Segunda Caida

Phil Schneider, Eric Ritz, Matt D, Sebastian, and other friends write about pro wrestling. Follow us @segundacaida

Friday, June 23, 2023

Found Footage Friday: TIGER MASK~! DYNAMITE~! HOSHINO~! GAETANO~! DANIELSON~! SWIFT~! SAMOANS~! SANTANA~! PUTSKI~!

MD: Brief programming note here at Segunda Caida. Expect some disruptions over the next few weeks as we have some vacations and big life events coming up. As noted a few weeks ago we've done NFF/FFF every single week straight for five years. I can see that lapsing in the near future and we may miss a week here or there. Likewise with Panama. We have an awesome match for everyone next, something so good that it might be one of the top lucha trios of the 80s period. We'll get there soon. Plus there's another project coming later in the summer that I think people will enjoy, very on brand. So stick with us. Thanks for reading.


Tito Santana/Ivan Putski vs. Wild Samoans WWF 4/12/80

MD: If this actually had a finish, it'd be a pretty solid find. There are certain formulas in wrestling that always, always work. One of the best is a tag match where a guy gets taken out mid match and then comes charging back, taped up and bloody. That happened with Putski here and, like always, it was awesome, right until it wasn't when the ref called for an instant DQ. Then it was just sort of ok. The match up to that was fun though. Putski and Tito were the champs. I don't think Tito was quite there yet. He had fire but his stuff didn't fully back it up. He was well on his way though. Putski is probably a guy we have to dig deeper on given what we've seen lately. Under a certain definition of pro wrestling, he was lacking, but if you ask me, it's that definition that's lacking, not him. 

This is an aside, but I was talking to someone the other day who didn't think Buddy Rose's matwork was up to par with Fujinami's. He was comparing the two of them because they both end the 70s and start the 80s against a wide and varied range of opponents. Point being, there's matwork which is all about tight holds and complex reversals and then there's matwork that's about being active in a hold, making engaging facial expressions, using your body language to rouse the crowd, and creating an emotional effect. Probably the absolute best would be when both things happen at once, but if you got too far in either direction, you can create some unique magic despite it all, and that's exactly what Putski was able to do here just with a seated arm puller. 

This had a fun structure too, with the Samoans ambushing early and both teams playing the numbers game back and forth until they finally got some heat on Tito and Putski got a hot tag and the Hammer. It got broken up and he got opened up but it was a pretty complete match before they went into the high two-on-one struggle setting up Putski's return. It was a big moment when Tito helped Putski to the back and then rushed back into the ring to fight off both Samoans himself and a bigger one when Putski stormed back. It's just a shame they couldn't give this thing a real finish in front of a crowd in Landover, Maryland. What's the harm?


Tiger Mask/Kantaro Hoshino vs. Dynamite Kid/Bobby Gaetano NJPW 4/1/83

MD: This was on the road to the last Dynamite vs. Tiger Mask match. Gaetano is not someone we've written a lot about but he's a lot of fun to watch. Very unique in how he moves, how he comes at offense, how he balances technique and style. You know what you'll get with Tiger Mask and Dynamite, but it was the other pairings I found most interesting. There was a level of abrupt violence with Hoshino and Dynamite and that mix of over the top movement and grounded hanging on to a limb when Tiger Mask and Gaetano were in there. The match did feel somewhat like it was building to a clash between Dynamite and Tiger Mask, with both having a chance mid-match to dominate their rival's partner. It opened up to heat when Dynamite came in to save Gaetano in the midst of that and then built to an eventual recovery comeback from Hoshino two tags later. Maybe my favorite bit in all of this was when Tiger Mask got a tag mid-heat and Gaetano wanted out quickly and Dynamite wanted nothing to do with it. Those little moments of character go a long way in a match that leans towards being all action.



Bryan Danielson vs. Dave Swift (Cage Match) ECCW 9/29/01

MD: As cage matches go, this was a match that happened to be in a cage. Past a couple of nods to the escape possibility (pinfalls counted too) over the last couple of minutes, it didn't come into play at all. It came into play less than it did in Luger vs. Windham from the 91 Bash, and that's saying something. That sort of follows Danielson's attitude here, so it's ok. The match itself was okay. Swift had a ton of 01 indy power offense and it all looked ok and Danielson took it well. Danielson's kicks weren't quite what they would be and his top rope elbow drop was dubious but the forearm/elbow he won with looked like a million bucks. The best stuff, however, was Danielson's histrionics, whether it was an eyepoke or hanging on to the ropes as Swift was trying to drag him off or doing the Rick Rude swivel before dropping back onto the leg, he was certainly flexing his heel mannerisms. The promo before the match when he tried to discuss why they shouldn't be having a cage match set the tone. It's unfortunate watching this back twenty two years later that the tone was a back and forth sprint instead of the two of them grinding their heads into a cage, but for a match that just happened to occur within a cage, this was still pretty good.

Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, October 22, 2021

New Footage Friday: 1984 WWF MSG Shows

3/25/84

B. Brian Blair vs. Charlie Fulton

MD: Pretty good second match on a card. Straightforward but well worked with Blair controlling a shine on the arm, where he kept it interesting and varied, a pretty pedestrian transition where Fulton wouldn't break clean on the corner, some solid back work that followed, and a fiery comeback with good, chippy shots from Blair. All the offense looked good, the selling worked, the crowd barely cared, and Monsoon and Patterson were entertaining on commentary talking about Tony Garea and old injuries. About as good a mid-80s MSG second match as you could hope for.

Ivan Putski vs. Iron Sheik

MD: Well, you can't say the fans didn't care about this. It didn't last long either. Sheik looked fine in there, with good clubbering in his early ambush and then quality stooging and staggering and feeding after Putski came back with his belt and the rapid headlock punches. Putski knew what he was doing, I suppose, and even hit a nice suplex reversal. The Polish Hammer looked crummy as Sheik recoiled into the corner off of it to set up the finish. Four minutes that worked but that definitely shouldn't have been any more than that.

Iron Mike Sharpe vs. Tony Garea

MD: This wasn't listed in the results. Lucky us. Look, it was fine, but the only thing worth mentioning is how Sharpe got heat to start by complaining about his weight being announced as 282 when it's really 284. I like the sort of subtle image that evokes. This isn't like the Buddy Rose deal. It instead shows just how irritating Sharpe is to the crowd. Who cares if it's 282 or 284? What's the difference? Why get so worked up over that? What a pest. Of course, knowing about Sharpe's OCD, who knows?

Bob Backlund vs. Greg Valentine

MD: They were building to a rematch to end the next show, so this ended inconclusively, but what we got was good. Monsoon was playing up that Sheik had hurt Backlund's neck and shoulder, and Valentine eventually was able to target it, including a pretty nice short arm scissors. Backlund managed a back bridge while in it, before shifting Valentine over, which is not something I'm sure I've seen before. Of course the hold ended with the lift, before a brief comeback and a subsequent second bit of heat with the leg. There Backlund pushed Valentine off of a figure four attempt only for Valentine to run right back with an elbow drop which is an all time great cut off. It ended up on the floor with them slugging it out convincingly and set up the more decisive rematch the following month. Backlund got to interact with all the matinee kids after the match.

Paul Orndorff vs. Tito Santana

MD: We didn't really have a good match for Orndroff when he died earlier this year, so this feels like as good a choice as any. I know there's a readily available match vs. Santana (the May MSG) that a lot of people watched at that time. This goes back to the Sharpe bit (or Albano's pre-match antics) but Orndroff really lingers on his way in, including complaining about how his robe was being carried. Trying to get heat that way is up and down the card on this show and it's something no one in wrestling even thinks about doing today. Match itself was solid. They were working towards a draw. Some production elements are just funny. Patterson got there late to announce the first match because he was stuck in traffic. No one clued Monsoon in on the finish so he was aghast that it was even a 30 minute draw let alone a 20 minute one (let alone an 18:30 draw). Everything Orndorff did looked good. They were fairly minimalist in the matwork but it all worked. Tito doesn't get enough credit for his strikes though a good chunk here was Orndorff making them look good too. Tito had a great atomic elbow off the second ropes and his big comeback move was a diving elbow into the ropes after Orndorff had tossed him back in. Both guys could be absolutely explosive when the moment called for it. Finish was the sort of BS people were used to in New York and it sets up that May match which doesn't even have a much better finish.


