2020 Ongoing MOTY List: WALTER vs. SAXON
Labels: 2020 MOTY, NXT UK, Saxon Huxley, WALTER
Read more!
Phil Schneider, Eric Ritz, Matt D, Sebastian, and other friends write about pro wrestling. Follow us @segundacaida
Labels: 2020 MOTY, NXT UK, Saxon Huxley, WALTER
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Ilja Dragunov, Noam Dar, NXT UK
31. A-Kid vs. Ilja Dragunov NXT UK 3/6 (Aired 4/30/20)
ER: This was a tale of two matches, and I liked the first part of the match more than the second part, but still thought the second part had some high peaks and real strengths, including a really hot finish. It's crazy that this was a match that was only shown due to a worldwide pandemic that temporarily halted NXT UK tapings. Imagine not finding room for this match on literally any episode NXT UK. This match is better than 90% of the NXT UK matches we've gotten, and it took a pandemic to get it.
Labels: 2020 MOTY, A-Kid, Ilja Dragunov, NXT UK
Labels: Jordan Devlin, NXT UK, Travis Banks
67. Marcel Barthel/Fabian Aichner vs. Oliver Carter/Ashton Smith NXT UK 3/7 (Aired 3/26/20)
ER: Marcel Barthel is someone I wished showed up on TV far more often, and if more people saw performances like this it would certainly get others to agree. This was a good tag that built to some nice near falls and close calls, gave us a couple different unexpected outcomes on familiar moments, and played as a great showcase for Martel in particular. but also the impeccable timing of Aichner. It starts with Barthel grounding Carter and crossing his ankles in an Indian deathlock, and I loved how Barthel kept finding ways to keep a lock on Carter's ankles while Carter kept trying to shake him. Carter is a flier and I liked how Imperium kept trying to prevent him from leaving his feet, making it mean a little bit more when he was able to pull off stuff like his backdrop splash (with Carter rolling onto Smith's back on the apron and then getting a boost flipping back from the apron into the ring).
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Ashton Smith, Fabian Aichner, Marcel Barthel, NXT UK, Oliver Carter
Kassius Ohno vs. Kenny Williams NXT UK 3/6 (Aired 3/19/20)
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Kassius Ohno, Kenny Williams, NXT UK
WALTER vs. Dave Mastiff NXT UK 1/18 (Aired 3/5/20) (Ep. #82)
ER: I liked this a lot, but also felt they almost showed too much. It's a short match that never quite feels as high stakes as they want it to feel, and moved too quickly for any of the biggest spots to sink in. I keep waiting for these UK bog beasts to have an undeniable banger, but they keep falling short in different ways. Still, I liked a lot of what they did here. The whole match was basically Mastiff throwing every piece of offense he has at WALTER, splatting him all around the ring. Mastiff has several pieces of really cool offense and while he did them all, he never made it look easy. I thought a cool element of the match was how little offense WALTER got. Really, beyond a few big (and nicely timed) chops, a running dropkick, and the big powerbomb finish, this was all about WALTER either gaining an advantage by dodging Mastiff or not dodging and getting squished.
WALTER went for the powerbomb early and wound up with Mastiff plopped on his chest. He got squished with a cannonball, a cool rolling senton, a regular ol' fat guy senton, and generously threw himself into a German suplex (the suplex really felt like it was 95% WALTER leaping backwards like a crazy man). But the match was also about Mastiff being able to survive as long as he did because of big WALTER misses, like a big missed splash and a sidestepped dropkick. WALTER maximized his cut-offs, always eating a few Mastiff strikes before shutting them down with one big chop or a big boot to the chest. And since Mastiff was throwing several shots to every one WALTER shot, he tired himself throwing out everything he had, misses and all. By the time WALTER hit that powerbomb Mastiff was toast. The strength of the match was WALTER's selling: the way he would curl up or drag himself to the ropes after getting squished, and I love how he fell over after hitting the match ending powerbomb. I have no doubt that WALTER could easily powerbomb Mastiff, but it was one of several things he did that made Mastiff feel like a bigger deal.
