Segunda Caida

Phil Schneider, Eric Ritz, Matt D, Sebastian, and other friends write about pro wrestling. Follow us @segundacaida

Thursday, October 28, 2021

Matches from ICW-NHB Detroit 10/1

Deathmatch Circus 

Justin Kyle vs. Tank

PAS: The Kyle matches work best as violent sprints, and this had some big violent moments. At one point Kyle unloads with five big forearms to the side of the head which looked like it might pop Tank's head off, and there were some big shots with table pieces too. I think this went a bit long though and by the end got sluggish, with both guys looking a bit gassed. Finish was cool with Tank spearing Kyle through a door only to get caught in a choke, but I would have liked it more after 5 hot minutes instead of 14 warm ones.

Sadika vs. Mickie Knuckles

PAS: A battle of party aunts from different cultures, and the biggest match of Mickie's 2021 comeback run. Mickie comes out early and dominates, including crossfacing a bunch of lighttubes into Sadika's face. They brawl into the crowd, which was my favorite part of the match, Mickie is really great at that kind of reckless Coliseo Coacalco style dirt floor fighting, and Sadika is a veteran of the indy lucha wars. I really love how Mickie sells these glass shots, she has a great silent movie shocked face. Sadika has really gotten great at coming across dangerous. The ref stoppage finish is tricky in a promotion with this many insane bumps, but Sadika really does come off like she is going to go dig a hole in the woods. I liked this a lot, but feel like the rematch is really going to blow the doors off, with Mickie coming back at it.


The Pit 4 

Justin Kyle vs. Isaiah Broner

PAS: Big fan of these Kyle fist fights and Broner is a great opponent for him. Kyle clears the pit of chairs and doors to show this is going to be all knuckles. Broner has really nice body shots, and it seemed pretty clear that he was basically just digging in the ribs as hard as he could, also landing a right on the temple which splits open Kyle. Kyle hit a hard looking spin kick which looked even cooler with all of the dirt flying off his boot. Finish was a big jumping knee to the temple that slumped Broner. Really fun stuff, and Kyle in his element is one of the most fun guys in the world to watch.

Hoodfoot vs. Tank

PAS: I thought this was a little heavy on the exchanging punches, and not enough actual fighting. I also find stuff like gusset plates more gross than engaging. There were some moments I really liked, though: Hoodfoot took a big bump into the guardrail which looked great, and the finish with Tank stomping a steel chair right on Hoodfoot's head was sick, way sicker then any thumbtacks or other pokey things. Hoodfoot's best matches - like Kyle's - feel out of control, and there were too many moments of control here. 


Labels: , , , , , ,


Read more!

Saturday, May 22, 2021

Matches from Asylum Wrestling Revolution Mercyful Fate 2 3/28/21

Justin Kyle vs. Madman Fulton


ER: Kyle is a new 2021 fun discovery for me, a working man's Goldberg in the best ways. He's raw as hell and a real bruiser. He has relatability and you can see the potential in him having a successful indy career as a late to the game older guy putting in his best work ever, if things break right. Fulton, on the other hand, is a tall guy who spent a LONG time in the WWE system - as in significant parts of 6 years, on TV in tag teams with guys like Angelo Dawkins - and he has way less polish than Kyle. Fulton is more Lance Hoyt or Big Cass than Kevin Nash, but that's enough for Kyle to work with. It goes too long, honestly would have benefitted from being cut in half, but Kyle has big charisma and already almost enough shtick to carry off a long Dundee/Lawler style battle. That's what they try to do here, and Kyle is a compelling title match worker. He hits hard and never skimps on clotheslines and shoulderblocks, some cool tough guy offense like a great jackhammer, or him flying full speed into a lariat that takes him and Fulton to the floor. He takes big bumps off chokeslams and through tables and doors, and they beat each other with hard plastic school chairs. The chairshots all look painful, bouncing awkwardly off their heads and even an ankle. I really enjoyed the build to Kyle removing his back brace, feels like something not far off from being a Lawler strap takedown for him. I could see these two having a good Loser Leaves Town match with blood. 


