awesome finish run with Madril hitting a great football tackle on an interfering Gary Hart right before the pin. Unfortunately Killer Brooks is a perpetual turd in a punchbowl, he just looks so ineffectual and weak when he is the match. His punches are lame, his stomps look like they wouldn't pop packing peanuts and he can't bump. If Murdoch had a replacement level partner, this would be an EPIC for sure, Killer Brooks ain't that.

Jose Lothario v. Kamala WCCW 9/25/88 - SKIPPABLE

PAS: On paper this looks like a cool match, but it was pretty much a Kamala squash, with Kamala getting DQ'ed after bloodying up Jose. If this led to a blow off match it could be a cool angle, but I am guessing it was just used to put over Kamala.

Labels: , , , ,


Read more!

Saturday, September 03, 2016

Punch Jose Lothario Harder, Make Him Feel It

Jose Lothario v. Great Mephisto NWA Houston 1/18/74- FUN

This is a Brass Knuxs title match, which means that Lothario can throw hands. Mephisto has got quite a bag of tricks, he has a muslim prayer run gimmick, burkaed valet, loaded boot, the whole cheap heat casserole. Not much of a wrestler, but a lot of entertaining shtick. Lothario blows him out in the first fall, unloading awesome looking punches, busting open Memphisto, 10-8 round for sure. Mephisto gets a bit of an advantage in the second fall with Lothario taking a monster bump to the floor and Mephisto loading his orthopedic book. Third fall is more back and forth with Lothario selling a broken rib or punctured lung from the loaded kicks. I would have gone higher on this if Mephisto's stuff looked better, this was a great Lothario performance, but relatively one sided.


COMPLETE AND ACCURATE JOSE LOTHARIO


Labels: , ,


Read more!

Tuesday, December 08, 2015

Jose Lothario Levels that House and Ties a Rope to the Back of the Bus

Jose Lothario/Hacksaw Jim Duggan vs. Chavo Guerrero/Hector Guerrerro NWA Houston 4/6/84 - GREAT

Super fun heated tag match with Duggan and Lothario walking tall and tossing the Guerrero's all over the ring. Lothario and Duggan are both awesome guys at bumping around heels, and the Guerrerros are spectacular bumping and stooging heels, each Guerrero brother must have been back body dropped out of the womb they are so great at taking them. We get some fun knee work on Duggan when he missed a big knee drop, and a screwy finish which sets up the next match. Lothario was mostly there to throw his big left hook and be charismatic, both of which he does in spades. Very fun stuff.

COMPLETE AND ACCURATE JOSE LOTHARIO

Labels: , , , ,


Read more!

Tuesday, December 01, 2015

Complete and Accurate Jose Lothario


Jose Lothario is best known as Shawn Michaels' mentor in a 1995 WWF angle, but with the release of the NWA 24/7 Classics footage he is looking like a hidden legendary brawler. There is so much cool Houston footage to sift through, and hopefully I will find some non-Houston gems floating around the internet. Like always matches are ranked EPIC, GREAT, FUN and SKIPPABLE

1974

Jose Lothario v. Great Mephisto  Houston 1/18/74 - FUN

1978

Jose Lothario/Alberto Madril v. Dick Murdoch/Killer Brooks Houston 3/31/78 - GREAT

1979

Jose Lothario vs. Gino Hernandez Houston 1/9/79 - EPIC
Jose Lothario/El Halcon vs. Spoiler/Mark Lewin Houston 6/1/79 - GREAT

1983

Jose Lothario vs. Tonga John WCCW 11/19/83 - FUN

Labels: ,


Read more!

Jose Lothario is Working, but he is Not Working for You Slack Motherfucker

Jose Lothario v. Black Gordman NWA Houston 1/13/84 -EPIC

I loved this, I described this to Eric as the worlds greatest Eddie Marlin v. Tommy Gilbert match. Two badass old guys with awesome punches making each other bleed. Gordman jumps Lothario at the bell and busts him open with a chain, and from their it is all old dudes throwing hambones, Lothario is awesome, he is pretty much all punches, but he has a bunch of different punches including a fun hook and a big bolo uppercut, and he knows how to time everything right. Gordman has this huge rep, and while he is clearly in the twilight, he still has a presence.



Labels: ,


Read more!

Tuesday, September 29, 2015

Digging in the Crates Podcast #4

Will returns for a special all NWA Classics 24/7 episode of the show.

Digging in the Crates #4


We talk about Andre v. Harley, Fantastics v. Midnight Express, Jose Lothario v. Hecto Guerrero and JYD v. Butch Reed chain match. If you haven't subscribed to NWA Classics, what are you waiting for???

NWA CLASSICS 24/7

Labels: , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Wednesday, August 12, 2015

MLJ Palette Cleanser: Jose Lothario vs Black Gordman

1984-1-13 @ Houston, TX
Black Gordman vs Jose Lothario (nwaclassics.com)

I'm calling this fair game. As best as I can tell (and I could be wrong), Lothario worked Arena Mexico in the 50s, as Gran Lothario, including being the guy who Medico Asesino beat for the National Heavyweight Championship. Gordman had been around years before but was hanging around in Mexico shortly before this as a version of Bestia Roja, losing his mask to Solitario. Of course, Lothario was a Texas mainstay, one of the real stars of the state for decades. Gordman was huge in California, especially teamed with Great Goliath. We don't have a ton of footage of either guy, I don't think, which is one reason why this was so cool.