Noam Dar vs. Ligero NXT UK 3/6 (Aired 3/12/20) (Ep. #83)
ER: An underrated aspect of NXT UK is that while they don't have a large roster, they don't run a ton of repeat matches. Sure, some of these people have worked each other many times outside of WWE, but I think they really maximize the roster they have. You see repeat matches on Smackdown all the time, week after week, but on NXT UK you can find a match that's been done maybe twice. This is the second Dar/Ligero match (first one happened 8 months prior and was longer, but not as good), and you get that familiarity without feeling like you've seen all of this several times before. I thought Dar was really fantastic in this, acting like a real dick to Ligero and having that paid off in a couple fun ways. The match started with Ligero whiffing on an elbow when Dar just moved back away from it, and Ligero committed to the miss to make the spot look good. It looked more like Ligero was not expecting to miss, which is what all missed shots should look like. Later, when he drilled Dar with a Misawa level elbow, it meant more. Dar has insanely fun body movement, slipping and tripping unexpectedly to throw off Ligero's momentum. Dar kicks Ligero in the legs in several spots you don't normally see targeted, kicking him in the knees to get him to fall on the apron, rolling over to take out Ligero's ankle, always kicking him with this great dismissiveness. Dar rarely if ever falls victim to strike exchange silliness, so the stuff that lands always looks much better in his matches. Really the only weak part of the match was a bad looking Ligero handspring, but the move was reversed so I guess...good? Watch this, and just enjoy how they move around each other.
Labels: Dave Mastiff, El Ligero, Noam Dar, NXT UK, WALTER
29. Alexander Wolfe vs. Travis Banks NXT UK 1/18 (Aired 3/5/20)
ER: Alexander Wolfe is a real beast who is incredibly good at selling and perhaps even better at setting up his opponents' offense. This guy's entire WWE run was as the bottom tier man in two different stables, but goddamn is this guy good. Banks is at his best when he's pushing pace and not slowing things down with strike trading, and he starts this off hot by knocking Wolfe to the floor and then nailing him with a smothering bullet tope, then sticks his boot heels into Wolfe's back with a double stomp (and I dug how Banks went back to that double stomp later in the match). Any match that starts with Wolfe unable to remove his track jacket almost always means you're getting something good, and this is no different. When Wolfe takes over he's really unforgiving, getting Banks to the mat and really pounding on him and roughing him up with headlocks.
Wolfe is super intense in control, but also great at giving Banks openings and appropriately selling Banks' offense. I don't love some of Banks' strikes, but Wolfe's selling always fits the strike. There is no stupid trading, and Wolfe doesn't automatically do a back bump for each hit. Instead, he staggers and stumbles and falls into place and I'm not sure who else in WWE is this good at filling time waiting to take offense. I've seen so many wrestlers slumped in the corner waiting for a dropkick, and seeing the way Wolfe sets up Banks' corner dropkick should be an eye opener to all of them. Wolfe is good at using Banks' regular offense to set up unique situations, and breaks out some unexpected counters. I loved him hacking at Bank's shins to block a penalty kick, then sweeping those legs to force a Banks faceplant. Wolfe always approaches offense honestly, never waiting for his opponent to do some of the positional work for him. If a guy isn't where he needs him to be, Wolfe will yank them into proper position. The twisting suplex off the apron to the floor looked really nasty, and the in-ring version getting only a two count was a nearfall I really bit on. Wolfe's sitout powerbomb is one of my favorite finishers in wrestling, as it's always so perfectly executed that it hardly seems real. His form, the force he uses, the way he shifts his body to control the pin and leverage, just a perfect understanding of one's offense. A dive into Wolfe's German work is probably long overdue at this point.