3. Mickie Knuckles vs. Akira

JR: When I suggested we write up the Mickie/Sara Dox match, Eric came up with the Mickie as Niebla analogy, which is quite perfect. Here she seems to have an extra gear that makes me rethink the comparison. I tend to love wrestlers who can appear fast in a small amount of space. That trait really adds to the opening portions of this match, and truthfully, Mickie relies on it throughout as it makes the later transitions credible, as she establishes early that she only needs a split second to go back on offense.

Mickie has a strong performance throughout, but Akira brings a dynamic that Mickie is really able to play off. Realistically, this is a prop based death match. It is Chekhov’s gun as designed by Xzibit. Despite this, Akira manages to really find unique ways to use the props once they come into play. Small things, like Knuckles trying to pry the broken water jug off her head before the spot is complete really give the whole thing an air of violence that can sometimes feel lacking.

Mickie, of course, makes sure everything looks incredible, mostly because she wrestles as though there still isn’t evidence that brain injuries have long term effects on a person’s well-being. She takes a big screen TV to the back of the head in a sort of maximalized homage to Necro/Toby. As always, her offense is crisp. She makes sequences that have been used ad nauseam (like the boxing spot) look compelling.

This match flows so well in comparison to a lot of death matches, and I think it is in part because they never overstay their welcome with any one weapon or stay in any one location. They don’t walk and brawl so much as they find places to fight and move on, almost before the viewer really has a chance to process it. The pace is frenetic, to put it mildly, and the work seems to build and reach a fever pitch even without much escalation in the middle portion of the match.

The third act, which I would consider to be essentially everything after they come back inside, almost feels like the third fall of a big apuestas match at times in terms of pacing. Almost every single move was a believable near fall, something that could have ended a match. Roll ups and weapon shots took on equal importance, and the reversal and rollup attempts earlier tie directly to the finish itself. I don’t know if I’ll be the high man on this match, but for me, this is one of the most compelling and well laid out matches I’ve seen this year.

PAS: I am not a 21st century death match guy, but I am a Mickie guy and I thought this had more of a Black Terry brawl vibe than a geek show. Mickie is ferocious, never a moment when the gender disparity hurts the match, as she makes every punch and headbutt feel like something that should knock someone silly. She's maybe the only non-Necro wrestler ever to make a bar fight look good, all of her punches were vicious and she just unloads with a series of gross headbutts at the end to clean it all up. I thought the brawling into the street was very cool. That was a dicey looking neighborhood, and I almost expected one of them to pick up a used syringe from the gutter. I could have done without the lighttubes, the shots with the TV were so much crazier if you wanted to use glass, and these things always work better with less set up props. It also went a bit long, could have used a couple of minutes sliced at the beginning. The finishing series of mat reversals with the battle axe sounds idiotic on paper, but some how worked in execution. I was pretty surprised how much I enjoyed this, but Mickie is back and better than ever.

ER: Mickie Knuckles has become almost a Paula Pell wrestling character, and it's great. She's like a super dangerous aunt, showing up to an event pounding mini bottles of rum. There's the Mickie James party aunt vibe, and then there's the Mickie Knuckles party aunt vibe. But this match is a real fight, and has the same intensity over long portions as the infamous Black Terry/Wotan match. This is one of the few matches to really capture the vibe of that classic. As Phil mentioned this is an intergender match, but there's no point where that matters, no point where anything feels dumbed down because Mickie hits as hard as any wrestler going. She takes an incredible beating and gives as good as she gets, and the beating is just constant over the course of a long death match. This is the kind of fight that leaves both fighters with some lasting damage, long and short term. Mickie takes two incredibly hard shots with a 5 gallon water jug taped to a stick, a real ungiving, uncaring shot, no protection. But this isn't a geek show, there always feels like there's excellent build and artistry from Mickie and Akira. 

Akira bruises up Mickie with kicks, Mickie fires back with the most savage headbutts, they fight into the street, and the kind of spots I've seen dozens of times they are suddenly making look fresh and violent in new ways. I couldn't believe some of the punch exchanges, not just that I was seeing these painful close up shots, but that either of them stayed conscious through them. Their stand and trade looked better than any stand up I've seen this year, and we've been watching shows specifically targeting the kind of matches where that can take place. Their movement and the way the shots hit was super visceral, very shocking, and kept ramping up in violence over a very long time. There were some incredible moments, and I think my favorite was them making "sit in chairs and punch" interesting again, capped off with Akira flying into Mickie with an uppercut. Mickie takes the shot, takes a beat to figure out how bad she is hurt, then locks in a sick triangle while still seated in her chair. I honestly thought that was going to be the finish (didn't realize the match was like only halfway over) and Akira has this amazing frantic realization that this could be the finish, and only breaks it by tipping Mickie over in her chair and knocking her into a bridged pin. 