With Lothario, the sheer amount of footage is one of the best things that have come out of the NWA Classics service. We're seeing him both in the 70s (like the Mascaras tag vs the Funks) and in the 80s (including his feuds with Landell and the Guerrero) and he's stood out far more than I expected. To most fans he's either that vaguely unknown guy who was carted out by Michaels in the 90s and demolished by Sid, or someone with a terrible reputation due to Gary Hart's book. From what I've seen so far, he was pretty great. It helps that he was super over in Houston, but he backed it up with a sort of Memphis minimalism, taking damage and firing back at key moments, charging up the hope spots for the eventual pay off the comeback and then, generally, a pretty severe beating of the heel he's facing to the crowd's delight.

That was certainly the case here, and this was even more Memphis than most. Gordman rushed in right at the beginning, attacking Lothario while he was still on the apron and slamming him into the post both with Lothario on the apron and on the floor. He played king of the mount for a minute until Jose could punch his way back in, infuriated, but took back control with a hidden chain-assisted punch to the gut. Lothario sold it big and the crowd was incensed. From there, they worked it forward, with Jose coming back but the punch equalizing over about two-three exchanges in total, with Gordman less and less able to make it work, until Lothario was able to get the chain; the place absolutely exploded but after one shot, Gordman went flying out delaying and prolonging the satisfaction of it all.

By this point, really just five or six minutes into the match, both wrestlers had bladed but it didn't feel like overkill at all. Due to the sheer focus of the match, everything felt warranted and it took the crowd on a short rocket ride. They finished up by brawling on the floor and back inside, both wrestlers shoving the referee away to lead to the DQ. Gordman retreated again, coming back with a chair but Lothario is just too much. Finally, the ref, acknowledging that he'd thrown the match out, stepped out of the way. Gordman, though, decided to head for the hills thus deferring any sort of real resolution to the next match which I'm pretty sure was a Mexican Death match.

Great functional, heated wrestling. Phil put it as worth about $2.50 of the $8.99 monthly price and that sounds about right to me.

Labels: , , ,


Read more!

Monday, August 10, 2015

NWA Classics Price Tag Reviews #5

Andre the Giant v. Stan "The Man" Stasiak 10/31/80 $1.00

Really fun short 2/3 falls match. First fall is all Staisiak bumping around for Andre and trying to work towards the heart punch. The first couple of times hit tried it Andre fired back with this huge thrust punch which looked like he almost beheaded him. Stasiak hits the heart punch and gets DQed for the first fall which felled the giant. Stasiak goes after him in the second fall but Andre counters and takes him out with a big splat. Really smartly worked fun stuff, all of this early Andre has been a gold mine.

Tully Blanchard v. El Bracero 12/11/81 $.25

Fun short match with Tully bumping around for Bracero's old school lucha goof spots, lots of mule kicks and arm drags. Would have liked to see Tully throw out a bit more offense, but this was a nifty little five minutes.

Jose Lothario v. Black Gordman 1/13/84 $2.50

I loved this, I described this to Eric as the worlds greatest Eddie Marlin v. Tommy Gilbert match. Two badass old guys with awesome punches making each other bleed. Gordman jumps Lothario at the bell and busts him open with a chain, and from their it is all old dudes throwing hambones, Lothario is awesome, he is pretty much all punches, but he has a bunch of different punches including a fun hook and a big bolo uppercut, and he knows how to time everything right.

Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!

Sunday, July 05, 2015

NWA Classics on Demand - Price Tag Reviews #3

Yesterday was $6.65 so far I am all in for 24/7

Jose Lothario v. Gino Hernandez 1979 - $2.00

This was a steel cage (called a fence match by Boesch) Texas death match. Bix mentioned this was available before, but I had never heard about it or seen it, so it was new to me. JIP after the first fall, but we get almost 20 minutes. Classic bloody 70s/80s cage match. Hernandez was a revelation, bumping, selling, bleeding and landing some big shots. Both guys were really good at milking drama out of 10 counts, Lothario is a simple wrestler but he has great expressiveness, awesome punches and pretty good old man bumping. I liked the finish a lot with Lothario going tailbone and spine first into the post, as a counter to a nasty neck crank. Felt like something which might paralyze someone, and definitely should have kept him down for 10. Great, great cage match, Gino is the guy who is going to get the biggest reputation boost from this footage.

Kerry Von Erich/Kevin Von Erich/Fritz Von Erich v. White Knight/Gary Hart/Dick Murdoch 1979 - $.50

Really fun match, 2/3 falls six man tag in two rings with one set of guy paired off in one ring, another in the second ring and one guy in the middle tagging out to either ring. Crazy match set up which I have never seen before. Really early Von Erich brothers, Kevin is wearing boots, and Kerry has shortish hair, this kind of chaotic match works really well to their style, they were always at their best at crazy sprints, and this match has lots going on. Murdoch is also really great at filling a match with cool little pieces of action. I absolutely loved all of the Murdoch and Fritz brawling, just two old badasses beating on each other, I imagine there was a classic singles match at some point. Unfortunately the match just cuts out without a finish, which is a total bummer, otherwise this was aces, but no finish is only worth a couple of quarters to me.

Dusty Rhodes v. Maniac Mark Lewin 1/7/79 $.75

Short bloody nasty little affair. It almost feels like a match made so Dusty would make the cover of seedy wrestling magazines, as two minutes in Dusty has a spiderweb of blood on his face and in his blond afro. Lewin does his best to win a bleeding contest too, as he is covered very quickly. They smash each other into posts and tables, and Lewin brings in a 2x4. Finish is great with Dusty bionic elbowing Lewin right in the brain stem, knocking him down for one more elbow and the pin. Could have used a couple of more minutes, but a treat to see an old fashioned clubberin from the American Dream

$9.90 so we are already over the pay wall, and I haven't watched either Flair v. Wahoo match yet.

Labels: , , , , , , , ,


Read more!