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Alexander Wolfe, NXT UK, Travis Banks
Labels: 2020 MOTY, A-Kid, Brian Kendrick, NXT UK
Labels: Jack Starz, Kassius Ohno, NXT UK
Labels: James Drake, Josh Morrell, Noam Dar, NXT UK, Primate, Wild Boar, Zack Gibson
15. Joe Coffey vs. Ilja Dragunov NXT UK 1/18 (Aired 2/19/20)
ER: This has to be my favorite Joe Coffey singles match, and it's got to be because he has a punching bag like Dragunov to pummel. Coffey has a lot of thudding strikes and Dragunov is someone you can just thud and thud and thud. Coffey is a fast bumper too, so when he gets knocked around by Dragunov he really gets knocked around. I like how they tangle, like how they ground each other, and I always like how Ilja fights to his feet and how hard Coffey runs into him to put him back down. Coffey had a couple really big bumps during Ilja's initial onslaught, including a really fast painful tumble over the top off the apron to the floor. He crashes into Ilja with the Glasgow Send Off just as hard as he crashes on all of his misses, and I liked how the Send Off kept coming up throughout the match. Coffey's body shots and chops looked really hard, and Dragunov's body always reads damage really well. I liked how Coffey pivoted things to going after Dragunov's knee with a crazy avalanche style knee breaker, then tenaciously kept on the leg even while Ilja is kicking him in the face from his back. It all built to some really big stuff, some hard lariats, a big delayed German and a huge impact top rope senton from Ilja, and Coffey getting a big superplex when Dragunov gets slowed by his knee. Ilja is the guy who just keeps fighting through any beating, and Coffey started to desperately spam the Send Off, trying to take out Ilja's knee, but kept showing his hand and instead running straight into brutal knees or the ringpost. The finish looked really good, with Ilja flying into Coffey's face with the Torpedo Moscow headbutt just as Coffey was turning to throw his lariat, just a great escalating battle.
PAS: Dragunov has gone from being a guy I thought was goofy, into one of my favorite wrestlers in the world to watch. I really need to revisit his WXW stuff to see if I would like that, too. I thought this was great. Coffey may be the best puncher in the WWE, and he really unloads with hard body shots and big hooks. I liked him trying to take the starch out of Ilja while Ilja was just throwing his body around back into him. The Russian suplex by Dragunov looked great, and that Gotch lift really should be a set up used more often in wrestling. I also loved how Dragunov used his speed and awareness to stay ahead of the game, as Coffey kept missing violently. He landed hard into the turnbuckles, into Ilja's knee, and finally his head. You have to love a guy willing to throw himself so recklessly into harms way.
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Ilja Dragunov, Joe Coffey, NXT UK
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Danny Burch, Mark Coffey, NXT UK, Oney Lorcan, Wolfgang
Labels: Danny Burch, NXT UK, Oney Lorcan, Primate, Ridge Holland, Tyson T-Bone, Wild Boar
Jordan Devlin vs. Ligero NXT UK 1/17 (Aired 1/23/20) (Ep. #76)
Here's a cool match that acts as a nice showcase for the different things Devlin can do with his moveset. I really like the different ways he approaches matches and opponents. The guys who step out and try something new within a similar framework are always the guys who are going to jump out at me, and this match had several great examples of Devlin trying something once with one result, then trying it again with sometimes a very different result. I love that the match started with him tugging on one of Ligero's horns as a goof and then getting walloped, not even making it out of his track jacket until a couple minutes in. When he does finally get enough space to remove the jacket, after a uranage and moonsault, he stands on Ligero's throat during the jacket removal to be assured that space stays. Devlin always has an answer for Ligero's sillier flourishes (like shoving him back into the ropes on a handstand and then kicking him in the face) but it's also great when he thinks he has Ligero figured out but actually doesn't. Devlin slingshotting himself over the top rope to grab a cutter only for Ligero to simply not lean his neck into the cutter was a great spot, the kind of logic that isn't typically applied to cutters (where guys actively have to stick their neck out) and is so sound that it almost shows how every correct usage of the spot is actually incredibly dumb. It's like the first time you saw someone just let go of the top rope when they're being brought in "the hard way" from the apron.
Labels: El Ligero, Jordan Devlin, NXT UK
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Brian Kendrick, NXT UK, Travis Banks
Labels: Dave Mastiff, Kassius Ohno, NXT UK
It's the 3rd wrestler ranking for my NXT UK Guide! Here's the Original Top 50 (which covered episodes 1-TakeOver: Blackpool), and then I had the Next Top 50 (which factored in every match from Episode 1 thru Episode 50). Now we have another 25 shows under our belt, and TakeOver Blackpool II felt like a great end cap for the 3rd Top 50. 75 different shows gives us a great sample size to draw from, and I will again state that these rankings are based ONLY on matches from NXT UK. It does not factor in any matches any of these wrestlers had anywhere else, *only* on NXT UK. All wrestlers' placement on the prior 50 will be listed in parentheses after their current ranking (a dash means they were previously unranked).