5/21/84

Bobo Brazil/SD Jones/Rocky Johnson vs. Samoans(Afa/Sika/Samula)

MD: Historic match to some degree as it was Brazil's last MSG appearance. He was almost 60 and it showed whenever he tried to do anything complicated, though he looked pretty good moving around in general. I swear there was one moment in there where it seemed like he wanted to do the headscissors take over/headlock takeover at the same time spot with two Samoans and it just did not work. He got to clear house at the end with headbutts before they double clotheslined SD on a leapfrog (sounds better in theory than it was in practice, like the rest of this match). Rocky was almost 40 and he looked very good in there. I get that Brazil was a sub for Atlas for this short run but I don't see why they couldn't give them the nod on this. Brazil was billed on the way in as the greatest black wrestler of all time, but it wasn't a great showing and I can see why this stayed in the vault.




Labels: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Read more!

Friday, October 15, 2021

New Footage Friday: 1976 UWA TV

UWA 5/1/76


MD: Whenever an old reel gets found and converted and we get more 70s studio wrestling, it's worth talking about. This episode has a lot going for it, since it's a pretty rare promotion, has Lou Thesz promoting and announcing, and gives us a timely look at a few wrestlers we don't have a lot of in 76. It was very much of its era, down to the stars on the ring ropes and Buzz Benson's announcing (Zam!; Zap! Right into the midsection). It was a fun package with a complete match to start, a couple of flashy squashes with big characters, and a hot angle at the end.


Tommy Seigler vs. Bruce Swayze

MD: Seigler I know best from the one 73 Dick Steinborn match we have and he was positioned as babyface here with Swayze billed from Florida, with goofy tights and working the inside moves. Thesz fingerprints are all over this as they worked it like they were hired by Thesz, paid by Thesz, and knew Thesz would be announcing their match. They worked it tight and snug, giving Thesz opportunities to talk about leverage technique, about his own evenness in matchmaking. In the first half, Swayze focused on the arm with underhanded, well-hidden cut offs. Seigler sold well, able to come back with fiery shots but too standup a wrestler to really be able to capitalize when the ref was holding him back. They were working towards a draw so when Swayze finally took over, it was with a headlock but it was still well worked as he held on through Seigler's attempt to cheat. It opened back up as the time headed towards expiration but never quite went over the top. Good TV draw that was interesting for how Thesz looked at is as much as anything else.


The Islanders (Afa and Sika) w/ Gentleman Saul Weingeroff vs. The Mighty Yankee/Troy Graham

MD: Afa and Sika felt pretty young here, Sika especially. Afa I'd call relatively young since for the most part, we always knew him in his late 30s and older. Here, he was mid-30s with almost a literal babyface. Most interesting here was the amount of wrestling they still did, but how they added in the chops and shoulder blocks and shots. The base of what they were doing was the wrestling, putting on a hold and taking a guy over, but they twisted it (a nerve hold) and added to it (the headbutt and splash) to make it seem more exotic (for 76 at least).


Dale Mann vs. Mario Leone

MD: Leone's gear was amazing. It was an orange singlet and tights, with red boots, black kneepads, and black trunks with a little orange trident/pitchfork on the back, the sort of thing that you'd picture 76 Satanico potentially wearing but only if Peña booked AAA existed in 76. Somewhat less wrestling here and more Leone comically bumping himself over the top long, long after Mann moved out of the way while Cora Combs joins in on the announcing and lets us know she'll be wrestling next week. I'm not super familiar with Mann, but he was big, with decent presence, sound fundamentals, and a bowlcut. He ended up promoting in KY a little later, but I don't think we have a lot of 70s footage of him. You definitely get the sense he could be a local attraction. Post match (and airplane spin), Leone trips over the mic cord. What a worker.


Cowboy Ray Parker (Scott Elmore)/The Spoiler ("The Angel" Frank Morrell) w/ Al Costello vs. Luis "Arriba" Martinez/Lorenzo Parente

MD: The heels take out Parente with a chair before the match. Spoiler with the mask/hat combo was quite the look. Thesz then turned it into a handicap match, which is really more of a gauntlet, the idea being that Martinez would face Parker and then Spoiler. Martinez came out with the stereotypical latin fury with Parker bumping around the ring for him. I have a ton of time for Costello's act with the boomerang: after a Spoiler distraction, he was able to whack Martinez in the leg with it, hit him over the head, AND choke him in the ropes by putting it over his head. That's a versatile weapon. Ultimately after a comeback and (another) airplane spin, the heels rushed the ring and worked over Martinez, bloodying him with Spoiler's claw, until Parente rushed back with a steel pipe and made the save. Post match, Martinez had a great bloody promo about how he wasn't an animal ("The bible says no revenge!") but how they were driving him to it.


Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!