The run to the finish is long, but builds well, so even though I wish it were shorter I liked all the things they were doing and managed to continually be shocked by what they kept doing. Mickie's whole right butt cheek gets shredded by gusset plates, she takes a couple nasty spills through tubes, both have bruising and swelling and bleeding from many areas, and we get an insane battle over an actual axe, and they somehow manage to avoid any corny "axe handle" jokes and craft plausible nearfalls out of some things that should seem ridiculous. This was a real, honest to god war, featuring the best fighting I've seen all year, and incredible bout for both. 




Labels: , , , , ,


Read more!

Thursday, March 04, 2021

2021 Ongoing MOTY List: Santee vs. Kyle 2

2. Bruce Santee vs. Justin Kyle ICW 2/27

PAS: We have seen a lot of US Indy worked MMA fights before with Paragon's UWFI rules and Bloodsport, but this was a worked Toughman contest, and man did it deliver. It really felt like a pair of biker gangs rented a cage to see which of their baddest guys was the baddest. Basically just a bare knuckled fist fight, with both guys delivering full force bare knuckled punches to the face. Either they worked nothing in this fight, or these guys are Lawler level masters at throwing and taking worked punches (I am going for door #1 here). There is one spot where they stand there and exchange slaps, and another where they do forearm exchanges. I hate both normally, although a fight like this is all about searing machismo so it kind of works. Kyle is the faster and throws more volume and mixes in some kicks, getting a big knockdown on a superman punch and a short left hook. Santee is a bit bigger and has one punch power and just drops Kyle with a right hand which nearly spun his head around. Their first fight was fun, although this is clearly where they figured out their specific brand of insanity. Someone book either or both guys against Hoodfoot or just run this back 20 times. 

ER: Yeah man, this was like everyone was hoping/expecting UFC before anyone had seen UFC. When every potential UFC PPV buyer was convincing themselves to spend money on cage fighting, they were definitely picturing something exactly like this. And why wouldn't they? Anybody who was enticed by the prospect of no holds barred cage fighting wanted to see something exactly like this, and were probably not exactly picturing a smaller Brazilian man lying on his back. This match is the greatest possible post-playoff loss parking lot fight, with Santee wearing jeans and looking like a Horace Hogan cousin (it's Florida, certainly a possibility), and Kyle coming in looking like a lost McCully brother. And the incredible thing about this match is that they DO work strikes, they just have a super impressive ability to work the exact right ones. Every big punch to end a flurry is clearly worked, but Kyle has an extremely nice worked right KO blow, something I had to watch back a couple times (this match is short enough that it's easy to watch 3x). It's the kind of expertly worked strike that is thrown at 80% and at the ear, not on the jaw button, so it won't lead to a KO but it will look exactly like something that will knock a man out. 

The standing slaps were something that were thrown full force, and might be my favorite standing slap exchange I've seen. As with Phil, standing slap or forearm exchanges are one of my least favorite things in modern wrestling, but I thought they fight into this fight spectacularly. These slaps looked like both men were going for a KO, and it felt like the kind of shots that would result from a bar challenge, which is the atmosphere this match had. Kyle backs up Santee with a headbutt at one point, his leg kicks to set up strikes looked good, and the superman punch felt real natural. Kyle backs off Santee on a knockdown and the announcers rightly feel like it's a big mistake to not capitalize, and it was. Santee gets a sick knockdown shot that really looks like a KO shot, then rushes in with a hard shot to the back of Kyle's head, and some suitably mean follow up GnP. Santee is a guy who's been kicking around Florida indies forever, Kyle is a former MMA guy getting into wrestling, and in less than 3 minutes they made a fan out of me. 


2021 MOTY MASTER LIST


Labels: , , ,


Read more!