Labels: NXT UK
Trent Seven vs. Eddie Dennis
ER: Eddie Dennis has a wild set of reptile gear, full boots and toxic slime green snakeskin like he's some kind of early 90s straight to video punk. It's glorious. I like him and Seven as a match up, and there's some explosive stuff. The match starts with a wicked one armed powerbomb by Seven, planting Dennis after catching him charging in. Dennis takes Seven's offense really well, bouncing right off his head on a DDT, getting dumped to the floor with a snap German. But Seven's punishment gets even better with a fast tope and and a snapdragon suplex on the floor. Their pace is really impressive for the level of big moves they're piling up. It's like a weird crazy WCW Power Plant match if they only studied NOAH tapes, with some forearms and big flipping slightly complicated slams, threats of Burning Hammers and Emerald Flowsions, and Seven hitting a right forearm in the corner as hard as Misawa's best. There are a bunch of big complicated slams, and the absolute craziness peaks when Dennis launches Seven with a Razor's Edge to the floor like he was Mike Awesome. Totally crazy spot to lead to a finish, not like any other finish I've seen on NXT UK. This was a cool ass 8 minute gem, really scrappy and portent, filled with big slams and cool bumps. Hot as hell start to a TakeOver.
Toni Storm vs. Piper Niven vs. Kay Lee Ray
ER: I really hated how they turned this match into a 3 way. I love Toni, but she felt like a real third wheel in the build to this match, and in the match itself. Niven won the title shot, and then the week before TakeOver Storm just demands Niven let her have the match, and then they put her in the match just because she said she should be in the match! It's awful wrestling storytelling, but she's also a kind of necessary distraction in the match, and allowed them to do some big things that would have felt silly to kick out of. I hate 3 ways as a rule, but they actually kept things at a great pace to start. Niven works really well in a 3 way, as one of her issues is insisting on working fast paced singles without always keeping pace. Here she's able to pace things out and is a great wrecking ball. Niven flattens Ray with a tope and misses a fast cannonball into the barricade, but is back to flattening when she breaks up a pin with a senton. The match gets pretty bad the more melodramatic they got, with dumb stuff like Ray finding a chair under the ring and choking Storm while showing tons of light on the choke, or a big dumb face off between Storm and Niven where the camera framed them. The "making movies" thing can be real painful, but when they went back to being dangerous things got good again. Nigel on commentary calls Kay Lee Ray the "Glaswegian Sabu" at one point, which sounds near blasphemous, but when she hits a somersault plancha to the floor and bounces her legs off the barricade and head off the floor, then breaks up a pin by spiking herself with a somersault senton, this could be an Actual Thing. She looked like she under-rotated on a crazy senton, and then took a powerbomb right after. That's nuts. Storm gets to visually beat Niven before Ray superkicks her off, and I guess now that sets up Storm/Niven which feels reductive, since Storm just shoehorned herself in to begin with. There was some really good stuff here though, a lot of it. This was actually my favorite match of either Niven or Ray in NXT UK, and Storm facilitated some of that.
Tyler Bate vs. Jordan Devlin
ER: This was a big match with a big payoff and big in-match build, a singles match that actually felt mostly worthy of the long TakeOver match lengths. I think Devlin put his time in well, liked how a lot of the offense built, I mainly just didn't like the ways Bate would just pop up to start his own sequences. Now, Devlin works around most of that really well, finding fun ways to set up Bate's comebacks. Devlin kept using the ropes in fun ways, like cutting off a Bate dive and nailing a nice rope flip moonsault, choking him in the ropes, also getting caught in a torture rack-type fireman's carry when he went to slingshot in with a cutter. Devlin, unsurprisingly, was a real asshole here. He mocked Bate and added some extra sauce to holds and strikes, the best being Devlin dragging Bate down into a Romero surfboard, then bending back on Bate's chin until they were staring eye to eye, sicko stuff.
Devlin is good at working enough actual offense that reversals of that offense actually make sense, and Bate is good at stepping up with someone like that. I do think it veered into move trading, with Bate constantly need to shrug off whatever had just happened to him to hop up and do something impressive, but luckily Devlin is good at facilitating those hop-ups and Bate can break out something impressive. Bate does an airplane spin that starts slow and ugly and looks like it will be a dud, but keeps going and going and by the end I loved how Bate started with a bit of struggle and then kept building speed. By the time he dropped Devlin I was dizzy on my couch, which sounds stupid, but I'm not sure I've seen someone do an airplane spin this fast. Devlin had smart counters to expected Bate offense, dropping him with a cutter to the apron that almost leads to a count out win (with Devlin amusingly kicking him around 8 to keep Bate out longer), and nailing him with a Spanish Fly to counter a Bate charge. Devlin incorporated a lot of learned behavior into reversals, but Bate mostly just took big moves and then decided to do his own moves. This was the match with the somewhat infamous "punch out" spot, which I actually think is "not actually as shitty as it was made out to be". It's kind of hilarious to me that of all spots, Bate and Devlin doing stand and trade got GIF'd and laughed at, because most feds run shows with worse standing exchanges up and down the card. Do Tyler Bate's arms look short and silly when he swings them? Short? Always. Silly? Sometimes. Give me a punch exchange like this every single time over turn taking elbows and forearms. I liked how some of their punches whiffed completely, because it's frankly silly when every strike in an exchange hits perfectly. Bate needed a big finish to firmly put away Devlin, and Devlin is always great at getting spiked on DDTs and flattened by powerbombs, and the crowd was along for every second of Devlin taking it. Perhaps this went too long
Mark Coffey/Wolfgang vs. Fabian Aichner/Marcel Barthel vs. James Drake/Zack Gibson vs. Flash Morgan Webster/Mark Andrews
ER: So, this match was insane. This was easily one of the greatest highspot ladder matches in history, not just WWE history. This was 25 minutes - normally a match length that I would argue is completely unnecessary for *most* matches - but due to the furious pace that this things was worked, I was shocked at how "long" the match was when it was over. This does not feel like a 25 minute match, because from minute one every single person is flying around the ring at breakneck speed taking bumps that surely shaved months/years off their careers/lives, and I don't think that pace even took a slight break until the 18 minute mark. Not only did they work wall to wall crazy spots and dangerous moments, but they did a great job of making every team seem like they could walk away with the belts. I thought they did so well without the ladders, chaining offense together faster and faster, utilizing all 8 guys to give proper rest and generally avoiding guys ignoring damage to get to the next spot in time, that I was kind of dreading this becoming a climbing contest when it settled down. So, they opted to never settle the match down, using the ladders at first in familiar ways, but then doing twists on familiar ladder match spots before exploding with some things I've never seen before.
It is completely pointless to detail all of the spots that happened in this match, because it would take me twice as long to type everything than it would take you to find and watch the match. One of the cooler aspects was that every team in the match, worked like a team. They all had tandem offense that was not always their typical tandem offense, remixing some spots and adding in ladders to others, and all the teams actually felt like they had individual strategies. They kept the spot set-up time to a minimum, and when they did one gigantic crash spot that had everyone fall like dominoes, prolonging the punishment instead of everybody just landing like shit from one giant tower powerbomb. It's tough to pick a standout, but I really liked Wolfgang a ton. He's the guy doing crazy spots while also shaking his arm out after punches. Yeah, he'll throw big ass Mark Coffey over the top rope onto everyone and then vault out himself to powerslam Drake on the entrance ramp. But, while men lay dying on the battlefield around him, he's still remembering to sell that his fist hurts, and I love it. So Wolfgang was probably my favorite, but this was a team effort. Every guy got at least one big moment (at LEAST). Mark Andrews hit a perfect shooting star press off the ladder onto Coffey, he and Webster hit a wild tandem somersault senton off a very high ladder, and Grizzled Young Vets seemed to be on the end of all the worst punishments, especially poor James Drake. Drake got smashed with ladders and under ladders and under bodies so many times, poor guy spent most of the match kicking his legs and holding his insides. Imperium looked like real beasts, squeezing their double teams into a ladder landscape even better than the others, Barthel tossing smaller guys off the ladders into waiting arms of Aichner so they could be dropped on their heads.
It's a match with nothing but great spots, but my favorite had to be Imperium punishing Webster. With Webster laid on a ladder, which had been propped up on the ropes, Barthel holds Webster down so Aichner can hit a springboard moonsault, with Barthel rolling OVER Webster at the last minute TOWARDS Aichner's moonsault, so he wouldn't be standing where Aichner's boots were going to whip. I mentioned the car crash spot, and it really was great. They brought 5 or 6 ladders into the ring, everyone was climbing on them and climbing over each other like World War Z, one guy getting knocked to the mat here, Barthel getting knocked all the way to the floor there, Webster amusingly setting up his ladder so it smashes Gibson in between his own ladder, total madness. Wolfgang goes bet mode down the stretch and spears Aichner so hard into a ladder that the ladder breaks into 4 pieces. I don't think I've ever seen a ladder snap right in half during one of these matches, even when someone falls onto one from a great height. I thought I was pretty burnt out on stunt ladder matches, but this one had me from go and was absolutely relentless.
WALTER vs. Joe Coffey
ER: I thought this was a pretty great 17 minute main event that made the decision to be a 27 minute main event, and treated that extra 10 minutes as if the previous 17 were just a dream. It was admittedly a bit odd how the match seemed to position Joe Coffey as the babyface and WALTER as kind of a generic heel , but I liked the actual ring work a lot. WALTER worked this mostly as a big chopping monster, and Coffey was the smaller "babyface" who kept trying and throwing WALTER with suplexes. WALTER is great at a big man getting knocked off his feet, and I loved how all of Coffey's suplexes looked like he was having trouble lifting WALTER, because he *should* be having a lot of trouble suplexing WALTER. WALTER wasn't hopping into any suplex and it ruled. If Coffey was going to hit a Saito suplex, it was going to be low to the ground with a heavy landing for both, making the suplexes look more like something you'd see in a Hashimoto/Red Bull Army match. There were a couple odd miscues every time WALTER threw a big boot (one that was supposed to hit did not at all; one that was supposed to miss, hit, and was treated as a miss anyway), but mostly it was WALTER throwing heavy chops while Coffey kept deadlifting WALTER on suplexes. WALTER threw hard elbows, cranked Coffey's neck, and worked a nice STF, Coffey hit a boss shoulderblock off the apron (flying at WALTER like a torpedo), fought for a big German suplex, and hit a surprising moonsault.
When WALTER accidentally hit the ref with a John Woo dropkick (and the ref sold it like a drama queen rolling down a very soft incline), things mostly fell apart. Coffey gets an immediate visual pin off a powerbomb, Alexander Wolfe and Ilja Dragunov run down and get involved, Dragunov knocks Wolfe into Coffey and they basically do a full match restart for the remaining 10. Nothing felt like it mattered down the home stretch, and WALTER - who had just been "pinned" by a powerbomb moments before - now has several winds and the two trade moves until one of those moves wins the match. Every big move (WALTER powerbomb, Coffey avalanche belly to belly) was used as a way for the guy taking the move to transition back to offense, and there were more miscues like Coffey mostly missing a big clothesline and them just repeating the spot right after. After WALTER chokes out Coffey he had to give the biggest acting performance of his life, acting vaguely threatened by Adam Cole. Cole looked tinier than both referees and the camera angles made it looked like a small child ran into the ring after WALTER's win.
This was a top to bottom great show, with the only bad 10 minutes being the last 10 minutes of the main event. Every other match was a total over-delivery, making this easily one of the best TakeOver events. WALTER/Coffey was probably the weakest overall match, and that was a match I really loved until it went crazy with the booking. Highly recommend this show.
Best Matches:
1. Tag Team Ladder Match
2. Jordan Devlin vs. Tyler Bate
3. Eddie Dennis vs. Trent Seven
Labels: 2020 MOTY, Eddie Dennis, Fabian Aichner, James Drake, Joe Coffey, Jordan Devlin, Kay Lee Ray, Marcel Barthel, Mark Coffey, NXT UK, Piper Niven, Toni Storm, Trent Seven, Tyler Bate, WALTER, Wolfgang, Zack Gibson
Labels: Alexander Wolfe, Ilja Dragunov, NXT UK